How to use the Kraus Curriculum Development Library
Introduction
The Kraus Curriculum Development Library (KCDL) is a searchable database of curricula, frameworks, and standards that brings together educational objectives, content, instructional strategies, and evaluative techniques for all subjects covered in PreK-12 and Adult Basic Education. The entire KCDL index is available online with some full text for documents from the 20th (2001) edition to present.
The KCDL index is also on CD-ROM, which is available at the Reference Desk in Andersen Library. A shelflist for certain editions of the KCDL is also available in the Curriculum Guide section of the Curriculum Collection at the call number LB 1570.F4x.
Logging On/Off
To log on, begin at the Andersen Library home page. Click on the link to Find Articles, Statistics. Then *either* click on Education under Indexes & Databases by Subject and scroll down to find Kraus Curriculum Development Library *or* click on the letter K under Indexes & Databases in Alphabetical Order. Click on the database title to enter.
Access to the KCDL is restricted to UW-Whitewater faculty, staff and students. Off-Campus access requires UW-W login. Instructions and help for off campus access can be found at remote.xml.
To exit the database, click on the "Logout" button in the KCDL banner.
Searching
The KCDL provides two types of searching: Keyword and Advanced.
Keyword Search
Enter a word or a phrase to search anywhere in the record. Boolean operators may be employed (see Search Techniques below). All fields are searched in this search option.
Advanced Search
Use the Advanced Search to search specific fields in a record. The fields included are:
- Title/Annotation
- Primary section
- Subject
- Educational content
- Grade level
- Issuing Agency
- State
- Country
- Publication year
- KCDL edition
KCDL provides an explanation for most fields by linking the name of the field to a definition. Most fields provide a selection box of terms and allow multiple selection of terms.
To the right of the selection boxes are drop down menus that facilitate Boolean searching.
Search Techniques
The following suggestions apply to the Keyword Search and the Title/Annotation box of the Advanced Search.
- Use quotation marks to denote a phrase
- Example: "character education"
- Use an asterisk * to truncate
- Example: math* (finds math, maths, mathematic, mathematics, mathematical, etc.)
- Use Boolean operators AND and OR to combine terms.
- Examples:
- "middle school" and math*
- "social studies" or "social science"
- Examples:
- The KCDL does not support the use of NOT or AND NOT as a Boolean operators.
- Example: biology not "high school"
- The KCDL does not support nested terms using parentheses.
- Example: ("middle school" or "junior high") and math*
Results
Results are organized by Primary Section (topic), then Issuing Agency Name and then by Title. Click on the Title to view details about a document.
Locating Materials
To locate a document, click on the Title in the Results list and locate the Document Number within the detailed record. If the document is available in PDF full text format or on the issuing agency's website, links for these options will be found here. PDF full text is available from the 20th (2001) edition of the KCDL to present. Click on the page icon to open the PDF.
If the document is not available by PDF full text or by an external link, only the Document Number will be listed. Use this number to locate the document in microfiche, located in the Curriculum Guide section of the Reference Collection.
Printing/Saving/Emailing
KCDL does not have printing/saving/emailing capabilities through the database. However, individual records can be printed using the print button in the browser window. PDF full text documents can be printed and/or saved using these options through Adobe Acrobat.
Open KCDL
Click to open the Kraus Curriculum Development Library - Off-Campus access requires UW-W login.
KCDL Help
For assistance when using KCDL, click on the HELP link on the black toolbar to see the help pages provided by the database.
For further assistance in locating teaching resources, use the Guide to Locating Teaching Resources in the Library user guide at http://library.uww.edu/guides/eduteach.htm.



