How to Use TableBase

Table of Contents:

TableBase may be used to find tabular data drawn from articles in 1,000 business periodicals, trade journals, newspapers and statistical sources. This database is a great place to find demographics, market share, market size, imports and exports as well as product, brand, and company rankings.

NOTE: The TableBase interface received a significant update in November 2008, and this guide has been updated to reflect the much improved look of the resource.

 

Logging In/Out

To access TableBase from the Andersen Library home page, click on the Databases link under the Find rollover menu. Then click on T to jump to databases beginning with that letter, then on TableBase.

To log out, click on the Logout button at the top of the TableBase screen. TableBase allows only two simultaneous users, so it is important to logout to make it available to other users.


 

Searching

TableBase now provides a basic search and an advanced search. The Basic Search consists of one search box in which to enter terms. The Advanced Search contains both a search box for keywords as well as categories to focus the search. These categories can be used individually or in combination to broaden or narrow searches.

 

The Basic Search

The search box in the Basic Search will retrieve tables in which the words/phrases entered appear in the full text, abstract, title and descriptor (subject) fields. Refer to the Techniques section to combine terms.

Search Techniques

To Find Articles/Tables With: Search For:
Various forms of a word, such as secure, securing, secured, securities and security secur*
A phrase, type the words in the exact order technology budget
Multiple terms anywhere in an article, use AND coke and pepsi
Alternate terms, use OR diet coke or diet pepsi
Words excluded, use NOT diet coke not diet pepsi
Multiple words or phrases, combined with alternate (and/or) terms, use PARENTHESES to group them ginseng and (herbal or homeopathic)
 

The Advanced Search

As previously stated, the advanced search allows the user to exclusively utilize the predefined categories or in combination with search terms entered to retrieve results. The following section details each category and tips on using them effectively.

Search by Date

To limit your search by dates, type in date ranges in the dated from and to boxes in the mm/dd/yyyy format (e.g., 01/01/2000 to 12/31/2003). To limit to articles after a certain date, put that date in the dated from box and leave the to box blank. To limit to articles before a certain date, put that date in the to box and leave the dated from box blank.

Search by Company

Type a company name. For multiple companies, use AND, OR, NOT to connect company names in the search statement (e.g., 3com and US robotics).

Search by Concept Term

Concept terms are used to define the events or facts in your search statement. Select a concept term by clicking on it. Select multiple terms by holding down the CTRL key while selecting. Multiple terms can be connected using the AND or OR radio buttons.

Search by Marketing Term

Marketing terms relate to how products or services are marketed to customers (e.g., brand equity, telemarketing). Select a marketing term by clicking on it. Select multiple terms by holding down the CTRL key while selecting. Multiple terms can be connected using the AND or OR radio buttons.

Search by Industry Names

Choose from more than 90 different industries. Select an industry by clicking on it. Select multiple industries by holding down the CTRL key while selecting. Multiple industries can be connected using the AND or OR radio buttons.

Search by Document Types

Select a specific type of article or source by clicking a document type. Select multiple document types by holding down the CTRL key while selecting. Multiple document types can be connected using the AND or Or radio buttons.

Search by SIC/Product Code

Select Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes by typing it in or by clicking the Find SIC... icon to look up SIC codes. Multiple SIC codes are automatically combined with OR.

Search by Geo Region

Select a specific country or geographic region by clicking on it. Select multiple countries/regions by holding down the CTRL key while selecting. Multiple countries/regions can be connected using the AND or OR radio buttons. Or click the U.S.A. box to limit to the United States.

Search by Source

Select a source by clicking on the Lookup... button and checking boxes next to the titles you wish to search. Click on the Add Selected Sources button when you have finished selecting sources.


 

Displaying Results

TableBase sets itself apart from other databases because it separates tables of data from the articles in which they appear. From the Search Results screen, you may display tables by clicking on the title link.

NOTE: To view the article in which the table appeared, you must either e-mail or download the tables of interest in order to obtain the accompanying text. The following section covers those functions.


 

Print/E-mail/Download Results

Printing, e-mailing and downloading results is now much easier with the TableBase interface. Clicking on the printer icon will automatically open the browser's print menu and allow the user to print the selected documents. The envelope icon will open a window to enter an e-mail address and optional comment in order to send the table and accompanying article (not shown on the screen with the table). The floppy disk icon will prompt you to save a text (.txt) file that includes the table and article (not shown on the screen for the table) for use in a word processing program.

The user can also print, e-mail or download multiple tables at once by checking the box next to the title from the search results screen or above the title of individual table record. After checking those boxes, a link will appear in top navigational bar for Marked Items. The link leads to a page with only the results that you have selected and will provide the icons for printing, e-mailing and downloading.


 

Help

For help searching TableBase, click on the Help link at the top of any TableBase screen.

Top of Page