• Library
  • UW-W
  • Google
  • Google Scholar

Government Resources: Internet Publications

Listed here are links to selected online publications (full-text or excerpted) from government agencies (U.S. Federal or states) and international organizations. To locate additional government resources not listed here, see also:

Agency/Organization Sites | Publication lists | Statistical Data | Search Internet

Table of Contents:

 

Collections of Publications (many topics) - by issuing organization

Federal (U.S.) Government

  • Image: GPO Access icon | GPO Access: Full-text/full-image and keyword-searchable publications, including daily Congressional Record and Federal Register issues (since 1994), Congressional bills (since 103rd Congress, 1993/1994), selected Congressional reports and documents (also known as the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, since 104th Congress), Congressional Directory (since 1995/96), Budget of the United States (since FY1996), Economic Report of the President (since 1995), Economic Indicators (since April 1995), General Accountability (formerly Accounting) Office "blue book" reports and Comptroller General decisions, Privacy Act Issuances (since the 1995 compilation), public laws since the 104th Congress, United States Code, U.S. Government Manual, and Supreme Court decisions (1937-1975).
    For a full listing of the categories of materials made available, see the A-Z Resource list.
  • Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance: The CFDA is a compendium of Federal programs, projects, services, and activities providing assistance or benefits (both financial and nonfinancial) to the American public. alternative access via the Government Printing Office: http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS1729
  • Cybercemetery (U.S. Government Printing Office & University of North Texas libraries) - A site that provides permanent public access to the electronic Web sites and publications of defunct U.S. government agencies and commissions (such as the Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations, Office of Technology Assessment, and National Gambling Impact Study Commission).

International Organizations


Budget & Finance

Business, Industry & Trade

Children/Youth

Copyright

Country Information

Defense/Military

  • DefenseLINK (U.S. Department of Defense)
  • Military & Government Collection - UWW access only
    This resource provides current news pertaining to all branches of the military found in periodicals, academic journals and pamphlets, including cover-to-cover full text from nearly 400 journals and periodicals.
  • U.S. military departments: Air Force | Army | Navy
    A service within the Navy: Marine Corps.

Diversity

  • Annual report of the Bureau of American Ethnology to the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution
    This set also is in Andersen Library 's Federal (U.S.) Documents collection at SI 2.1:, but this site provides no. 1-48 (1879/80-1930/31) digitized by the French National Library. Browse an online table of contents provided by the Smithsonian Institution Libraries.
  • Changing America: Indicators of Social and Economic Well-Being by Race and Hispanic Origin (Council of Economic Advisers)
  • Plan 2008 documents (University of Wisconsin System Office of Academic Diversity and Development)
    "In May 1998, the UW System Board of Regents adopted Plan 2008: Educational Quality Through Racial/Ethnic Diversity. Plan 2008 provided a ten -year framework for system wide institutional efforts aimed at removing barriers associated with race, ethnicity and economic disadvantage in order to expand educational opportunities statewide. UW institutions were asked to divide the ten-year planning horizon into two five-year phases. Phase I encompassed years 1999-2003 and Phase II encompassed years 2004-2008. UW System institutions submitted their Plan 2008 Phase II Plans on December 15, 2004. Each plan contain goals and initiatives that continue or build upon goals and initiatives developed under Phase I."

Economics


See also: Statistics: Economics

Education


See also: Statistics: Education

Campaign/Election Information

(UW-Whitewater University Library "Librarian Selected Internet Resources: Political Science")

Environment & Forestry

Freedom of Information (FOIA)

  • FOIA Resources (Society of Professional Journalists)
  • The Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) (National Security Archive, George Washington University)
    This site provides information about how to make a FOIA request for information from the U.S. Government, statistics on FOIA requests and agency compliance with requests, and a repository of declassified U.S. Government publications.

