Finding Primary Source Materials for History
When doing historical research, it is important to distinguish between primary and secondary sources:
Primary sources are written by people who have direct knowledge of the events or issues under discussion: they were participants in or observers of those events. . . . Authors of secondary sources have indirect knowledge, only. They rely on primary or other secondary sources for their information.
(Rosen, Leonard J., and Laurence Behrens. The Allyn & Bacon Handbook. 3rd ed. Needham Heights, MA: Allyn & Bacon, 1997. 574.)
Examples of primary source materials are
- diaries
- letters
- interviews
- speeches
- photographs
- census records
- newspaper or magazine articles written at the time an event occurred.
Not every one of the above materials is always a primary source; each item must be considered individually.
For information on finding secondary sources for history, see the Finding Secondary Source Materials for History user guide.
Searching in the Library Catalog
To find primary source materials in resources such as books or videos in Andersen Library, search the Library's online catalog. To find articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers, see the Finding Articles section below. To find government documents, see the Government Documents section below.
Subject Searching
Library of Congress Subject Headings are assigned to items in the catalog to denote the major topic(s) covered by an individual item. Subject headings for historical topics can be quite complex, and are not always what you might think (e.g., the Civil War is listed as United States History Civil War, 1861-1865).
To find a relevant subject heading, do a Keyword search in the online catalog on your topic; a keyword search will look for your terms anywhere in a catalog record. Then, look at the subject headings in the retrieved records. Click on the heading you wish to explore, and then click the heading again in the alphabetical listing that appears. You will then see all of the records that use that subject heading.
You can also conduct a Subject search in the online catalog. To conduct a Subject search, choose Subject in the Search by dropdown box on the Advanced Search screen. In the Search box, type either a Library of Congress Subject Heading, such as:
holocaust jewish (1939-1945) personal narratives
and choose all of these in the dropdown box to search for all of these search terms (in any order)
or, type in one or two keywords that describe your subject, such as:
holocaust narratives
and choose all of these in the dropdown box.
After clicking Search, you will see a list of search results, all containing subject headings with your keywords. To view a record's subject headings, open the record. Click on the heading you wish to explore, and then click the heading again in the listing that appears. You will then see all of the records that use that subject heading.
You can also look in the Library of Congress Subject Headings volumes (located at the Reference Desk) for headings to use, or ask a reference librarian to help you find a suitable subject heading for your topic.
Keyword Searching
To conduct a Keyword search in the online catalog, choose Keyword Anywhere in the Search by dropdown box on the Advanced Search screen. In the first Search box, type one or more search terms that define your topic. Choose all of these in the next dropdown box to search for all of the search terms (in any order), any of these to search for any of the terms, or as a phrase to search for your terms in a specific order. In the next search box, type a term used in subject headings for primary sources, such as
- diaries
- correspondence
- interviews
- sources
- personal narratives
Again, make your selections in the dropdown boxes. Combine the search boxes with the and operator to find records that contain the terms from both search boxes.
Finding Articles
The Library has journals, magazines, and newspapers that go back many decades. Articles from newspapers and magazines written at the time an event occurred can be a good source of primary information. For details on finding citations for older articles, see the Print Periodical Indexes section below. See also the Finding Historical Newspaper Articles in Andersen Library user guide.
Most older issues of periodicals are available only in print, microfilm, or microfiche. Looking up a periodical title in Citation Linker on the Library's web site will tell you whether a particular title is available through the Library and for what dates, as well as the format(s) available. When using Citation Linker, always include at least the year of the periodical that you are seeking, if at all possible. The format of a periodical may vary depending on the year needed. Some examples of older periodicals and their formats in the Library are:
- Ladies' Home Journal: Formats: current issues available in print until microform received; older issues available on microfiche (1975- ), in print (1902-1974), and on microfilm as part of APS (June 1889-Nov. 1907)
- Life: Format varies between electronic, print, microfilm, and microfiche (1936-1972; 1978-2000)
Print Periodical Indexes
To find citations for articles in issues of periodicals published before the early 1980s, you will usually need to use a print index (see sample page). The print indexes below are located in the Reference Indexes stacks on the main floor of the Library unless otherwise indicated.
- American Periodicals, 1741-1900: An Index to the Microfilm Collections
The index for this series is located on top of the cabinets containing the microfilm in the Periodicals Microform Room on the first floor. - Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906)
- 19th Century Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (1890-1899)
- Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (1900-1985)
- Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1907-Mar. 1974) (vols. 1-18 are titled International Index to Periodicals)
- Humanities Index (Apr. 1974-Mar. 1985)
- Social Sciences Index (Apr. 1974-Mar. 1985)
- The Wall Street Journal Index (1958-1973)
The index for this newspaper is located on top of the cabinets containing the microfilm in the Periodicals Microform Room on the first floor.
To find out whether the Library has access to a particular periodical--either in print, microform, or online--or to find out in what format(s) a periodical is available, search Citation Linker. Articles in periodicals not owned by the Library may be obtained through interlibrary loan.
Some of the print indexes above are continued in an online format and these online indexes may be used to find more recent articles. Online indexes and databases may be found on the Library's Articles in Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers web page.
Online Periodical Indexes and Databases
Online periodical indexes that contain at least some full-text documents are often referred to as databases. Some Andersen Library databases are particularly useful for finding primary source material, such as diaries and letters. For example:
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries (Alexander Street Press) -

- Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment (Alexander Street Press) -

- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories (Alexander Street Press) -

- North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial to 1950 (Alexander Street Press) -

Other databases provide access to historical books, newspaper articles, pamphlets, and more. For example:
- Early English Books Online
(Chadwyck-Healy) -

Access to "virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700." Subjects include, but are not limited to, English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, and the fine arts. -
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale) -

The Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides access to the digital images of every page of thousands of books published between 1701 and 1800. Subjects include history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more. - Gerritsen Collection - Women's History
Online, 1543-1945 -

Also known as The Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs, this database spans four centuries and 15 languages. The collection includes periodicals, books and pamphlets. -
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851 - 2006) -

Contains the full content of the New York Times, including articles, ads, obituaries, and more, from 1851-2006.
All of the databases listed above provide the full text of documents. For a listing of all Library online indexes and databases, see the Library's Alphabetical List of Indexes and Databases web page.
Other Online Indexes and Databases
- In the First Person (Alexander Street Press) - This is a free online index to some (not all) of the content in many of the subscription-based Alexander Street Press databases as well as to materials freely available on the web. It contains citations to letters, diaries, and oral histories. Links to full text, audio, and/or video files are sometimes provided.
- Newspaper Archive - Available through BadgerLink. Search more than 4,000 newspaper titles published between 1753 and 2006. Search across all newspapers or narrow by date and/or location. Coverage of each newspaper is not complete and in many cases may be sporadic. Complete runs of newspapers are not available for most publications. Some articles may be viewed for free; other content requires payment for viewing. Databases provided through BadgerLink are available to all Wisconsin residents; however, a Wisconsin Internet Service Provider must be used. To access the database, follow these steps:
- Open BadgerLink.
- Click on the Access Newspaper Archive link.
- The Times (London)
The online index is available for this newspaper for the years 1785-1985. To find articles, it is important to use search terms that reflect the time the article was written (e.g., to find articles on World War I, try "Great War"). To view the actual articles, you will need to use the microfilm in the Library available from 1920-present.
Government Documents
Government documents, such as census data, public records, statistics, and laws can be good sources of primary information. Andersen Library is a selective depository for U.S. and Wisconsin documents, and also has small collections of titles from international governmental organizations. More information on the types of documents received by the Library and an explanation of their classification systems can be found at http://library.uww.edu/collectn/govcol.html.
How to find government publications often depends upon the date of the document you are looking for:
- To find government documents from 1976-present available in the Library, as well as a select number of older documents, use the Library's online catalog.
- To find federal government publications prior to 1976, you will often need to use the print index, Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (also known as MoCat), located in the Documents Reference collection on the Library's main floor. Print volumes of the catalog are available in the Library from 1936-1976. This index includes bibliographic information important for finding a document, such as title, issuing agency, and SuDocs classification number.
- To find information on federal publications prior to 1936, try the Document Catalogue, located in Documents Reference on the Library's main floor, available from March 4, 1893 through December 31, 1940.
- To find publications created by federal agencies from July 1976 to the present--including links to full text when available--use the online Catalog of U.S. Government Publications.
Documents not owned by the Library might be available through Universal Borrowing or interlibrary loan. For local government records, try the Library's Area Research Center.
