Syllabus for Literary Research: 3. Fiction: Novels |
![]() |
This guide lists selected titles of books and databases about novels held by the UW-Whitewater Andersen Library. It is not a comprehensive list of available titles. Follow the examples under Finding Biographies and Finding Literary Criticism and Bibliographies below to find additional books held by the UW-Whitewater or other UW-System libraries.
Locations: Call numbers preceded by Main are in the Main Collection (3rd floor) and those preceded by Ref are in the Reference Collection (2nd floor). Items without call numbers are online indexes and databases accessible from the Indexes & Databases by Subject: Humanities webpage, or by clicking on the linked title.
Indexes to Works of Fiction
Fiction Catalog
Ref Z5916 .W62 vols. 5-9, 11-14 and suppls. 1951-1979, 1986-2002Olderr's Fiction Index
Ref PN3326 .O434x 1987
Finding Biographies in the Library
To find books about novelists, search the library catalog. Select the Basic Search tab (default). Then select Subject Keywords from the menu by clicking on it. Click in the textbox and type a subject heading. Click on . For example:
hemingway ernest biography
or select Keyword (use and, or, not) from the menu and search for combinations of terms used in subject headings for genres like "American fiction" or "English fiction," or categories like "novelists American" or "novelists English," "African American authors" or "women authors," with a chronological period like "19th century" or "20th century," and a type of resource, such as "biography" or "bio-bibliography." Enclose a phrase of two or more words between quotation marks. Combine multiple terms with Boolean operators (and, or, not). Click on . For example:
"novelists american" and "20th century" and biography
Biographical Dictionaries
African Writers
Ref PL8010 .A453 1997 vols. 1-2American Indian Novelists: An Annotated Critical Bibliography
Main PS153 .I52 C64xContemporary Fiction Writers of the South: A Bio-Bibliographical Sourcebook
Ref PS261 .C565 1993Contemporary Lesbian Writers of the United States: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook
Ref PS153 .L46 C65 1993Contemporary Novelists 3rd ed.
Ref PR883 .V55 1982Nineteenth-Century American Women Writers: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook
Ref PS217 .W64 N56 1997
SEE ALSO: Syllabus for Literary Research: 2. Biography of Authors.
Finding Literary Criticism and Bibliographies
To find books containing literary criticism or bibliographies citing literary resources, search the library catalog. Select the Basic Search tab (default). Then select Subject Keywords from the menu by clicking on it. Click in the textbox and type a subject heading. Click on . For example:
hemingway ernest criticism and interpretation
hemingway ernest bibliography
or select Keyword (use and, or, not) from the menu and search for combinations of terms used in subject headings for genres like "American fiction" or "English fiction," "historical fiction" or "science fiction," or categories like "African American authors" or "women authors," with a chronological period like "early modern," "18th century," "19th century" or "20th century," and either "history and criticism" or "bibliography." Enclose a phrase of two or more words between quotation marks. Combine multiple terms with Boolean operators (and, or, not). Click on . For example:
"english fiction" and "19th century" and "history and criticism"
"american fiction" and "20th century" and bibliography
"african american authors" and fiction and "history and criticism"
"women authors" and "american fiction" and bibliography
Encyclopedias
The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction
Ref PN3433.4 .E53 1993The Stanford Companion to Victorian Fiction
Ref PR871 .S87 1989
Dictionaries of Literary Characters
Dictionary of American Literary Characters
Ref PR374 .C43 D5 1990Dictionary of British Literary Characters
Main Oversize PR830 .C47 D5 1993- vol. 1 18th and 19th Century Novels
- vol. 2 20th Century Novels
Dictionary of Fictional Characters
Main PN56 .4 S49 1992Historical Figures in Fiction
Ref Z5917 .H6 H37 1994Larousse Dictionary of Literary Characters
Ref PR19 .L37 1994Plots and Characters in the Fiction of Eighteenth-Century English Authors vols. 1-2
Main PR858 .P53 J64 1977
Summaries of Works of Fiction
Beacham's Popular Fiction in America vols. 1-4
Ref PS374 .P63 B43 1986Beacham's Popular Fiction in America, 1991 Update
Ref PS374 .P63 B435 1991MagillOnLiterature Plus

This online database contains all of Masterplots and Masterplots II as well as several other books.Masterplots
Remote Storage PN44 .M33 1996Masterplots
Remote Storage PN44 .M32- vol. 2 - American Fiction Series
- vol. 3 - English Fiction Series
- vol. 4 - European Fiction Series
Masterplots II: African American Literature Series vols. 1-3
Remote Storage PS153 .N5 M2645 1994Masterplots II: American Fiction Series vols. 1-6
Remote Storage PN846 .M37 1986Masterplots II: British and Commonwealth Fiction Series vols. 1-4
Remote Storage PR881 .M39 1987
Novels
Critical Survey of Long Fiction: English Language Series vols. 1-8
Remote Storage PN3451 .C7English Novel Explication
Ref Z2014 .F5 P26
For assistance, contact a reference librarian at (262) 472-1032, by email or chat or in person at the Library's Reference Desk.
Last Revised: MS - 11/5/2009



