See also: Government Resources
Table of Contents:
Associations & Organizations
- APSANET: The American Political Science Association Online
- International Political Science Association
- National Governors Association
- Get information about governors of different states and read State of the State addresses delivered by governors to their respective state legislatures.
- APSA Related Organizations
- Scholarly Societies Project: Political Science (University of Waterloo)
- The U.S. Conference of Mayors
- Information on issues, best practices, and search for mayors to get information about them.
Departments, Institutes, Think Tanks
- Departments of Political Science and Public Affairs (Robert Duvall, West Virginia University)
- Political Science, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
- Roper Center for Public Opinion Research (University of Connecticut)
- Think tanks: States | National (Pioneer Institute for Public Policy Research)
- Wisconsin Policy Research Institute, Inc.
Electronic Conferences, Courses, & Discussion Lists
- Directory of Scholarly and Professional E-Conferences (Kovacs Consulting)
Directories of Internet Sites
- Political Science Resources on the Web (University of Michigan)
- Poly-Cy (Robert Duvall, West Virginia University)
- Resources for Political Science (Vanderbilt University)
- Yahoo!Directory: Government | Social Science--Political Science.
Specialized Internet Resourcesskip to Country/Region-Specific Sources
- American Radicalism (Michigan State University)
- Selected digitized documents on the KKK, American Indian Movement, Students for a Democratic Society, Black Panthers, Hollywood Ten and more, are available by following the "Digital Images from the Radicalism Collection" link.
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
- Includes access to full text for such publications as working papers from research institutes, occasional papers from NGOs, and institute conference proceedings.
- Clements Online Service - Access restricted to within the Andersen Library building (requires logon; inquire at Reference Desk)
- Dynasties of the World -
- Freedom House
- Non-partisan,non-profit organization founded by Eleanor Roosevelt, Wendell Willkie and others. Among the information provided: Freedom in the World, an annual comparative assessment of the state of political rights and civil liberties in 192 countries and 18 related and disputed territories, and its Country Ratings, an annual rating of political rights and civil liberties. A division is The Center for Religious Freedom, which offers its own reports and country profiles.
- A Glossary of Political Economy Terms (Dr. Paul M. Johnson, Auburn University)
- Government Resources
- The Keele Guide to Political Thought and Ideology on the Internet (Martin Harrison, Keele University, UK)
- The Kings and Queens of Britain -
- Law (& Legislation) Resources
- PR (Proportional Representation) Library (Douglas Amy, Mount Holyoke College)
- The beginning readings include a description of Types of Voting Systems.
- Working-Paper Sites of Political Science scholars
- World Disaster Report (International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies)
- Chapter summaries of the most current annual report are free online, and the full text from previous issues of the WDR are available.
- Country/Region-Specific Sources
- Foreign Government Resources on the Web (University of Michigan)
- Canada. Introduction to the Government of Canada Official Web Site
- Commonwealth Secretariat
- The Secretariat is the coordinating agency of the Commonwealth, an association of more than 50 countries, many of them former British territories.
- Council of the Baltic Sea States
- Europa: Gateway to the European Union
- European Parliament
- Guide to Government (United Kingdom)
- India.Gov.In: National Portal of India
- NATO Parliamentary Assembly
- Political Database of the Americas (Center for Latin American Studies, Georgetown University)
- Here you can find information on political parties, political participation, government officials, and electoral systems and election results.
- Special reports by region (United States Institute of Peace)
- Www.Gov.Au - Australia: gateway to federal, state, territory, and local governments
- Election Resources on the Internet (Manuel Alvarez-Rivera)
- International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance
- IDEA is an inter-governmental organization with member states on all continents. This site has useful statistics such as comparisons of voter turnout for elections since 1945 in different countries.
- Inter-Parliamentary Union
- Among the information available: searchable PARLINE database, from which recent election results and descriptions of the structure and functioning of national parliaments may be found, an abridged version of The World of Parliaments - Quarterly Review (previously the Journal of the IPU) since 1999, and data on Women in National Parliaments.
