Database Trials
New Database Trials
- Grove Art Online (Oxford)

- Vendor's product description.
- Trial begins Wednesday, February 1, 2012.
- Trial ends Wednesday, February 26, 2012.
- Please send your feedback to the Library about this trial.
- Wilson Core Collections (EBSCO)
- Children's Core Collection
- Middle and Junior High Core Collection
- Senior High Core Collection
- Trial begins Wednesday, February 1, 2012.
- Trial ends Wednesday, February 27, 2012.
- Please send your feedback to the Library about this trial.
Past Database Trials
- AdForum
- Vendor's product description.
- Trial begins Monday, October 3, 2011.
- Trial ends Friday, December 16, 2011.
- We subscribed to this database as of January 1, 2012.
- American Periodicals (ProQuest)
- Vendor's product description.
- Trial ended February 26, 2011.
- Outcome: We did not receive sufficient feedback to make a decision on this database.
- America's Newspapers (NewsBank)
- Vendor's product description
- Outcome: The Library now has a subcription to America's Newspapers.
- bX Recommender (Ex Libris)
- bX Recommender is different from our other product trials because it's a service that works within our other databases and is not a "standalone" product. bX is a new scholarly article recommender service which will aid researchers in finding additional relevant articles. bX is similar to the "More Like This" or "If You Liked This, You’ll Also Like..." services on web sites such as Amazon, but it is based on article usage by nearly 2,000 users at research institutions around the world. bX Recommender is available from the Find It
menu in the Library's article databases (e.g., EBSCOhost, WilsonWEB, and ProQuest databases)
- Vendor's product description
- Short screencast demo of bX Recommender
- Screenshot of bX Recommender
- Trial ended: March 26, 2010
- The UW System began a subscription to this product in Spring, 2010.
- bX Recommender is different from our other product trials because it's a service that works within our other databases and is not a "standalone" product. bX is a new scholarly article recommender service which will aid researchers in finding additional relevant articles. bX is similar to the "More Like This" or "If You Liked This, You’ll Also Like..." services on web sites such as Amazon, but it is based on article usage by nearly 2,000 users at research institutions around the world. bX Recommender is available from the Find It
- DRAM (streaming music)
- Vendor's product description
- Trial ended: September 30, 2010
- Outcome: The Library now subscribes to DRAM.
- DSM-IV TR Online (American Psychological Association)
- Vendor's product description.
- Outcome: The Library's subscription began on August 1, 2011.
- Films On Demand
- Outome: Subscription began January 1, 2010. Thanks for your feedback!
- GEOBASE (Elsevier)
- Vendor's product description.
- Trial begins Wednesday, September 7, 2011.
- Trial ends Friday, October 7, 2011.
- Please send us feedback on this database.
- Global Road Warrior: The Ultimate Guide to the World (World Trade Press)
- Outcome: We now have a subscription to Global Road Warrior.
- Vendor's product description
- Trials ended: February 28, 2010
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
- Vendor's product description and title list
- Outcome: The Library's subscription to this product began in May, 2010
- Music Online: Listening (Alexander Street Press)
- Subsets of this collection include: American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound.
- Vendor's product description
- Trial ended: September 30, 2010
- Outcome: The Library now has a subscription to Jazz Music Library.
- Naxos Music
- Vendor's product description
- Trial ended: September 30, 2010
- Outcome: The Library now has subscription to Naxos.
- Reaxys (Elsevier)
- Vendor's product description
- Trial ended: November 30, 2010
- Outcome: We now have a subscription to Reaxys, courtesy of UW-Madison.
- Theatre In Video (Alexander St. Press)
- Outcome: The response to this database was lukewarm, due to the recent acquisitions of Films on Demand, so we did not subscribe.
- Trial ended: February 28, 2010
- Women and Social Movements International (Alexander Street Press)
- Vendor's product description.
- Outcome: The feedback was mixed on this database and it was decided not to subscribe at this time.
- Trial ended: Monday, October 31, 2011.
- World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
- Vendor's product description.
- Trial begins Monday, November 1, 2011.
- Trial ends Thursday, December 31, 2011.
- We subscribed to this database as of January 1, 2012.
Andersen Library Database List
Last Revised: cje - 1/27/2012



