How to Research Events From the Past
Using online databases to research people and events from the past is often difficult because coverage rarely precedes the 1980's. This guide lists print and Internet resources containing information about events of the 19th through the 21st centuries. The reference books and periodicals listed here are located in the University Library. Reference books are located on the second floor and periodicals are on the first floor, more detailed directions are given for other locations.
Reference Books
State of Wisconsin Blue Book (1970-present)
Current Ed. Shelved at Reference Desk
(1989/1990-present) Reference JK6074 .A35
(1970-1971-1987/1988,1999/2000-present) WI Documents Stacks, A 1: [year]
Continues: Wisconsin Blue Book (1913-1968)
Wisconsin Documents Stacks A 1: [year] and Reference Storage (Ask for it at the Reference Desk)Continues: Blue Book of the State of Wisconsin For [year] (1880-1911)
Wisconsin Documents Stacks A 1: [year] and Reference Storage (Ask for it at the Reference Desk)
Note: Coverage runs one year behind the year on the spine, i.e. the 1976 edition documents events and statistics for 1975.Britannica Book of the Year (1938-2000, 2002-2003), Reference AE5 .E364
Provides a good subject-arranged description of the important people and events in a given year.
Note: Coverage runs one year behind the year on the spine, i.e. the 1976 edition documents events and statistics for 1975.Chronicle of the 20th Century, Reference D422 .C57x 1987
Monthly breakdown of the century through 1986. Good general descriptions with in-depth coverage of more important events.Day By Day, the Seventies, Reference D848 .L4 1988
Day By Day, the Eighties, Reference D848 .M45 1995
Day By Day, the Nineties, Reference D856 .A93 2004
Describes the decade's events by day. The events are broken down into ten categories.Editorials on File (1970-present), Reference (Current Affairs Shelf) D839 .E3
Provides a year-by-year collection of major U.S. newspapers' editorial columns, organized by subject and indexed each year.Encyclopedia of American Facts & Dates, Reference E174.5 .C3
Encyclopedia of World Facts and Dates, Reference CB69 .C37
Provides year-by-year breakdowns of important events. The events are arranged by subject, and then in chronological order.Europa World Year Book (1989- ), Reference JN1 .E85 (Current ed. at Reference Desk)
- Continues: Europa Year Book (1963-1988), Reference JN1 .E85
Note: Coverage runs one year behind the year on the spine, i.e. the 1976 edition documents events and statistics for 1975.Facts On File (1957-present ), (Current Affairs Shelf) Reference D410 .F3
Provides a week-by-week summary of the year's events. Contains full-text articles and references for further research.Keesing's Record of World Events (1987-1995), Reference D410 .K4
- Continues: Keesing's Contemporary Archives (1965-1986), Reference D410 .K4
Our Times: Illustrated History of the 20th Century, Reference D422 .O89 1995
Provides a general year-by-year overview of the 20th Century.World Almanac and Encyclopedia, (1909,1911-1922), Reference Storage
World Almanac and Book of Facts. Current edition at Reference Desk.
(1990-1 year ago) Reference AY67.N5 W7
(1923-1999) Reference Storage (ask for it at the Reference Desk) AY67.N5 W7
Provides summary analysis of the major topics during a given year and general statistical information for a large number of topics.
Note: Coverage runs one year behind the year on the spine, i.e. the 1976 edition documents events and statistics for 1975.
Periodicals
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906), Index Stack 3B (2nd floor)
Cumulative indexes to articles from American and English general periodicals.Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature
(1983-present), online version at Readers' Guide Full Text from WilsonWeb
(1890-1995), Index Stack 3B (2nd floor)
Annual subject index to articles from popular and scholarly periodicals and journals.Newsweek (1933-present), Time (1923-present) and U.S. News and World Report (1948-present), Periodicals Microform Room (1st floor)
The University Library holds back issues of these magazines on microfilm or microfiche. Either browse issues by date or do a subject search in Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature.New York Times (1857-2003), online at New York Times Historical Newspapers (1851-2003)

New York Times (1857-present), Periodicals Microform Room (1st floor)
New York Times Index, Index Stack 3B (2nd floor)
Annual index to articles in the New York Times from 1851-1990.Wall Street Journal (1959-present), Periodicals Microform Room (1st floor)
Wall Street Journal Index, Index Stack 3B (2nd floor)
Annual index to articles in the journal from 1958-1990.The Times (1920-present), Periodicals Microform Room (1st floor)
The Times (London) Index, Index Stack 3B (2nd floor)
Annual index to articles in The Times from 1906-6/1984.
Internet
AlternaTime
A large collection of timelines on various topics.American Memory-Library of Congress: Today in History: Archive
Search by day, month and terms.Any-Year Today-in-History
Search by month and year of birth or other event. Display includes MIA reports, birthdays, deaths, et al. POW-MIA search is very good.History Channel: This Day in History
Search by date, name or event. Results include major world events. Includes subject related links.American Collection: Literary Timeline
Select a date to see what important literary related events occurred that day in history.Our Time Lines
Create personalized timelines.This Day in Music History
Search by date; lists references.Timelines (DMOZ)
A collection of timelines.p>Timelines of History
Multiple timelines. Browse by day, period, year, location or subjectp>World History: HyperHistory
Search for people, history, events, maps.Yahooligans! This Day in History
This is a good starting place for web searching of historical dates and their corresponding events.
For assistance, contact a reference librarian at (262) 472-1032, by email or chat or in person at the Library's Reference Desk.
Last Revised: MS - 8/16/2007