Geography, Maps, Photography & Satellite Imagery

  • American FactFinder: Reference maps (U.S. Census Bureau)
  • Color Landform Atlas of the United States (Johns Hopkins University)
  • Dave Leip 's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections
    Contains detailed information on national results for the major and minor candidates for U.S. President in elections from 1789-2000.
  • Detailed Maps of National Parks (U.S) (U.S. National Park Service)
  • EROS Data Center (Earth Resources Observations System, U.S. Geological Survey)
    Among the offerings are: "Earthshots", satellite (LANDSAT) images of world areas experiencing environmental changes, and "EDC Image Gallery Collections", aerial photographs and satellite images of cities, states, countries,etc.
  • goedata.gov
    One-stop portal for federal and state maps and geospatial data & services.
  • Maps (United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees)
    maps of selected areas of the world. Some maps show special information, such as ethnic or refugee concentrations in a country.
  • Maps of the United States (Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection, University of Texas at Austin)
    Electronic maps of national parks, monuments, and historic sites, selected state maps, and historic U.S. maps.
  • National Atlas of the United States®
  • National Digital Map Library (U.S. Geological Survey digital line graph data, via University of Virginia)
    This site provides a set of maps for all 50 states using USGS Digital Line Graph (DLG) data and ESRI data. DLG data has a scale of 1:250,000 while ESRI data has 1:2,000,000. Coverages available from the DLG data for download are: State Boundary, County Boundaries, National Parks and Forests, Hydrography, and Major Cities.
  • Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (University of Texas at Austin)
    This collection includes world maps and maps of specific countries, mostly from the CIA World Factbook.
  • Tiger mapping Service - Create maps of U.S. sites here. | U.S. Gazetteer (U.S. Census Bureau)
  • US GeoData (U.S. Geological Survey)
    Digital geodata files downloadable via file transfer protocol (ftp), but not viewable using a WWW browser.
  • USGS Store: Maps/Map Locator
    From this site see what maps are available, e.g., 7.5 or 15 minute topographic maps, world series maps, national parks maps, etc. 7.5 and 15 minute maps are downloadable as pdf files by first selecting them using the Map Locator.
  • Sample State maps (WI) (Wisconsin Geological and Natural History Survey)
    Bedrock geology of Wisconsin (1981; rev. 1995), Early vegetation of Wisconsin (1965), Groundwater contamination susceptibility in Wisconsin (1989), Ice Age deposits of Wisconsin (1964), Landforms of Wisconsin (1971), Soil regions of Wisconsin (1993), Thickness of unconsolidated material in Wisconsin (1983)
  • Wisconsin County maps (WI Dept. of Transportation)
  • Atlas of Canada (National Resources Canada)

Health, Medicine, & Nutrition

History


See also: History: Presidents of the United States
  • American Memory (Library of Congress)
  • Annual report of the Bureau of American Ethnology to the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution
    This set also is in the University Library 's Federal (U.S.) Documents collection at SI 2.1:, but this site provides no. 1-48 (1879/80-1930/31) digitized by the French National Library. Browse an online table of contents provided by the Smithsonian Institution Libraries.
  • Census Records (Family Search, LDS)
    Search the 1880 United States, 1881 British Isles, or the 1881 Canadian Census (or all three at once).
  • Chaters of Freedom (National Archives)
    Learn here the history of the United States, from loyal British subjects to the creation of the charters of our form of government (the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, and the Bill of Rights.
  • Congressional History (Office of the Clerk, House of Representatives, U.S. Congress)
    This site provides profile, membership, leadership, and legislative information for the 1st (1789/1791)–108th (2003/2005) Congresses.
  • The Federalist Papers (via THOMAS from the Library of Congress and Project Gutenberg)
    The Federalist Papers are 85 essays written between October 1787 and May 1788 by Alexander Hamilton, James Madison, and John Jay. They were intended to gain support for the Constitution.
  • Foreign Relations of the United States (U.S. State Dept., via University of Wisconsin-Madison) 1861-1960 volumes (incomplete: some volumes are missing)
    Foreign Relations of the United States, begun in 1861, is the "official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity." In addition to the volumes available online at this site, the University Library has bound "FRUS" volumes (and the earlier title Papers Relating to the Foreign Relations of the United States) in its Federal Documents collection at S 1.1:, beginning with the 1861 volume. Some volumes are available also at Foreign Relations Series (U.S. State Dept., Office of the Historian) or alternate site.
  • A History of the U.S. Department of State, 1789-1996 (U.S. State Dept., Office of the Historian)
  • Indian Affairs: Laws and treaties / Charles J. Kappler, ed. (Oklahoma State University Library)
    The entire 7-volume set is digitized. It is possible to search all volumes in the set. Volume 2 of this set, published by the U.S. Government Printing Office between 1904 and 1941, contains U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883. Volumes 1 and 3-7 contain U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970. Volumes 1-5 also are available in print in the University Library 's Special Collections.
  • Indian Claims Commission Decisions (Oklahoma State University)
    Volumes 30-43 (1973-1978) are digitized. It is possible to search the entire digitized set. The Indian Claims Commission existed from 1946-1978 to adjudicate land dispute suits brought by tribes, bands, or other identifiable groups of Native Americans. Cases could be appealed to the U.S. Court of Claims.
  • Kennedy History (John F. Kennedy Space Center)
  • NARA (National Archives and Records Administration)
    ARC, the Archival Research Catalog, is a searchable database of descriptions of a portion of NARA 's nationwide holdings in the Washington, D.C. area, Regional Archives and Presidential Libraries. Searches can be limited to digital copies.
  • The National Security Archive
    The Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute located at George Washington University. It collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
  • Primary Documents in American History (Library of Congress)
    Primary documents from 1763-1877, which spans from the American Revolution to the Civil War and Reconstruction. It includes such documents as the Gettysburg Address, Emancipation Proclamation, Jay 's Treaty, Alien and Sedition Acts, Monroe Doctrine, Indian Removal Act, and more.
  • Statistical Abstracts (U.S. Census Bureau)
    Provided here: data from the annual Statistical Abtract of the United States since 1878.
  • Timeline of Diplomatic History (U.S. State Dept., Office of the Historian)
  • U.S. Army Center of Military History
  • The War of the Rebellion: A Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies (U.S. War Dept.)
    Series I: vol.1-53 (1880-1898), series II: vol.1-8 (1894-1899), series III: vol.1-5 (1899-1900), series IV: vol.1-4 (1900-1901) Browse by volume or search.
  • Public Documents of the State of Wisconsin (University of Wisconsin Digital Collections)
    Commonly known as Wisconsin Public Documents (WPD), this 118-volume set consists of the annual and biennial reports of all important Wisconsin state agencies from 1852 through 1914.

