• Library
  • UW-W
  • Google
  • Google Scholar

Universal Borrowing

Universal Borrowing is a free service that allows UW-Whitewater students, faculty, and staff to obtain books, VHS tapes, DVDs, CDs, government documents, and other items from other UW System libraries. The lending library ultimately determines which materials are lent, but generally reference, periodicals, and special collections items may not be borrowed.

Materials not available from another UW library can be requested from another library using Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Universal Borrowing requests can be made online through the library catalog. In most cases, materials take 2-5 days to arrive. You can track the progress of your UB requests via your personal record and you will be sent an email when the item arrives. Once received, materials are kept at the Circulation Desk for 10 days and are returned if not picked up.

Students may borrow materials for 28 days and renew their items once, unless another patron has requested the item. Staff and Faculty may borrow UB materials for a semester, and are allowed one or two renewals (depending on the lending library). All renewals must be done online by accessing your personal record. Questions related to overdue notices or renewing UB items should be directed to the Circulation Department of the Lending UW Library.

Instructions for submitting UB requests

  1. Start with a Universal Borrowing Search.
  2. Enter terms in the search box with "UW System Libraries Catalog" selected from the drop down menu and click "Search". For more options click "Advanced Search"
  3. Select the desired item and click "Request".
  4. Click the login link and follow the directions, if already logged in skip to next step
  5. Select Library and Pickup Library
  6. Click on "Create UB Request".
  7. You will see a note if the request was successful.

UW Libraries participating in Universal Borrowing

UW Library
Contact Person
Colleges list of UW Colleges
Eau Claire-McIntyre Library John McCrakin MCCRACJM@uwec.edu; (715)-836-3872
Green Bay- Cofrin Library Jeff Brunner brunnerj@uwgb.edu; (920)-465-2385
La Crosse-Murphy Library Dwayne Webb webb.dway@uwlax.edu; (608)-785-8524
Madison ** Dineen Grow (Memorial Library) dgrow@library.wisc.edu; (608)-263-1721
Milwaukee-Golda Meir Library Aaron Dobbs dobba@uwm.edu; (414)-229-5410
Oshkosh-Polk Library Eric Graczkowski graczkow@uwosh.edu; (920)-424-7314
Parkside University Library Marilyn Pinzger marilyn.pinzger@uwp.edu; (262)-595-2166
Platteville-Karmann Library Vicki Chase chasev@uwplatt.edu; (608)-342-1679
River Falls-Davee Library Serena Weber serena.l.weber@uwrf.edu; (715)-425-3321
Stevens Point-University Library Andy Pech apech@uwsp.edu; (715)-346-4214
Stout-University Library Josh Steans steansj@uwstout.edu; (715)-232-1112
Superior-Jim Dan Hill Lori Hughes lhughes@uwsuper.edu; (715)-394-8130
** Not all UW-Madison Libraries participate in UB lending.

Location

Andersen Library
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
800 West Main Street
Whitewater, WI 53190-1790

Contact the Library

Circulation Desk: 262-472-5511
Reference Desk: 262-472-1032

54.80.113.118