Syllabus for Literary Research: 5. Poetry |
![]() |
This guide lists selected titles of books and databases about poetry held by the UW-Whitewater Andersen Library. It is not a comprehensive list of available titles. Follow the examples under Finding Biographies and Finding Literary Criticism and Bibliographies below to find additional books held by the UW-Whitewater or other UW-System libraries.
Locations: Call numbers preceded by Main are in the Main Collection (3rd floor), those preceded by Ref are in the Reference Collection (2nd floor), and those preceded by Remote Storage must be retrieved by Circulation staff members. Items without call numbers are online indexes and databases accessible from the Indexes & Databases Arranged by Subject: Humanities webpage, or by clicking on the linked title.
Indexes to Poems
LitFinder (available to Wisconsin residents)
This database includes PoemFinder.The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Anthologies
9th ed. rev. - Ref PN1022 .G7 1990
10th ed. rev. - Ref PN1022 .H39 1994
11th ed. - Ref PN1022 .H39 1997The Columbia Granger's Guide to Poetry Anthologies
Ref PN6099 .K389 1991
Finding Biographies in the Library
To find books about poets, search HALcat, the library catalog. Select the Basic Search tab (default option), then select Subject Keyword from the menu by clicking on it. Click in the textbox and type words from a subject heading. Click on . For example:
dickinson emily biography
or select Keyword (use and, or, not) from the menu and search for combinations of terms used in subject headings for a genre like "American poetry" or "English poetry," a category like "poets American" or "poets English," "Afro-American authors," "Irish authors" or "women authors" with a chronological period like "early modern," "17th century," "18th century," "19th century," or "20th century" and a type of resource such as "biography" or "bio-bibliography." Enclose a phrase of two or more words between quotation marks. Combine multiple terms with Boolean operators (and, or, not). Click on . For example:
"poets american" and "19th century" and biography
Biographical Dictionaries
Contemporary poets
4th ed. - Main Z2014 .P7 C63 1985
7th ed. - Ref PR603 .C6 2001
SEE ALSO: Syllabus for Literary Research: 2. Biography of Authors.
Finding Literary Criticism and Bibliographies
To find books containing literary criticism or bibliographies citing literary resources, search HALcat, the library catalog. Select the Basic Search tab (default option), select Subject Keyword from the menu by clicking on it, click in the textbox and type words from aa subject heading. Click on . For example:
keats john criticism and interpretation
wordsworth william bibliography
or select Keyword (use and, or, not) from the menu and search for combinations of terms used in subject headings for a genre like "American poetry" or "English poetry," or a category like "poets American" or "poets English," "Afro-American authors," "Irish authors," or "women authors," with a chronological period like "early modern," "17th century," "18th century," "19th century," "20th century" or "21st century" and either "history and criticism" or "bibliography." Enclose a phrase of two or more words between quotation marks. Combine multiple terms with Boolean operators (and, or, not). Click on . For example:
"american poetry" and "women authors" and criticism
"english poetry" and "18th century" and bibliography
Excerpts from Literary Criticism
For excerpts from articles, essays or books containing literary criticism, search Gale's Literature Criticism Online
.
Perform a search by named author or work (title) to display the resulting references to the Gale series. Most of the criticism
will be fulltext in the database. For that which is not, search by Exact Title for the series titles in
HALcat, the Andersen library catalog, to find the location and call
number, except for volumes in the series Dictionary of Literary Biography, in which case search by Keyword
(use and, or, not) for:
"dictionary of literary biography" and [insert volume number here]
Gale series that focuses on poetry:
Poetry criticism
Ref PN1010 .P499
Encyclopedias
The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
Ref PN1021 .N39 1993Patterns of Poetry: an Encyclopedia of Forms
Main PN1042 .W514 1986
Summaries of Poems
Critical Survey of Poetry: English Language Series vols. 1-7
Remote Storage PN1111 .C7Critical Survey of Poetry: Foreign Language Series vols. 1-5
Remote Storage PN1111 .C72The Explicator Cyclopedia
vol. 1 - Modern Poetry
vol. 2 - Traditional Poetry: Medieval to Late Victorian
Ref PR401 .E9Guide to American Poetry Explication vols. 1-2
Ref Z1231 .P7 G85 1989Guide to British Poetry Explication vols. 1-4
Ref PR311 .P7 M34 1991MagillOnLiterature
(EBSCOhost)
This online database contains all of Masterplots, Masterplots II and Magill's Literary Annual as well as several other books.Masterplots: Poetry Series vol. 5
Remote Storage PN44 .M32Masterplots II: Poetry Series vols. 1-6
Remote Storage PN1110.5 .M37 1992- Poetry Explication: a Checklist of Interpretation Since 1925 of British and American Poems Past and Present 3rd ed.
Ref Z2014 .P7 K8 1980
For assistance, contact a reference librarian at (262) 472-1032, by email or chat or in person at the Library's Reference Desk.
Last Revised: MS - 11/12/2009




