Guide to Locating Intercultural Communication Information
This guide lists some of the most useful materials on intercultural communication in the University Library, both in print and electronic formats. Tips for locating additional resources are included.
Books
To find additional books, videos, government documents, etc. on intercultural communication, use the library catalog. On the Basic Search display, Search By is the default. Type a search in the Search For textbox using some of the suggested keywords and phrases at the end of this guide, and/or other terms you have come across in your research. Enclose a phrase of two or more words between quotation marks. Combine multiple terms with Boolean operators (and, or, not). Click on to retrieve a list of citations. For example:
women and "body language"
Business Books
- [Name of country] Business: The Portable Encyclopedia for Doing Business with [name of country].
Note: Put name of country listed below in place of [name of country] for complete book title.Locations & Call Numbers for Books in This Series: Name of Country
Location & Call Number
Argentina Reference Collection HC 175.A844 1996 Australia Reference Collection HC 605.A7736 1996 China Reference Collection HC 427 .92 C4636 1994 Hong Kong Reference Collection HC 470.3 .H6655 1994 Japan Reference Collection HF3827 .J37 1994 Korea Reference Collection HC 467 .S216 1994 Mexico Reference Collection HC135 .N64 1994 (the) Philippines Reference Collection HC 455 .P5273 1996 Singapore Reference Collection HC 445.8.S543 1994 Taiwan Reference Collection HC 430 .5 .T3375 1994 - Chinese Business Negotiating Style. Tony Fang.
Main Collection HD58.6 .F36 1999 - Doing Business in [name of country]
Search by keyword in catalog to find additional books in this series.Locations & Call Numbers for Some Books in This Series: Name of Country
Location & Call Number
Antigua and Barbuda Main Collection KGK32.6.B87 D65 Brunei Darussalam Main Collection KNK7.3.B67 D65 Bulgaria Main Collection KJM1051 .D65 the Czech and Slovak Republics Main Collection KJP78.B86 D66 Israel Main Collection KMK78.B87 D65 the Republic of Korea Main Collection KPA78.B67 D65 the Russian Federation Main Collection KLA78.B67 D65 St. Lucia Main Collection KGW3032.6.B87 D65 - Do's and Taboos of International Trade: A Small Business Primer. Roger E. Axtell. 1994
Main Collection HF1379 .A96 1994 - Do's and Taboos Around the World for Women in Business. Roger E. Axtell ...(et al) 1997
Main Collection G156.5.B86 D67 1997 - International Advertising: Communicating Across Cultures. Barbara Mueller. 1996
Main Collection HF5823 .M83 1996 - International Business Etiquette. [name of region]: What You Need to Know to Conduct Business Abroad with Charm and Savvy. Ann Marie Sabath.
Regions & Call Numbers for Some Books in This Series: Name of Region
Location & Call Number
Latin America Main Collection HF5389.3.L3 S22 2000 Europe Main Collection HF5389.3.E85 S23 1999 Asia & the Pacific Rim Main Collection HF5389.3.A78 S23 1999 - Kiss, Bow or Shake Hands: How to do Business in Sixty Countries.
Reference Collection HF5389 .M67 1994 - The Management of a Multicultural Workforce. Monir H. Tayeb.
Main Collection HF5549.5.M5 T39 1996 - Put Your Best Foot Forward, Europe: A Fearless Guide to International Communication and Behavior. Mary Murray Bosrock.
Reference Collection F2211 .B67 1997 - Put Your Best Foot Forward, South America: A Fearless Guide to International Communication and Behavior. Mary Murray Bosrock.
Reference Collection D909 .B67 1995 - The Transplanted Executive: Why You Need to Understand How Workers in Other Countries See the World Differently. P. Christopher Earley and Miriam Erez. 1997
Main Collection HD62 .4 .E24 1997
General Books
- Breaking the Ice: A Guide to Understanding People from Other Cultures. Daisy Kabagarama. 2nd ed. 1997
Main Collection GN345.6 .K33 1997 - Bridging Differences: Effective Intergroup Communication. William B. Gudykunst. 3rd ed. 1998.
Main Collection HM258 .G838 1998 - Cultural Communication and Intercultural Contact. Edited by Donal Carbaugh. 1990
Main Collection P91 .C85 1990 - Communication and Identity across Cultures. Edited by Dolores V. Tanno, Alberto Gonzalez. 1998
Main Collection HM258 .I528 v. 21 - Communicating with Asia: Understanding People and Customs. Harry Irwin. 1996
Main Collection HM258 .I79 1996 - Cross-Cultural Communication and Aging in the United States. Edited by Hana S. Noor Al-Deen. 1997
Main Collection HQ1064 .U5 C77 1997 - Culturgrams: The Nations Around Us. 1998-99 ed.