- Constitution Party
- Democratic National Committee
- Elections 2004 (University of Michigan)
- Find here links to comprehensive election-related websites, candidates, campaigns, and issues.
- Federal Election Commission
- Information and data on campaign finance, voter turnout, voting systems, and more.
- Green Party of the United States
- League of Women Voters
- The organization's DemocracyNet allows searching for candidates by zip code, and provides candidates 'answers to questions on issues.
- Libertarian Party
- Project Vote Smart
- Reform Party
- Republican National Committee
- Roll Call Online
- Historical information & data:
- The Great Debate and Beyond: The History of Televised Presidential Debates (The Museum of Broadcast Communications)
- Political Party Platforms since 1840 (The American Presidency Project, University of California-Santa Barbara)
- Presidential Elections Data since 1828 (The American Presidency Project, University of California-Santa Barbara)
- The Presidential Elections From 1860-1912 (HarpWeek)
- Featuring cartoons, especially from Harper's Weekly, as well as information about the candidates and issues.
- U.S. Presidential Election Maps: 1860-1996 (University of Virginia)
- Voting and Registration (U.S. Census Bureau) - data since 1964
- League of Women Voters of Wisconsin
- The League's DemocracyNet allows searching for candidates by zip code, and provides candidates 'answers to questions on issues.
- thewheelerreport.com - online supplement to The Wheeler Report
- Information on Wisconsin candidates, their campaigns (including websites) and news releases. Also available here: news releases issued by legislators and state agencies, selected state government-related stories from Wisconsin's daily newspapers, and links to state government Websites.
- Who Are My Legislators? (Wisconsin State Legislature)
- Search by address or municipality. Note that because of redistricting after the 2000 Census, some legislators serve areas only until January 2003. For example, Whitewater will be part of U.S. Congressional District 2 for the Fall 2002 elections (previously Whitewater was in U.S. Congressional District 1, and continues to be represented by Paul Ryan until January 2003).
- Wisconsin Democracy Campaign
- Site of a "nonpartisan political watchdog that tracks money in Wisconsin politics and advocates for campaign finance reform." Information on campaign expenditures is provided, as well as news releases.
- Wisconsin State Elections Board
- Includes lists of candidates, information about voting and upcoming elections, and a link to Wisconsin redistricting information.
- Wisconsin Vote (Wisconsin Public Television, Wisconsin Public Radio, University of Wisconsin-Extension)
- Wisconsin's Congressional and Legislative Districts (Wisconsin State Legislature) - maps
Electronic Data Archives
- National Election Studies Center for Political Studies, Institute for Social Research (University of Michigan)
- Statistical Resources on the Web: Political Science (University of Michigan)
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics -
- A Dictionary of Political Biography -
- The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World -
- The Oxford Guide to the United States Government -
JSTOR (University of Michigan) -
- American Journal of International Law v.1 (1907) to present
- American Journal of Political Science v.17 (Feb. 1973) to one year ago, continues Midwest Journal of Political Science 1 (May 1957)-16 (Nov 1972)
- American Political Science Review v.1 (1906) to 3 years ago
- Asian Survey v.1 (1961) to 3 years ago, continues Far Eastern Survey v. 4-30 (1935-1961) and Memorandum (Institute of Pacific Relations, American Council) v.1-3 (1932-1934)
- British Journal of Political Science v.1 (1971) to 5 years ago
- Canadian Journal of Economics v.1 (1968) to 3 years ago, continues Canadian Journal of Economics and Political Science v.1-33 (1935-1967)
- Canadian Journal of Political Science v.1 (1968) to 5 years ago
- Comparative Politics v.1 (1968) to 5 years ago
- International Affairs v.20 (1944) to 5 years ago
- International Organization v.1 (1947) to 3 years ago
- International Security v.1 (1976) to 5 years ago