In addition, certain federal government publications, such as Supreme Court opinions, are found using resources other than those listed above. For assistance in finding government documents, ask at the Reference Desk.
Finding the Text of Federal Laws
When public laws are passed by Congress, they are first published in paper form and are known as slip laws. After a session of Congress is finished, these slip laws are republished in a bound volume format, along with private laws, concurrent resolutions passed by Congress, and presidential proclamations. These volumes are known as the Statutes at Large.
The last step for a public law is the United States Code, which compiles active laws by subject. It does not include private laws. The USC is updated every six years, with supplements in intervening years. Because information in the USC is updated to reflect later changes and amendments to laws, it does not necessarily reflect a law as originally passed. For original text of federal public laws, use the Statutes at Large.
Using the Statutes at Large
To find a law in the Statutes at Large, use the law's Statutes at Large citation. An example of such a citation is 78 STAT. 241 (see sample page). The first number in the citation refers to the volume and the second number refers to the page. The volume number does not coincide with the session of Congress that passed the laws contained in the volume. In this example, volume 78 contains laws passed by the 88th Congress. In addition, some volumes are published in two parts.
If you do not have a citation for the law, choose the Statutes at Large volume that contains the year the law was passed, and look in the subject index at the back of the volume for either the name of the law or, if there is no formal name, for the subject that you need. The page number on which the information begins is listed.
In addition to the text of the law, the Statutes at Large shows the public law number, the date the law was enacted, the original number of the bill that created the law, the United States Code citation(s) where the law will be placed, and the legislative history of the law. In volumes prior to 1975, the legislative history is found in a table at the back of each volume; from 1975 forward, the history appears at the end of each law.
Andersen Library's Statutes at Large are located as follows:
- 1984-present: Documents Reference (main floor), call number AE 2.111:
- 1964-1983: Documents Reference, call number GS 4.111: (Note: All volumes, 1964-present, are arranged in chronological order starting with 1964, regardless of the change in call number for later years.)
- 1789-1963: Reference Microform Room (main floor in Pamphlet File Room), call number GS 4.111:
- 1789-1875: also available online through the Library of Congress's American Memory site
Full text of public laws from 1989 to the present can also be found online in the LexisNexis Congressional (
) database. Follow these steps:
- Open the database (found on the Alphabetical List of Indexes and Databases web page).
- Click on Legislative Histories, Bills, & Laws on the left side of the page.
- Under Search within, choose Public Laws.
- Search by keyword.
The legislative history of a public law back to the 91st Congress (1969/1970) can also be found in the LexisNexis Congressional (
) database. The legislative history will contain the Statutes at Large citation for the law, which can then be used to find the text of the law in the correct print volume, or, for more recent laws, in the database. Follow these steps:
- Open the database (found on the Alphabetical List of Indexes and Databases web page).
- Click on Legislative Histories, Bills, & Laws on the left side of the page.
- Under Search within, choose Legislative Histories.
- Search by keyword.
For assistance in using the Statutes at Large, contact a reference librarian.
Area Research Center & Wisconsin Historical Society
The Area Research Center (ARC) is located in the Library and is open to faculty, staff, students, and the public during specified hours. The ARC, a cooperative venture between the University and the Wisconsin Historical Society, is one of thirteen centers located throughout Wisconsin which contain local government records and manuscripts for designated groups of counties. Each ARC may borrow materials from the others for the use of its patrons. These materials may be identified through the Wisconsin Historical Society's Archives catalog, ArCat. Most of the items found using ArCat can be borrowed by the ARC for patron use. UW-Whitewater's ARC covers the materials of Rock, Jefferson, and Walworth counties. Most of the materials in the ARC cannot be checked out. For further information on ARC materials and services, see the following web page: http://library.uww.edu/archives/arc/index.html.