----Presidents of the United States

Law & Legislation

- (another UW-Whitewater, University Library webpage.)

Occupations

  • Dictionary of Occupational Titles (U.S. Dept. of Labor)
    This site presents the 4th edition, revised 1991. The DOT is being replaced by O*NET, an online Occupational Information Network. The SOC (Standard Occupational Classification) will provide the framework for information gathered through the O*NET. See its description in the Federal Register, vol.63, no. 150, pp. 41895-41923 (Aug. 5, 1998).
  • O*NET Online
  • Occupational Outlook Handbook (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
    alternate access via University of Missouri-St. Louis for the 2002-2003, 2000-2001, 1998-99 or 1996-97 editions.
  • Occupational Outlook Quarterly (U.S. Dept. of Labor) articles are available online. Access articles from older issues by using the OOQ online index.
  • USAJobs (Office of Personnel Management)
    This is "the official job site of the United States Federal Government." Explore career interests, search current jobs, prepare a resume, and complete standard forms here.

Patents & Trademarks

Postal Information

Poverty

  • Institute for Research on Poverty (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
    The IRP is a national, university-based, nonprofit center for research into the causes and consequences of poverty and social inequality in the U.S. Among the options are several publications of the IRP, including discussion papers, special reports, and the magazine Focus (full text available online since vol.16, Fall 1994).
  • Poverty. (U.S. Census Bureau)
  • Poverty Guidelines, Research, and Measurement (U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services)
    Poverty guidelines since 1982 are available here.
  • PovertyNet (World Bank)
    Among the offerings here is Voices of the Poor, which consists of three books that bring together the experiences of over 60,000 poor women and men: Can Anyone Hear Us? gathers the voices of over 40,000 poor women and men in 50 countries from the World Bank 's participatory poverty assessments; Crying Out for Change reports from a new 23-country comparative study; From Many Lands offers regional patterns and country case studies.
  • Strategies for Reducing Chronic Street Homelessness (U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development)

Safety

Science & Technology

  • DOE Information Bridge (U.S. Dept. of Energy, since January 1996)
    This site provides access to full-text and bibliographic records of DOE-sponsored research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental cleanup, energy technologies, and other topics.
  • E-Print Archive (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
    This site has been an electronic archive and distribution server of research in physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computational linguistics, and neuroscience since August 1991. Search the e-print archive for specific words or phrases.
  • Forensic Science Communications (Federal Bureau of Investigation, U.S. Dept. of Justice) v.1 (1999) to date

Statistical Data

- (another UW-Whitewater, University Library webpage.)

Taxation

Terrorism & War

 

Last revised: BRB - August 10, 2007

Location

Andersen Library
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
800 West Main Street
Whitewater, WI 53190-1790

Contact the Library

Circulation Desk: 262-472-5511
Reference Desk: 262-472-1032

23.22.76.170