- International Studies Quarterly v.11 (1967) to 5 years ago
- International Studies Review v.1 (1999)- 5 years ago
- Journal of Conflict Resolution v.1 (1957) to 3 years ago
- Journal of Palestine Studies v.1 (1971) to 3 years ago
- Journal of Peace Research v.1 (1964) to 3 years ago
- Journal of Politics v.1 (1939) to 3 years ago
- Journal of Southern African Studies v.1 (1974) to 3 years ago
- Legislative Studies Quarterly v.1 (1976) to 5 years ago
- Mershon International Studies Review v.38-42 (1994-1998)
- Middle East Report no.151 (1988) to 3 years ago
- Midwest Journal of Political Science v.1-16 (1957-1972)
- Political Behavior v.1 (1979) to 3 years ago
- Political Research Quarterly v.46 (1993) to one year ago
- Political Science Quarterly v.1 (1886) to 5 years ago
- Political Theory v.1 (1973) to 3 years ago
- Proceedings of the American Political Science Association v.1-10 (1904-1913)
- PS v.1-20 (1968-1987)
- PS: Political Science and Politics v.21 (1988) to 3 years ago
- Public Opinion Quarterly v.1 (1937) to 5 years ago
- Western Political Quarterly v.1-45 (1948-1992)
- World Politics v.1-47 (1948-1995)
Project Muse (Johns Hopkins University) -
- Africa Today quarterly v.46 (1999) to present
- American Imago quarterly v.52 (1995) to present
- Brookings-Wharton Papers on Urban Affairs annual 2000 to present
- China Review International twice a year v.6 (1999) to present
- The Contemporary Pacific two times a year v.12 (2000) to present
- Global Environmental Politics v.3 (2003) to present
- The Good Society v.11 (2002) to present
- The Harvard International Journal of Press/Politics archive only v.4:no.3-v.5:no.4 (1999-2000)
- Human Rights Quarterly quarterly v.17 (1995) to present
- Indiana Journal of Global Legal Studies twice a year v.10 (2003) to present
- International Organization- archive only v.56 (2002)
- International Security, quarterly v.25:no.4 (2001) to present
- Journal of Asian American Studies three times a year v.1 (1998) to present
- Journal of Cold War Studies 2-4 per year v.1 (1999) to present
- Journal of Democracy quarterly v.6 (1995) to present
- Journal of Health Politics, Policy and Law six a year, archive only v.24:no.4-5 (1999), v.25-29 (2000-2004)
- Journal of Modern Greek Studies twice a year v.14 (1996) to present
- Journal of Policy History quarterly v.11:no.3 (1999), v.12 (2000) to present
- Mediterranean Quarterly quarterly v.10:no.3 (1999); v.11 (2000) to present
- Philosophy & Public Affairs quarterly, archive only v.30-31 (2001;2003)
- Rhetoric & Public Affairs quarterly v.3:no.4 (2000) to present
- SAIS Review twice a year v.15, Special Issue (1995) to present
- Social Politics: International Studies in Gender, State and Society v.10 (2003) to present
- South Atlantic Quarterly archive only v.98:no.3-103 (1999-2004)
- Theory & Event quarterly v.1 (1997) to present
- Transition archive only v.9-10 (2000-2001)
- Washington Quarterly v.23 (2000) to present
- World Politics. quarterly v.48 (1995/1996) to present
- Alternative Press Index (FirstSearch : 1991- ) -
- Citations from alternative, radical, and left publications, which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change. LIMITED SEARCHING: The Library is charged per search for this database. Please contact B. Bren (firstname.lastname@example.org or 262-472-5521) before beginning large research projects requiring many searches.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science, Institute for Scientific Information, 1987- ) -
Multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed for searching for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. The database may be searched for articles citing a particular article. The information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (bibliography). After connecting to the database, click on "ISI Web of Science" on the left side of the first screen display.
- Social Sciences Full Text (WilsonWeb) -
- Citations with abstracts, and full-text articles from selected periodicals. Coverage: 1983 to date (indexing) and 1995 to date (full-text from selected publications).
- More Indexes & Databases, Arranged by Subject: Law FIX ME | General FIX ME (UW-Whitewater Andersen Library)