Syllabus for Literary Research: 1a. General Sources: Literary Research Guides, Bibliographies and Indexes |
![]() |
This guide lists selected titles of books and databases about novels held by the UW-Whitewater Andersen Library. It is not a comprehensive list of available titles. Follow the examples under Finding Literary Criticism and Bibliographies below to find additional books held by the UW-Whitewater or other UW-System libraries.
Locations: Call numbers preceded by Main are in the Main Collection (3rd floor), those preceded by Ref are in the Reference Collection (2nd floor), and those preceded by Remote Storage must be retrieved by staff at the Circulation Desk. Items without call numbers are online indexes and databases accessible from the Indexes & Databases Arranged by Subject: Humanities webpage, or by clicking on the linked title.
Literary Research Guides
Methods
The Art of Literary Research 4th ed.
Main PR56 .A68 1993
Guides to Sources
Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies 4th ed.
Ref PR83 .H34 2008Reference Sources in English and American Literature: An Annotated Bibliography
Ref PR83 .S3Reference Works in British and American Literature
Ref Z2011 .B74 1990 vols. 1-2
American Literature
American Ethnic Literatures: Native American, African American, Chicano/Latino, and Asian American Writers and Their Backgrounds: An Annotated Bibliography
Ref Z1229 .E87 P43 1992American Indian Literatures: An Introduction, Bibliographic Review, and Selected Bibliography
Ref PM155 .R86 1990American Literature: A Study and Research Guide
Main Z1225 .L47American Women Writers: A Critical Reference Guide from Colonial Times to the Present
Ref PS147 .A4 vols. 1-5A Bibliographical Guide to the Study of Southern Literature
Ref Z1225 .R8Bibliographical Guide to the Study of the Literature of the U.S.A. 5th ed.
Ref Z1225 .G6 1984Chicano Literature: A Reference Guide
Main PS153 .M4 C46 1985Guide to American Literature
Main PS88 .F46xNew Immigrant Literatures In The United States: A Sourcebook to Our Multicultural Literary Heritage
Ref PS153. M56 N475 1996
Finding Literary Criticism and Bibliographies in the Library
To find books containing literary criticism or bibliographies citing literary resources, search the HALcat, the Andersen Library Catalog. Select the Basic Search tab (default option). Then select Subject Keywords from the menu by clicking on it. Click in the textbox and type a subject heading or words from one. Click on . For example:
twain mark bibliography
joyce james criticism and interpretation
or select Keyword (use and, or, not) from the menu and search for combinations of terms used in subjects for genres such as "American fiction" or "English fiction," "historical fiction" or "science fiction," or categories like "African American authors" or "women authors," with a chronological period like "early modern," "18th century," "19th century" or "20th century," and either "history and criticism" or "bibliography." Enclose a phrase of two or more words between quotation marks. Combine multiple terms with Boolean operators (and, or, not). Click on . For example:
"american literature" and "women authors" and criticism
"english literature" and "20th century" and bibliography
Excerpts from Literary Criticism
For excerpts from articles, essays or books containing literary criticism, search Gale's Literature Criticism Online. Perform a search by Named Author or Work (title), display the resulting references to the Gale series and click to get the fulltext of the excerpts. For entries that are not fulltext online, search by Exact Title for the series title in HALcat, the Andersen Library Catalog, to find the location and call number, except for volumes in the series Dictionary of Literary Biography, in which case search by Keyword (use and, or, not) for "dictionary of literary biography" and [insert volume number here].
Some other sources of criticism:
African American Literary Criticism, 1773 to 2000
Ref PS153.N5 A33 1999 vols. 1-2Black Literature Criticism
Ref PS153 .N5 B556 1992 vols. 1-3 and suppl.Hispanic Literature Criticism
Ref PQ7081 .A1 H573 1994 vols. 1-2
Abstracts and Indexes
SEE ALSO: Indexes & Databases Arranged by Subject: Humanities.
General Humanities Indexes
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science)

Humanities Full Text (WilsonWeb)

SEE ALSO: Humanities Index 1 (1974/75)-17(1990/91) and
Social Sciences and Humanities Index 1 (1907/15)-27 (1973-74)
Note: Titles on vols. 1-18 begin with "International Index..."
RefHumanities International Complete (EBSCOhost)

JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II & III Collection
-archive of back issues of scholarly journalsProject Muse
-
recent issues of scholarly journals online
Literary Indexes
American Literary Scholarship
American Literary Scholarship Online (2000 - presentAnnual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
Remote Storage Z2011 .M69 38 (1963)-67 (1992)Articles on American Literature, ...
Ref Z1225 .L49 1900-1950
Ref Z1225 .L492 1950-1967
Ref Z1225 .L492 1979 1968-1975Literary Criticism Index 2nd ed.
Ref PN523 .W44 1994MagillOnLiterature Plus (EBSCOhost)

This online database contains Magill Book Reviews as well as several other books.Magill's Bibliography of Literary Criticism
Remote Storage Z6511 .M25 vols. 1-4MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost)

The Year's Work in English Studies
Remote Storage PE58 .E6 28 (1947)-31 (1950), 38 (1957), 40 (1959), 42 (1961)-75 (1994)
For assistance, contact a reference librarian at (262) 472-1032, by email or chat or in person at the Library's Reference Desk.
Last Revised: MS - 11/12/2009



