Sources of Business Information
3. Market Research: Demographics; Multiple Industries
This guide lists library resources for demographic and industry research. Resources on individual industries are listed in the Library's Sources of Business Information: 4. Market Research: Specific Industries.
Additional Web sites for demographics and analyses of specific industries are listed in the Library's Marketing resources guide.
Demographics and Consumer Research
American Marketplace: Demographics and Spending Patterns
Ref HA 214 .A512 2001
Also available online via LexisNexis (
)
America's Top-Rated Cities (4 vols.)
Ref HT 123 .A669 2004
America's Top-Rated Smaller Cities
Ref HT 123 .A6693 2004/2005
Consumer Analysis (Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel)
Ref HC108 .M5 C6x, kept at the reference desk
Consumer Expenditure Survey
U.S. Docs L 2.71:, kept at the reference desk
Consumer USA
Ref HC 101 .C744 2004
Demographic Yearbook (United Nations)
Ref HA 17 .D45 2002
Demographics USA: City Edition
Ref HF 5415.1 .D46, kept at the reference desk
Demographics USA: County Edition
Ref HF 5415.2 .S94x, kept at the reference desk
Editor & Publisher Market Guide
Ref HF 5905 .E38
European Marketing Data and Statistics
Ref HA 1107 .E87
Eurostat Yearbook (European Union)
Household Spending: Who Spends How Much on What
Ref HC 110 .C6 O34
Lifestyle Market Analyst
Ref HF 5415.33 .U6 L54, kept at the reference desk
New Strategist Publications
Various call numbers; use link to search Andersen Library catalog for titles such as Generation X, Millennials, Wise Up to Teens, American Women, etc.
Rand McNally Commercial Atlas & Marketing Guide
Ref G 1019 .R22, on the reference desk atlas stand
Sourcebook of County Demographics
Ref HA 203 .S673, kept at the reference desk
Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics
Ref HA 203 .S66, kept at the reference desk
Statistical Abstract of the United States
U.S. Docs C 3.134:, kept at the reference desk
Statistical Yearbook (United Nations)
Ref HA 12.5 .U63
United States Census data (also available online through their website):
- Census of Population, kept at reference desk
- Census of Housing - see Andersen Library Catalog for call numbers
- Census of Population and Housing, kept at reference desk; also available on US Documents CD-ROM -- ask at Reference Desk
- Economic Census (see Andersen Library Catalog for call numbers)
Industry Overviews
Encyclopedia of American Industries
Ref HC 102 .E53, kept at the reference desk
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
Ref HC102 .E54 2001, kept at the reference desk
Encyclopedia of Global Industries
Ref HD 2324 .E53, kept at the reference desk
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage ![]()
Choose Industries at the top or use the drop-down menu for Industry Surveys
U.S. Industry and Trade Outlook
Ref C 61.48: 2000, kept at the reference desk
Industry Statistics and Ratios
Many of the following resources arrange industries by numerical codes (SIC or NAICS). Be sure to note any applicable SIC or NAICS numbers for future use.
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
Ref HF 5681 .R25 T68, kept at the reference desk
Annual Survey of Manufactures
U.S. Docs C 3.24/9:
Business Statistics of the United States
Ref HC 101 .A131222, kept at the reference desk
Census of Manufactures
U.S. Docs C 3.24/4
CRB Commodity Yearbook
Ref HF 1041 .C56
County and City Data Book
C 3.134/2:C 83/2/, kept at the reference desk
County Business Patterns
U.S. Docs C 3.204/3 - U.S. and Wisconsin volumes, kept at the reference desk
D&B Census of American Business
Ref HF 5343 .D8a
Encyclopedia of American Industries
Ref HC 102 .E53, kept at the reference desk
Encyclopedia of Global Industries
Ref HD 2324 .E53, kept at the reference desk
Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios
Ref HF 5681 .R25 I53, kept at the reference desk
International Marketing Data and Statistics
Ref HA 42 .I56
Market Share Reporter
Ref HF 5410 .M35, kept at the reference desk
Producer Price Indexes
U.S. Docs L 2.61/11:
Quarterly Financial Report for Manufacturing, Mining, and Trade Corporations
U.S. Docs C 3.267
Research & Development, R&D/Battelle Research Funding Forecast, January issue
Available in print in Periodicals or online through EBSCOhost (
)
RMA Annual Statement Studies
Ref HF 5681 .B2 R6, kept at the reference desk
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage ![]()
Choose Industries at the top or use the drop-down menu for Industry Surveys
Statistics of Income: Corporation Income Tax Returns
U.S. Docs T 22.35/5:
U.S. Industry and Trade Outlook
U.S. Docs C 61.48:, kept at the reference desk
Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies
Ref HG 4057 .W374x - Lists companies by SIC and NAICS in order of market share
World Market Share Reporter
Ref HF 5410 .W67, kept at the reference desk
Imports and Exports
Foreign Trade Statistics (US Census Bureau)
Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States
U.S. Docs ITC 1.10/4: (CD-ROM, ask at reference desk)
Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWeb (US International Trade Commission)
International Trade Statistics Yearbook
Ref HF 91 .U473
National Trade Estimate Report on Foreign Trade Barriers (Office of the United States Trade Representative)
U.S. Docs PrEx 9.10:
U.S. International Trade Administration - includes U.S. import and export as well as state export data.
Article Databases
The following resources are restricted to UW-W students, faculty and staff. ![]()
ABI/Inform Global (ProQuest: 1971- )
Covers a wide range of popular and scholarly publications in accounting, finance, marketing, management, international business, real estate, and taxation. It provides abstracting and indexing from 1971 forward for over 1,300 titles, including 200 English-language foreign publications. Also included is partial/full text for over 600 journals from 1992 forward.
Business & Industry (FirstSearch : 1994- )
Contains important facts, figures and key events dealing with public and private companies, industries, products and markets for all manufacturing and service industries at an international level. B&I focuses on a body of literature that includes leading trade magazines, newsletters, the general business press and international business dailies. LIMITED SEARCHING: The Library is charged per search for this database. Please contact B. Bren (brenb@uww.edu or 262-472-5521) before beginning large research projects requiring many searches.
Business Full Text (WilsonWeb : 1982- )
Indexes and abstracts articles from more than 345 English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere, including the leading business magazines and trade and research journals, plus the partial/full text of over 160 of those periodicals. Partial/full text coverage begins in January 1995.
Business Source Elite (EBSCOhost)
Provides comprehensive access to abstracts and indexing for over 1500 titles, plus searchable partial/full text for more than 750 business periodicals.
ProQuest Newspapers (Proquest)
Full text articles and citations from more than 500 U.S. and foreign newspapers including Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, Madison Capital Times, Wisconsin State Journal, and Minneapolis Star Tribune.
Tablebase (RDS) restricted to 2 users at a time
TableBase is a database comprised of tables providing information such as: market share, market size, capacity, production, imports, exports, sales, product and brand rankings, forecasts, healthcare statistics and demographics. Tables are drawn from the more than 1000 sources that go into the Business & Industry database and from statistical annuals, brokerage reports, trade association reports, and governmental reports.
General Reference Works
Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Marketing (Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management, vol. 4)
Ref HD 30.15 .B463 1997 v. 4
Dictionary of Marketing Terms (1995)
Ref HF 5415 .D4874 1995
Dictionary of Marketing Terms (2000) ![]()
Available online via netLibrary


