Syllabus for Literary Research: 2. Biography of Authors |
![]() |
|
This guide lists selected titles of books and databases containing biographical entries held by the UW-Whitewater Andersen Library. It is not a comprehensive list of available titles. Follow the examples under Finding Biographies below to find additional books held by the UW-Whitewater or other UW-System libraries.
Locations: Call numbers preceded by Main are in the Main Collection (3rd floor) and those preceded by Ref are in the Reference Collection (2nd floor). Items without call numbers are online indexes and databases accessible from the Indexes & Databases Arranged by Subject: Humanities webpage, or by clicking on the linked title.
Finding Biographies
To find books about an author's life, search the HALcat the Andersen library catalog. Select the Basic Search (default option), then select Subject Keyword from the menu by clicking on it. Click in the textbox and type a subject heading. Click on . For example:
twain mark biography
or select Keyword (use and, or not) from the menu and search for combinations of terms used in subject headings for a genre like "American literature," "American poetry" or "English literature," or categories like "Afro-American authors," "Irish authors," "poets English" or "women authors," with a chronological period like "early modern," "17th century," "19th century" or "21st century" and the type of resource such as "biography" or "bio-bibliography." Enclose a phrase of two or more words between quotation marks. Combine multiple terms with Boolean operators (and, or, not). Click on . For example:
"women authors" and "20th century" and biography
Biographical Dictionaries
General Biography
SEE: Guide to Locating Biographical Information
Literary Biography: Gale Publishing Company
For information about the life and work of a literary author, search Gale's Literature Criticism Online. Perform a search for Named Author. Most of the biographies will be there full text. For those that are not, do and Exact title search in HALcat, the library catalog, for the book series title .
Dictionary of Literary Biography
The volumes in this series do not share the same call number or title and are not shelved together in the Reference Collection. To locate a volume search HALcat. Using the Basic Search (default option), select Keyword (use and, or, not) from the menu. Click in the textbox and type the following combination of terms including the cited volume number. Enclose a phrase of two or more words between quotation marks. Combine multiple terms with Boolean operators (and, or, not). Click on . For example:dictionary and "literary biography" and 11
Black Literature Criticism
Ref PS153 .N5 B556 1992Contemporary Authors

This is also available in print:Contemporary Authors; a Bio-bibliographical Guide to Current Authors and Their Works vols. 1 - 44
Ref Z1224 .C59Contemporary Authors; a Bio-bibliographical Guide to Current Writers in Fiction, General Nonfiction, Poetry, Journalism, Drama, Motion Pictures, Television and Other Fields. vols. 1 - 164
Ref Z1224 .C6Other Contemporary Authors series:
Autobiography Series vols. 1 - 29
Ref Z1224 .C64xNew Revision Series vols. 1 - 68
Ref Z1224 .C63xPermanent Series vols. 1 - 2
Ref Z1010 .C65Contemporary Literary Criticism vols. 1 - 165
Ref PN771 .C59Drama Criticism vols. 1 - 18
Ref PN1655 .D73Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800
Ref PN86 .L56Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism vols. 1 - 118
Ref PN761 .N5Poetry Criticism: Excerpts from Criticism of the Works of the Most Significant and Widely Studied Poets of World Literature vols. 1 - 44
Ref PN1010 .P499Short Story Criticism
Ref PN3373 .S386 vols. 1 - 56Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism vols. 1 - 129
Ref PN94 .T83x
Literary Biography: Other Sources
General
A Guide to Twentieth Century Literature in English
Main PR471 .G78 1983
American
Afro-American Writers
Main Z1361 .N39 T78 1970aAfro-American Writers...
Main Oversize PS153 .N5 A...American Nature Writers vols. 1 - 2
Ref PS163 .A6 1996American Writers Before 1800: A Biographical and Critical Dictionary
Ref PS185 .A4 1983A Bibliographical Guide to the Study of Southern Literature
Ref Z1225 .R8Black American Writers Past and Present: A Biographical and Bibliographical Dictionary vols. 1 - 2
Ref Z1229 .N39 R87Fifty Western Writers: A Bio-bibliographical Sourcebook
Main PS271 .F5 1982Index to Black American Writers in Collective Biographies
Ref Z1229 .N39 C35 1983Southern Writers: A Biographical Dictionary
Main PS261 .S59 and Ref PS261 .S59Twentieth-Century American Western Writers (four series)
Ref PS271 .T84 1982, Main Oversize PS271 .T8 1999, Main Oversize PS271 .T83 1999, and Main Oversize PS271 .T833 2002
British
A Biographical Dictionary of Irish Writers
Ref PR8727 .B5 1985A Biographical Dictionary of Renaissance Poets and Dramatists, 1520-1650
Ref PR421 .S33 1983Companion to Scottish Literature
Ref PR8506 .R69 1983The Oxford Companion to Irish Literature
Ref PR8706 .O88 1996
Women
American Women Writers: A Critical Reference Guide from Colonial Times to the Present
Ref PS147 .A4 vols. 1 - 5Contemporary Lesbian Writers of the United States: A Bio-bibliographical Critical Sourcebook
Ref PS153 .L46 C65 1993A Dictionary of British and American Women Writers, 1660-1800
Ref PR113 .D5 1985The Feminist Companion to Literature in English: Women Writers from the Middle Ages to the Present
Ref PR111 .F45 1990bNineteenth-Century American Women Writers: A Bio-bibliographical Critical Sourcebook
Ref PS217 .W64 N56 1997
For assistance, contact a reference librarian at (262) 472-1032, by email or chat or in person at the Library's Reference Desk.
Last Revised: MS - 11/4/2009



