• Library
  • UW-W
  • Google
  • Google Scholar

How to Customize

Google Scholar
  • Search for scholarly research
  • Use library links to determine which materials are accessible to the UW-Whitewater community and click through to them

Google Scholar uses the Google search engine to search specifically for scholarly information on the Internet, including theses, books, peer-reviewed papers, scholarly publishers and universities. More information about Google Scholar is available at http://scholar.google.com/scholar/about.html and http://scholar.google.com/scholar/help.html. One thing it cannot do is search the contents of library subscription databases.

The UW-Whitewater Andersen Library participates in Google Scholar's Library Links program, which means search results from Google Scholar will be annotated with links indicating whether a book is available from our Library’s collections or whether you have access to the full text of articles via our online subscription resources. Access to subscription resources from off campus will require a login with a campus net-ID (the same login used for campus e-mail or D2L).

 

How to enable links to locally-accessible information

On Campus:

Simply access Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.com) from an on-campus location. The links should be automatic.

Off Campus:

  • Access Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.com) and click on Settings (top right corner) and then Library Links
  • Type whitewater in the "Show library access links" search box and then check the box alongside UW-Whitewater when it appears
  • Click on the “Save” button (lower right corner of the display).

Examples

Google Scholar article citation example Article citation example (from results of a search for advertising layout) with full text available either via a Library subscription database or in the Library's periodical collections. Clicking on the link Find It at UW-Whitewater displays the Find It menu with links to databases from which the full text article is available and/or a link to the Library Catalog to check the Library's holdings for the needed issue.

 

Google Scholar book citation example Book citation example - The Find It menu (excerpted below) displays when you click on Find It (UW-Whitewater).

Google Scholar example of Find It link to library catalog to search for a book
Clicking on the UW-Whitewater Library Catalog link displays the location and call number for the book in Andersen Library. If there is no link to the catalog, the book is not available locally.

 

Find in a Library displays when you click on "Library Search." It checks the WorldCat database for cataloging holdings of libraries worldwide and displays first those that are closest to the zip code or state you provide in the "Enter Location Information" box. Google Scholar Library Search example for book

Location

Andersen Library
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
800 West Main Street
Whitewater, WI 53190-1790

Contact the Library

Circulation Desk: 262-472-5511
Reference Desk: 262-472-1032

54.224.79.93