How to Use IngentaConnect®

Ingenta

Table of Contents

UW-Whitewater students, faculty and staff may search IngentaConnect's over 29,000 publications for article citations on virtually any topic. However, the user must pay all fees for article delivery through this service. To locate articles for free (i.e. already paid for by the UW-Whitewater), use the Citation Linker or Journal Holdings List.

Access

From the University Library homepage http://www.uww.edu/library/

  1. Click on Find Articles, Statistics.
  2. Under Indexes and Databases in Alphabetical Order click on I.
  3. Click on IngentaConnect.

From any webpage:

  1. Type http://www.ingentaconnect.com/ in the URL/Location box on the browser's toolbar and press the Enter key on the keyboard.

Search

There are two types of searches in IngentaConnect.

Quick Search

Located in the center of the main display and on the right-hand side of results lists is a quick search textbox. (On the main display, it is labeled Search.) Type search terms in the textbox, and then click on Go Button to run the search. Use the Search Techniques described below to formulate the search.

For example: (bgh or "bovine growth hormone") and milk*

By default, the search will look in all Electronic content, which is material available for immediate download or email delivery. The second option is Fax/Ariel content, which is material only available by fax or Ariel delivery (for a fee), and takes up to two business days to receive. The third option is Journal or book title looks for search terms in the journal title only, and by default limits to electronic only, although once results are listed there is a link to search in fax/Ariel content also.

Start by searching the Electronic content, which will find relevant citations for most topics, however, if you do not find what you want after several searches, chose Fax/Ariel content and repeat.

Advanced Search

This form allows for more detailed searching by typing keywords and other parameters into specialized textboxes and selecting options. The more boxes are filled in, the more focused the search becomes. Use the Search Techniques described below to formulate the search. When ready, click on Search Button to run the search.

Advanced Search Options

Search for

In article title, keywords or abstract

To search for words  in article titles, keywords and summaries, select this option. (It is the default.)

In article title

To search only for words that appear in article titles, select this option.

Type terms in any order in the textbox.

Search For Textbox

Author

To search for works by an author, type the name in the Author box. Use the SURNAME INITIALS or SURNAME FIRST NAME format, including punctuation such as hyphens and apostrophes. Search for one author at a time.

Author Name Text Box

For example:
ajchenbaum-cymbalista f*
Morgan L*
O'Rourke
SAN MIGUEL J*

Publication

Word(s) in title

If unsure of the exact periodical (journal, magazine, newspaper, etc.) title, select this option. Type words, in any order, in the textbox.

Exact title

To search for a known periodical title, select this option. Type the title in the textbox. Try both with and without any initial article (a, an, the, etc.).

ISSN

To search for the International Standard Serial Number of a periodical, select this option. Type the ISSN number in the textbox.

Publication Title Textbox

Volume and Issue

To limit a search to a specific volume and issue of a periodical, refine it by typing these numbers in the textboxes. Hyphens are treated as spaces.

Volume and Issue Textboxes

Show

Electronic content

Select this option to find material which is available for immediate download or email delivery (the default) through Ingenta.*

Fax/Ariel content

Select this option to find material which is only available (through Ingenta) by fax or Ariel delivery for a fee. (Takes up to two business days to receive.)*

From To

To limit a search to articles published in certain years, select years in the dropdown menus. To search one year, select it from both menus. It defaults to the last five years.

Display

Choose the number of results to display per page.

Year Range and Since Boxes

NOTE: The Electronic content and Fax/Arial content options limit only to materials available through Ingenta. They do not refer to all University Library Holdings. See below for more information on how to Find Full Text for free.

Top of Page

Search Techniques

These aids may be used in most search boxes, excluding those such as date and volume. Author name searches only use punctuation and truncation.

Operators & Search Tips
Operator/Tip Description

AND or &

Operator used to find records having both terms

OR or ,

Operator used to find records having either or both terms

"   "

Use to search for a phrase
e.g. "nursing theory" and mentor*

Or use around operator to search on it
e.g. "war and peace"

( )

Use to combine terms with several operators. Operators in parentheses are handled first.
e.g. award & (performance or production)

*

Truncation symbol used to find words with the same root (cannot use in phrases)
e.g. austral* finds Australia, Australasian etc.

?

Wildcard representing any one (1) character
e.g. privati?ation finds privatisation or privatization

Punctuation

Should be included
e.g. "mother's day"

Browse

Click on a Browse or Browse Publications link to scroll through a list of periodicals indexed by Ingenta.

  • To browse publications alphabetically by title, click on a letter under Publication title beginning with.
  • To browse publications by topic, select an option from the Subject area menu, and then click on Go Button.
  • To browse publications by publisher, click on a letter under Publisher name beginning with, and then click on a publisher's name.

Item Record

After completing a search or browse, a list of articles, and sometimes book chapters, appears. Click on an item's title to view its abstract.

Top of Page

History

The last six searches may be viewed by hovering over the Search History link. Rerun a search by clicking on it. Quick Searches automatically run. Advanced Searches first show a search display. Click on Search Button to rerun it. Advanced Searches may be edited before rerunning.

To view all searches conducted during a session, click on Search History. Each search may then be edited and rerun.

Current Search History

Mark Records

Mark articles to create a list that can be printed, saved, exported or emailed, by selecting its checkbox on the list of records, and clicking on update marked list

Click on Marked List in the upper right hand corner of the screen to view the list.

Print, Export, Save, and Email

To print or save the current page of citations or a marked list, click on the Print or export plain text link. A page displaying the citation(s) will appear. Use the browser's print or save option to complete the action.

To email the current page of citations or a marked list, click on email. Complete the to (email address) textbox, and click on Go Button .

Top of Page

Find Full Text

There are four types of full text content in Ingenta, only two of which are free:

  • Free Content Free Content
  • Free Trial Content Free Trial Content
  • New Content New Content
  • Subscribed Content Subscribed Content

To save you money, the Library recommends finding full text in the University Library or via ILLiad. However, individuals may order and pay for articles through Ingenta services at their own expense. The University Library has nearly 20,000 periodicals online and in print, and articles from others can be requested by Interlibrary Loan via ILLiad. Printing is free in the library, copying is 10¢ per page, and ILLiad is typically $1.

To find free full text, check the Journal Holdings List or Citation Linker.

Database Help

Help is available with information about the current screen, by clicking on Help. For additional assistance, see below.

Top of Page