Reference Collection GT150 .C85 1998 - Do's and Taboos Around the World. Edited by Roger E. Axtell. 1993
Main Collection HF 5387 .D66 1993 - Do's and Taboos of Humor Around the World: Stories and Tips of Business and Life. Roger E. Axtell. 1999
Main Collection PN6162 .A96 1999 - Intercultural Communication: An Introduction. Fred E. Jandt. 2nd ed. 1998
Main Collection GN345 .J43 1998 - Intercultural Interactions: A Practical Guide. Kenneth Cushner and Richard W. Brislin. 2nd ed. 1996
Main Collection GN496 .I57 1996 - Multicultural Manners: New Rules of Etiquette for a Changing Society. Norine Dresser. 1996
Reserve - pick up at Circulation Desk
Videos
- A World of Differences: Understanding Cross-Cultural Communication. Created and produced by Dane Archer; directed and photographed by Jon Silver. 1997
Center Video Collection GN345.6 .W6 1997 - I'm Normal, You're Weird: Understanding Other Cultures. Stage Fright Productions; writer, Jeffrey Schrank. 1998
Center Video Collection HM258 .I5 1998 - Valuing Diversity. Produced by Copeland Griggs Productions. 1990
Center Video Collection HM5549.5 .A43 V35 1987 - Valuing Diversity: Multi-Cultural Communication. Director David Phyfer. 1995
Center Video Collection HM258 .V35 1995 - Deaf Culture Lecture: An Inside View. Instructor, Nathie Marbury; voice interpreter, Janet Maxwell.
Center Video Collection HV2390 .D427 1996
Articles in Journals, Magazines & Newspapers
To find citations for periodical articles published since about 1983, and the full text of articles published since about 1992, use an online article index or database. Some databases index and have the full text of articles older than these dates, however, if you are looking for older articles, you may need to use one of the library's print indexes. For assistance with print indexes, ask at the Reference Desk.
Indexes & Databases
The University Library has over 150 online indexes and databases which may be used to locate periodical articles on a variety of topics. Below is a selection with which to begin. Indexes and databases accessed through the same system may be searched simultaneously. In a database, type a search in the textbox(es) provided using some of the suggested keywords and phrases at the end of this guide, and/or other terms you have come across in your research. Search tips vary among the database systems, so read the How to Use guide, help or tips provided. In most indexes and databases, enclose a phrase of two or more words between quotation marks. Also in most, combine multiple terms with Boolean operators (and, or, not). For access these and more indexes and databases, go to the Articles in Journals, Magazines and Newspapers webpage.
Database |
Access Provided Through |
|---|---|
| Sociological Abstracts | Cambridge Scientific Abstracts |
| Academic Search Elite | EbscoHost |
| Business Source Elite | EbscoHost |
| Communication & Mass Media Complete | EbscoHost |
| ERIC | EbscoHost |
| Masterfile Premier | EbscoHost |
| Academic | LexisNexis |
| ABI/Inform Global | ProQuest |
| Ethnic NewsWatch | ProQuest |
| GenderWatch | ProQuest |
| Business Full Text | WilsonWeb |
| OmniFile Full Text Mega | WilsonWeb |
| Readers' Guide Full Text | WilsonWeb |
| Social Sciences Full Text | WilsonWeb |
Keywords & Phrases
age differences |
manners and customs |
| body language | multicultural and communication |
| business etiquette | multiculturalism |
| corporate culture | neurolinguistics |
| confucian ethics | paralinguistics/paralanguage |
| cross-cultural communication | pluralism |
| cross-cultural studies | public relations |
| cultural and assumptions | public relations international aspects |
| cultural diversity | social conditions |
| cultural relations | social conflict |
| culture/ethnicity | social life and customs |
| customs/traditions | speech communication |
| ethnic | translating and interpreting |
| intercultural and communication |
Remember add AND [name of country, region or ethnic group] or additional keywords or phrases for narrower search results. For example:
"cultural diversity" and france
"public relations" and "latin america"
For assistance, contact a reference librarian at (262) 472-1032, by email or chat or in person at the Library's Reference Desk.
Last Revised: MS - 8/16/2007


