Patent, Trademark & Copyright
Copyright & Fair Use (Stanford Univ. Libraries)
A great site to learn about copyright with a special emphasis on fair use in academic settings.
Copyright and Intellectual Property (Association of Research Libraries)
The Association of Research Libraries maintains this site to assist librarians with copyright issues. Link to statutes, legislation, recent cases, and more. This is especially helpful for understanding the implications of copyright law and principles for higher education and libraries.
Copyright Law (General Counsel, Univ. of Wisconsin System)
A brief explanation of copyright principles as they relate to the University of Wisconsin System community members as copyright owners or copyright users.
Copyright Law Materials (Cornell Univ.)
Cornell University's Legal Information Institute presents an overview of copyright law including conventions and treaties. Includes links to relevant statutory and case law as well as links to Web sites of organizations involved in copyright law.
Copyright.com (Copyright Clearance Center)
The Copyright Clearance Center is an intermediary between copyright holders (usually publishers) and users of copyrighted material. They provide services for users to obtain copyright permissions and facilitate the collection of royalties. This site provides information for authors, publishers, and content users.
Interactive Guide to Using Copyrighted Media in Your Courses (Baruch College)
This handy online tutorial covers using audio, images and audiovisual (video) in traditional classroom settings as well as through secure password-protected systems like Blackboard.
Patent Research (LexisNexis Academic) ![]()
Use LexisNexis to research design and plant patents going back to 1976 and utility patents back to 1790.
U.S. Code: Title 35: Patent, Trademark & Copyright (Legal Information Institute, Cornell Univ. Law School)
Cornell University's Legal Information Institute presents the U.S. Code in a searchable format and also provides other related Patent Law Materials.
U.S. Copyright Office (Library of Congress)
The U.S. Copyright Office Web site provides users everything they need to register their works or find out about copyright in the U.S. and around the world.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
Search the U.S. Patent and Trademark Databases for existing patents or download forms and learn how to file a patent or trademark application.
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
Made up of 179 countries, this organization is dedicated to promoting and protecting intellectual property (patents, trademarks, copyrights, designs). The Web site includes background information on intellectual property rights as well as sections on international treaties and agreements, and related news.

