Syllabus for Literary Research: 4. Fiction: Short Stories |
![]() |
This guide lists selected titles of books and databases about short stories held by the UW-Whitewater Andersen Library. It is not a comprehensive list of available titles. Follow the examples under Finding Biographies and Finding Literary Criticism and Bibliographies below to find additional books held by the UW-Whitewater or other UW-System libraries.
Locations: Call numbers preceded by Main are in the Main Collection (3rd floor) and those preceded by Ref are in the Reference Collection (2nd floor). Items without call numbers are online indexes and databases accessible from the Indexes & Databases Arranged by Subject: Humanities webpage, or by clicking on the linked title.
Indexes to Works of Fiction
Fiction Catalog vols. 5-9, 11-14 with supplements
Ref Z5916 .W62 -Olderr's Fiction Index
Ref PN3326 .O434x
Indexes to Short Stories
The Afro-American Short Story
Ref Z1229 .N39 Y36 1986p>Index to Science Fiction Anthologies and Collections vols. 1-2
Ref PS374 .S35 C6xThe Latin American Short Story: An Annotated Guide to Anthologies and Criticism
Ref Z1609.F4 B35 1992Short Story Index... (through 1993)
Ref Z5917 .S5 S55Short Story Index, Collections Indexed 1900-1978
Ref Z5917 .S5 S56LitFinder (FREE to Wisconsin Residents)
This database includes StoryFinder for short stories, as well as sections for other types of literature. To access, begin on the Andersen Library homepage, click on Find Articles, Statistics, then on F under Indexes & Databases in Alphabetical Order, and then on the database name.
Finding Biographies in the Library
To find books about authors of short stories, search the library catalog. Using the Basic Search (default option), select Subject Keyword from the menu by clicking on it. Click in the Search box and type in words from a subject, such as the author's name and the word biography. Click on . For example:
hemingway ernest biography
or select Keyword (use and, or not) from the menu and search for combinations of terms used in subject headings for a genre like "short stories American," "short stories English," "American fiction" or "English fiction," or categories like "Afro-American authors" or "women authors," with a chronological period like "19th century," "20th century," or "21st century" and a type of resource, such as "biography," "bio-bibliography" or "dictionaries." Enclose a phrase of two or more words between quotation marks. Combine multiple terms with Boolean operators (and, or, not). Click on . For example:
"short stories english" and "20th century" and biography
Biographical Dictionaries
American Short-Story Writers Before 1880
Ref PS374 .S5 A38 1988American Short-Story Writers, 1880-1910
Ref PS374 .S5 A39 1988American Short-Story Writers, 1910-1945
First Series Ref PS374 .S5 A396 1989
Second Series Ref S374 .S5 A3962 1991American Short-Story Writers Since World War II
[First Series] Ref PS374 .S5 A3964 1993
Second Series Ref PS374 .S5 A3964 2000
Third Series Ref PS374 .S5 A3965 2001
Fourth Series Ref PS374 .S5 A3966 2001Contemporary Fiction Writers of the South
Ref PS261 .C565 1993Reference Guide to Short Fiction
Ref PN3373 .R36 1994
SEE ALSO: Syllabus for Literary Research: 2. Biography of Authors.
Dictionaries of Literary Characters
Dictionary of Fictional Characters
Ref nbsp; PN56 .4 S49 1992Historical Figures in Fiction
Ref Z5917 .H6 H37 1994Larousse Dictionary of Literary Characters
Ref PR19 .L37 1994
Finding Literary Criticism & Bibliographies
To find books containing literary criticism or bibliographies citing literary resources, search the library catalog using the Basic Search (default option). Select Subject Keyword from the menu by clicking on it. Click in the textbox and type a subject heading. Click on . For example:
hemingway ernest criticism and interpretation
hemingway ernest bibliography
or select Keyword from the menu and search for combinations of terms used in subject headings for a genre like "short stories," "American fiction" or "English fiction," or categories like "Afro-American authors" or "women authors," with a chronological period like "19th century," "20th century," or "21st century" and either "history and criticism" or "bibliography." Enclose a phrase of two or more words between quotation marks. Combine multiple terms with Boolean operators (and, or, not). Click on . For example:
"short stories" and "19th century" and bibliography
"short stories american" and "history and criticism"
"afro american authors" and "short stories"
"women authors" and "short stories" and "19th century"
Excerpts from Literary Criticism
For excerpts from articles, essays or books containing literary criticism, search Gale's Literature Criticism Online. Perform a search by Named Author or Named Work (title). Most criticism will be available right there. If not available, look up a book series title in the library catalog to find the location and call number.
Encyclopedia
The Stanford Companion to Victorian Fiction
Ref PR871 .S87 1989
Summaries of Works of Fiction
Beacham's Popular Fiction in America vols. 1 - 4 and 1991 update vols. 1 - 2
Ref PS374 .P63 B43 1986-
MagillOnLiterature

This database from the EBSCOhost company contains all of Masterplots and Masterplots II, and several other books. Masterplots
Ref PN44 .M32
vol. 2 - American Fiction Series
vol. 3 - English Fiction Series
vol. 4 - European Fiction SeriesMasterplots II
African American Literature Series vols. 1 - 3 REF PS153 .N5 M2645 1994
American Fiction Series vols. 1 - 6 Ref PN846 .M37 1986
British and Commonwealth Fiction Series vols. 1 -4 Ref PR881 .M39 1987
Short Stories
-
Critical Survey of Short Fiction
[First ed.] vols. 1 - 7 & Ref PN3321 .C7
2nd rev. ed. vols. 1 - 7 Ref PN3321 .C7 2001 Masterplots II. Short Story Series vols. 1 - 10
Ref. PN3326 .M27 1986Reference Guide to Short Fiction
Ref PN3373 .R36 1994Twentieth-Century Short Story Explication: Interpretations, 1900-1975, of Short Fiction Since 1800 3rd ed. vols. I - V
Ref Z5917 .S5 W33 1977Twentieth-Century Short Story Explication: An Index to the Third Edition and its Five Supplements, 1961-1991
Ref PN3373 .S5 W332 1992Twentieth-Century Short Story Explication: New Series; with Checklists of Books and Journals Used vols. 1 - 3
Ref Z5917.S5 W35 1993
For assistance, contact a reference librarian at (262) 472-1032, by email or chat or in person at the Library's Reference Desk.
Last Revised: MS - 11/4/2009



