Syllabus for Literary Research: 1b. General Sources: Literary Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Histories & Summaries |
![]() |
This guide lists selected titles of books and databases held by the UW-Whitewater Andersen Library. It is not a comprehensive list of available titles. Search HALcat, the Andersen Library Catalog, to find additional books held by the UW-Whitewater or other UW-System libraries.
Locations: Call numbers preceded by Main are in the Main Collection (3rd floor), those preceded by Ref are in the Reference Collection (2nd floor), and those preceded by Remote Storage need to be retrieved by a Circulation staff member. Items without call numbers are online indexes and databases accessible from the Indexes & Databases Arranged by Subject: Humanities webpage, or by clicking on the linked title.
Literary Dictionaries or Encyclopedias
- Benét's Reader's Encyclopedia 4th ed.
Ref PN41 .B4 1996 - The Cambridge Guide to English Literature
Ref PR85 .C28 1983 - Encyclopedia of Literature and Criticism
Ref PN81 .E53 1991 - Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature
Ref PN41 .M42 1995 - The Oxford Companion to English Literature rev. ed.
Ref PR19 .D73 1995
Online Oxford Companion to English Literature 2009 - The Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Literature in English
Ref PR471 .O94 1996 - Reader's Guide to Literature in English
Main Oversize PR85 .R33 1996
American
- Benét's Reader's Encyclopedia of American Literature
Ref PS21 .B46 1991 - Dictionary of Native American Literature
Ref PM155 .D53 1994 - The Oxford Companion to American Literature 6th ed.
Ref PS21 .H3 1995
Online Oxford Companion to American Literature 2009 - The Oxford Companion to Women's Writing in the United States
Ref PS147 .O94 1995
British
- Companion to Scottish Literature
Ref PR8506 .R69 1983 - Dictionary of Irish Literature
Main PR8706 .D5 - The Oxford Companion to the Literature of Wales
Ref PB2361 .O94 1986
Glossaries of Literary Terms
- The Book of Literary Terms: the Genres of Fiction, Drama, Nonfiction, Literary Criticism, and Scholarship
Ref PN44.5 .T87 1999 - A Glossary of Contemporary Literary Theory 4th ed.
Ref PN44.5 .H37 2000 - Dictionary of Concepts in Literary Criticism and Theory
Ref PN41 .H36 1992 - A Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory 4th ed.
Ref PN41 .C83 1998 - Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory
Ref PN81 .E43 1993 - A Glossary of Literary Terms 6th ed.
Main PN41 .A184 1993 - A Handbook to Literature 5th ed.
Main PN41 .H6 1986 - The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Main PN81 .J554 1994
Summaries of Literary Works
- Literary Reference Center
(EBSCOhost)
This online database contains all of Masterplots, Masterplots II and Magill's Literary Annual as well as several other books. - Masterplots 2nd ed. rev.
Remote Storage PN44 .M33 1996 vols. 1-12 - Masterplots II: African American Literature Series
Remote Storage PS153 .N5 M2645 1994 vols. 1-3 - Masterplots II: American Fiction Series
Remote Storage PN846 .M37 1986 vols. 1-6 - Masterplots II: British and Commonwealth Fiction Series
Remote Storage PR881 .M39 1987 vols. 1-4 - Masterplots II: Drama Series
Remote Storage PN6112.5 .M37 1990 vols. 1-4 - Masterplots II: Poetry Series
Remote Storage PN1110.5 .M37 1992 vols. 1-6 - Masterplots II: Short Story Series
Remote Storage PN3326 .M27 1986 vols. 1-10 - Magill's Literary Annual
Ref Z1219 .M33 1977-2001 (see online resource above for more recent volumes) - Survey of Contemporary Literature: Updated Reprints of 2300 Essay-Reviews from Masterplots Annuals, 1954-1976 rev. ed.
Ref PN44 .M34 1977
Indexes to Summaries of Literary Works
- Magill Index to Critical Surveys: Cumulative Indexes 1981-1988
Ref Desk PN524 .M34 1990 - Magill Index to Masterplots: Cumulative Indexes 1963-1993
Remote Storage Z6511 .M252 1994 - Plot Summary Index 2nd ed. rev. and enl.
Ref Z6514 .P66 K64 1981
Dictionaries of Literary Characters
- Cyclopedia of Literary Characters
Remote Storage PN44 .M3 1963 - Cyclopedia of Literary Characters II
Remote Storage PN44 .M3 1990 vols. 1-4 - Dictionary of American Literary Characters
Ref PS374 .C43 D5 1990 - Larousse Dictionary of Literary Characters
Ref PR19 .L37 1994 - Literary Reference Center
(EBSCOhost)
This online database contains Cyclopedia of Literary Characters as well as several other books.
Literary Histories
American
- The Cambridge History of American Literature
Ref PS92 .C34 1994
- vol. 1 - 1590-1820
- vol. 2 - 1820-1865
- vol. 3 - Prose writing, 1860-1920
- vol. 4 - Nineteenth-century poetry, 1800-1910
- vol. 5 - Poetry and Criticism, 1900-1950
- vol. 6 - Prose Writing, 1910-1950
- vol. 7 - Prose Writing, 1940-1990
- vol. 8 - Poetry and Criticism, 1940-1990
- Literary History of the United States 3rd ed. rev.
Ref PS88 .L523- vol. 1 (history)
- vol. 2 (bibliography)
- bibliography suppl. II
British
- A New Critical History of Old English Literature
Main PR173 .G73 1986 - Oxford History of English Literature
Ref PR83 .O9
- vol. I pt. 1 - Middle English Literature
- vol. II pt. 1 - Chaucer and the Fifteenth Century
- vol. II pt. 2 - English Literature at the Close of the Middle Ages
- vol. III - English Literature in the Sixteenth Century Excluding Drama
- vol. IV - The English Drama, 1485-1585
- vol. VI (originally IV pt. 2) - English Drama 1586-1642: The Age of Shakespeare
- vol. V - English Literature in the Earlier Seventeenth Century, 1600-1660 2nd ed. rev.
- vol. VI - English Literature of the Late Seventeenth Century
- vol. VII - English Literature in the Early Eighteenth Century, 1700-1740
- vol. VIII - The Mid-Eighteenth Century
- vol. IX - English Literature, 1789-1815
- vol. X - English Literature, 1815-1832
- vol. XIII (originally XI pt. 1) - The Victorian Novel
- vol. XIV (originally XI pt. 2) - Victorian Poetry, Drama and Miscellaneous Prose, 1832-1890
- vol. XII - Eight Modern Writers
Other English Language or American
- The Making of the Australian Literary Imagination
Main PR9605.2 .N55 2002 - A History of Australian Literature
Main PR9604.3 .G6 1986 - A History of Canadian Literature
Ref PR9184.3 .N48x 1989 - History of Mexican Literature
Main PQ7111 .G62 1968 - Literary History of Canada: Canadian Literature in English
Main PR9111 .K4 - The Penguin New Literary History of Australia
Main PR9604.3 .P4 1988 - Spanish-American Literature; a History
Main PQ7081 .A56342 1969 vols. 1-2
For assistance, contact a reference librarian at (262) 472-1032, by email or chat or in person at the Library's Reference Desk.
Last Revised: MS - 2/23/2010