The Wisconsin Historical Society is located on the UW-Madison campus. In addition to the holdings in the WHS Archives Division, the WHS Library contains thousands of books, pamphlets, and newspapers on North American history. To locate items in the WHS Library, search UW-Madison's online library catalog, MadCat. Materials found in MadCat are not borrowed through the ARC; instead, use Universal Borrowing or interlibrary loan to obtain these items. Which borrowing option to use depends upon the item; contact a reference librarian to find out how to obtain the item you need.
For a bibliography of newspaper holdings in the Wisconsin Historical Society, see the following resource, kept at the Andersen Library Reference Desk:
Danky, James P., and Maureen E. Hady, eds. Newspapers in the State Historical Society of Wisconsin: A Bibliography with Holdings. New York: Norman Ross Publishing, 1994.
Call number: Ref Z6952 .W8 N49 1994 2 vols.
Volume I contains listings of Wisconsin newspapers and volume II contains listings of U.S. and foreign newspapers.
Web Resources
The Web can be an excellent resource for primary historical information. Photographs, scanned images of original documents, reprints of diaries and letters . . . these materials and much more may be found on library, university, and government web sites. Some sites are specific to a certain event or era, while others provide more wide-ranging historical documents. Not all materials on these sites are primary, so evaluate them carefully. Examples of such web sites are:
- American Memory (Library of Congress) - Photographs, maps, manuscripts, sheet music, and more are provided on this site produced by the Library of Congress. A broad range of American history is covered. Search specific collections or across all collections, or browse collections by topic.
- Historical Census Browser (University of Virginia Library) - Using data from the U.S. Census of Population and Housing volumes, this site provides statistics for each decade from 1790-1960. The amount and type of information varies. Information is available at the state and county levels.
- Making of America (University of Michigan) - This site is "a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction." The full text of thousands of books and journal articles from the 19th century are included. Simple searching is available on the site's home page; for more search options, click the Other Searches in MoA link on the site's home page. Subject browsing is also available.
- Old Bailey Online: The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913 - (The University of Sheffield)
Fully searchable, this site contains almost 200,000 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court between 1674 and 1913. - University of Wisconsin Digital Collections - The UWDC includes digital collections from University of Wisconsin libraries on a wide variety of subject areas. A complete list of the collections included and a short description of each is found under the Collections heading link.
- Wisconsin Local History and Biography Articles (Wisconsin Historical Society) - This site contains images of 16,000 articles from Wisconsin local newspapers, and a small number from other states, "preserved in scrapbooks at the Wisconsin Historical Society in the late 19th and 20th centuries." Most articles were published between 1860 and 1940.
More Web Resources
- Librarian Selected Internet Resources: History (Andersen Library, UW-Whitewater) - This Library web page contains links to history web sites and online Library databases that are useful for historical research. Not all of the resources on this page are useful for primary research; evaluate each resource carefully before use.
- History Resources (History Department, UW-Whitewater) - History web sites recommended by the history faculty at UW-Whitewater. Not all of the resources on these pages are useful for primary research; evaluate each resource carefully before use.
- UWWhistorylibrarian's Bookmarks (Andersen Library, UW-Whitewater) - Links to history web sites, tagged with descriptive terms. Use the tags to narrow the list of sites to specific eras, events, etc. Not all of the resources on these pages are useful for primary research; evaluate each resource carefully before use.
Note: Information taken from the Web must be credited when used for research purposes, even if the material is considered to be in the public domain.
Turabian Style Guide
The Library provides an online user guide on the Turabian citation style used by most history classes at UW-Whitewater. Most examples in this guide were taken from Kate Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations 7th ed. (Ref LB2369 .T8 2007), kept at the Reference Desk in the Library.
For additional information on primary source materials, see the UC-Berkeley Library's Primary Sources web page.
Last revised: RT - 08/31/2009



