Syllabus for Literary Research:6. Drama |
![]() |
This guide lists selected titles of books and databases about drama held by the UW-Whitewater Andersen Library. It is not a comprehensive list of available titles. Follow the examples under Finding Biographies in the Library and Finding Literary Criticism and Bibliographies below to find additional books held by the UW-Whitewater or other UW-System libraries.
Locations: Call numbers preceded by Main are in the Main Collection (3rd floor) and those preceded by Ref are in the Reference Collection (2nd floor). Items without call numbers are online indexes and databases accessible from the Indexes & Databases Arranged by Subject: Humanities webpage, or by clicking on the linked title.
Indexes to Plays
Index to Plays in Periodicals
Ref Z5781 .K43 1979Index to Plays in Periodicals 1977-1987
Ref Z5781 .K43 1990Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections: An Author and Title Index to Plays Appearing in Collections Published Between 1900 and 1985 7th ed.
Ref PN1655 .O8 1988Play Index
Ref Z5781 .P53 1949/52-1998/2002Plays in Periodicals: An Index to English Language Scripts in Twentieth Century Journals
Ref Z5781 .P3
Finding Biographies in the Library
To find books about authors of playwrights, actors and others in theater, search the library catalog. Select the Basic Search tab (default). Then select Subject Keywords from the menu by clicking on it. Click in the textbox and type a subject heading, or keywords from one. Click on . Often searches including the author's name and the word biography are productive. For example:
shakespeare william biography
or select Keyword (use and, or, not) from the menu and search for combinations of terms used in subject headings for a genre like "American drama" or "English drama," a topic like "theater," or a category like "dramatists American" or "dramatists English," "African American dramatists" or "women dramatists" with a chronological period like "early modern," "Restoration," "17th century," "18th century," "19th century," "20th century," or "21st century" and the type of resource, "biography" or "bio-bibliography. " Enclose a phrase of two or more words between quotation marks. Combine multiple terms with Boolean operators (and, or, not). Click on . For example:
"dramatists american" and "20th century" and biography
Biographical Dictionaries
American Playwrights, 1880-1945: A Research and Production Sourcebook
Ref Z1231 .D7 A52 1995Contemporary Dramatists
1st ed. Main PR106 .V5
4th ed. Ref PR737 .C57 1988Who Was Who in the Theatre, 1912-1976: Biographical Dictionary of Actors, Actresses, Directors, Playwrights, and Producers of the English-Speaking Theatre
Main PN2597 .W52 vols. 1-4
SEE ALSO: Syllabus for Literary Research: 2. Biography of Authors.
Finding Literary Criticism and Bibliographies
To find books containing literary criticism or bibliographies citing literary resources, search the library catalog. Select the Basic Search tab (default). Then select Subject Keywords from the menu by clicking on it. Click in the textbox and type a subject heading. Click on . For example:
shakespeare william criticism and interpretation
shakespeare william bibliography
or select Keyword (use and, or, not) from the menu and search for combinations of terms used in subject headings for a genre like "American drama" or "English drama," a topic like "theater," or a category like "African American authors," "Irish authors" or "women authors," with a chronological period like "early modern," "Restoration," "17th century," "18th century," "19th century," "20th century," or "21st century" and either "history and criticism" or "bibliography." Enclose a phrase of two or more words between quotation marks. Combine multiple terms with Boolean operators (and, or, not). Click on . For example:
"american drama" and "20th century" and bibliography
"english drama" and "irish authors" and "history and criticism"
Indexes of Literary Criticism
American Drama Criticism... 2nd ed.
Ref Z1231 .D7 P3 1979 and suppls. 1-3
Ref Z1231 .D7 P3 1996 suppl. 4Drama Criticism
Ref Z1231 .D7 C6 vols. 1-2Drama Criticism
Ref PN1655 .D73 vols. 1-31
Drama Criticism online from Literature Criticism OnlineA Guide to Critical Reviews
- 1st ed. Remote Storage Z5782 .S342 1966
- pt. 4, vols. 1-2 - The Screenplay, From The Jazz Singer to Dr. Strangelove
- 2nd ed. Remote Storage Z5782 .S342 1973
- pt. 2 - The Musical, 1909-1974
- pt. 3 - Foreign Drama, 1909-1977
- pt. 4 - The Screenplay, Supplement One: 1963-1980
- 3rd ed. Remote Storage Z5781 .S16 1984
- pt. 1 - American Drama, 1909-1982
- pt. 2 - The Musical, 1909-1989
- 1st ed. Remote Storage Z5782 .S342 1966
Modern Drama: A Checklist of Critical Literature on 20th Century Plays
Remote Storage Z5781 .A35Shakespearean Criticism: Excerpts from the Criticism of William Shakespeare's Plays and Poetry, from the First Published Appraisals to Current Evaluations vols. 1-115
Ref PR2965 .S43 1984
Shakespearean Criticism online from Literature Criticism Online
Excerpts from Literary Criticism
For excerpts from articles, essays or books containing literary criticism, search Gale's Literature Criticism Online. Perform a search by named author or work (title) to display the resulting references to the Gale series. Most of the criticism and biographical entries will be fulltext in the database. For that which is not, search by Exact Title for the series titles in HALcat, the Andersen library catalog, to find the location and call number, except for volumes in the series Dictionary of Literary Biography, in which case search by Keyword (use and, or, not) for:
"dictionary of literary biography" and [insert volume number here].
-
Drama Criticism vols. 1-18
Ref PN1655 .D73
Drama Criticism online from Literature Criticism Online Shakespearean Criticism: Excerpts from the Criticism of William Shakespeare's Plays and Poetry, from the First Published Appraisals to Current Evaluations all volumes
Ref PR2965 .S43 1984
Shakespearean Criticism online from Literature Criticism Online
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
-
The Cambridge Guide to Theatre New ed.
Ref PN2035 .C27 1995 The Oxford Companion to the Theatre 4th ed.
Ref PN2035 .O9 1983
American
American Theatre Companies, 1931-1986
Ref PN2266 .A54 1989Cambridge Guide to American Theatre
Ref PN2220 .C35 1993The Encyclopedia of the American Theatre, 1900-1975
Ref PN2266 .B68The Oxford Companion to American Theatre
Main (2nd ed.) and Ref (1st ed.) PN2220 .B6
Summaries of Plays
American Theatre: A Chronicle of Comedy and Drama vol. 1 (1869-1914), 2 (1914-1930) & 3 (1930-1969)
Ref PN2266 .B66 1994Critical Survey of Drama. English Language Series vols. 1-6
Ref PR625 .C74x 1985Critical Survey of Drama: Foreign Language Series vols. 1-6
Ref PN1625 .C74 1986Drury's Guide to Best Plays 4th ed.
Ref Z5781 .D8 1987MagillOnLiterature Plus (EBSCOhost)

This online database contains all of Masterplots and Masterplots II as well as several other books.Masterplots vol. 1 (Drama Series)
Ref PN44 .M32Masterplots II: Drama Series vols. 1-4
Ref PN6112.5 .M37 1990
For assistance, contact a reference librarian at (262) 472-1032, by email or chat or in person at the Library's Reference Desk.
Last Revised: MS - 11/6/2009



