Marketing 361 & 761
International Marketing
Books & Other University Library Materials
Library Catalog
Find books, government publications, videos and other Library materials on your topic. Use Universal Borrowing to search for and borrow books from other UW libraries.
WorldCat (FirstSearch) ![]()
If you don't find the book you need in the Library Catalog or in Universal Borrowing (UB), try WorldCat. You can link from the WorldCat book record to the ILLiad Request form (interlibrary loan) to borrow the book from another library.
Demographics & Lifestyle Characteristics
ClickZ Stats (Internet.com)
Get the latest data on the Internet habits of your target audience. This site is a great place to learn about the latest issues and trends in the e-commerce landscape. It's chock-full of news, statistics, and demographics on industries, target audiences and companies.
International Marketing Data and Statistics (Euromonitor) Ref HA 42 .I56
In addition to industry and economic data, this sources provides demographic trends & forecasts, health & living standards, literacy & education, consumer expenditure patterns, consumer market sizes and cultural indicators for 162 countries worldwide.
Polling the Nations (Opinion Research Service Publishing)
restricted to 1 user at a time
Polling the Nations is a compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by more than 700 polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries from 1986 to the present. Search by topic, question, date, geography, organization conducting survey and category of respondents (gender, ethnic groups, etc.).
TableBase (RDS)
restricted to 2 users at a time
TableBase is a database comprised of tables providing information such as: market share, market size, capacity, production, imports, exports, sales, product and brand rankings, forecasts, healthcare statistics and demographics. Tables are drawn from the more than 1000 sources including business and trade journals, statistical annuals, brokerage reports, trade association reports, and governmental reports.
World Consumer Lifestyles Databook: Key Trends (Euromonitor) Ref HF 5415.3 .W67 2005
In addition to industry and economic data, this sources provides consumer expenditure data for all types of products for 71 countries worldwide. Get data on eating, drinking and leisure habits, education, employment, home ownership and much, much more.
Industry Overviews & Trade Statistics
General Sources
Associations Unlimited (Gale Group) ![]()
Use this directory of 150,000 nonprofit associations to search for regional, national and international trade and business associations in a particular industry. Each entry will list the association's Web site where basic industry data and statistics are often available without cost (detailed data is usually for members only).
ClickZ Stats (Internet.com)
This site is a great place to learn about the latest issues and trends in the e-commerce landscape. It's chock-full of news, statistics, and demographics on industries, target audiences and companies.
Encyclopedia of American Industries Reference Desk HC102 .E53
Vol. 1 contains manufacturing industries and Vol. 2 contains service and non-manufacturing industries including not-for-profit industries. Each entry provides: industry snapshot, organization and structure, background and development, current conditions, industry leaders, America and the world, and research and technology. A bibliography for further reading is also provided. Entries are arranged by SIC code, so use the index in the back to locate companies, product types or brands.
FAOSTAT (Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations)
Find import and export values and quantities of food products by country, region, product, and year.
Global Market Information Database (includes Market Research Monitor) ![]()
Global Market Information Database provides access to over three million demographic, economic and marketing statistics for over two hundred countries back from 1977, as well as country profiles and consumer market sizes for many products across over fifty countries. This database also includes Market Research Monitor, which offers over 2,200 top-line market research reports on international consumer, industrial and service markets. Reports offer up to date market size data, company shares, brand shares and forecasts.
Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWeb (US International Trade Commission)
Find international trade data and U.S. tariff data.
International Marketing Data and Statistics (Euromonitor) Ref HA 42 .I56
In addition to industry and economic data, this sources provides demographic trends & forecasts, health & living standards, literacy & education, consumer expenditure patterns, consumer market sizes and cultural indicators for 162 countries worldwide.
International Trade Statistics Yearbook (United Nations) Ref HF 91 .U473
Hundreds of tables showing imports and exports by country, by region, by commodity and by trading partners.
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys (Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage) ![]()
Detailed analyses 50+ industries that include the current environment, trends, key industry ratios and statistics and top industry players. Because this is a tool for the analysis of securities, it focuses on publicly-traded companies. Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage also includes company information.
STAT-USA (US Department of Commerce) ![]()
STAT-USA is made up of State of the Nation (mainly covering US economic data) and Globus & National Trade Data Bank (covering international trade data, international market research and country analysis). The Market Research Repository Navigator is the easiest way to navigate STAT-USA's Country Commercial Guides, industry and country research.
TableBase (RDS)
restricted to 2 users at a time
TableBase is a database comprised of tables providing information such as: market share, market size, capacity, production, imports, exports, sales, product and brand rankings, forecasts, healthcare statistics and demographics. Tables are drawn from the more than 1000 sources including business and trade journals, statistical annuals, brokerage reports, trade association reports, and governmental reports.
Trade and Economy: Data and Analysis (US International Trade Administration)
Find foreign trade highlights, industry sector data, monthly or annual import/export data, and state and metropolitan area export data. Use the US Trade Quick-Reference Tables to quickly locate US exports or imports of specific products by country. From this page, select either full-year or latest month data on exports. After selecting dates, choose a Chapter, then select a Subheading to get data for specific products. The data will be displayed by country.
Trade Stats Express (US Office of Trade and Economic Analysis)
Quickly find U.S. merchandise exports, imports and trade balances as well as U.S. state and regional exports. Data is presented graphically and numerically.
UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade)
Find imports and exports of products for countries worldwide. Search by product and country of import and/or export or view the country's imports or exports worldwide. Includes annual historical data.
USITC Tariff Database (US International Trade Commission)
Type a product name and find tariff, customs and import data for that product. Import data by source country, port of entry and suffix entry (a breakdown of more specific products) are available.
Company & Brand Information
For more detailed information on companies, such as brands, historical stock prices, earnings estimates and executive compensation, see the Corporations Guide.
Advertising Redbooks (National Register Publishing)
restricted to 1 user at a time
Search by brand name or company name. Tells you the relationships between companies as well as basic company information such as web page address, SIC (industry) codes, sales figures, year founded, etc. Also provides the amount the company spends on advertising, who their ad agency is and what media they use.
Brands and Their Companies Ref T223 .V4 A25
If you know a brand name but don't know what company produces the product, this source is for you. Includes a listing of the companies with their addresses.
Corporate Affiliations (National Register Publishing) ![]()
Search for companies by industry, geography and size. Includes 174,000 U.S. and international parent companies, affiliates, subsidiaries, and divisions - all the way down to the seventh level of reporting relationships. All domestic and foreign subsidiaries are included.
Corporate ResourceNet (EBSCOhost) ![]()
For a company profile, click the Company Profiles button, then type the company name. Click on the company name from the menu.
Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited (HKEx)
Find a listing of securities trading on this exchange.
Hoover's Company Records (Hoovers via ProQuest) ![]()
Find company descriptions, financials and top competitors.
International Directory of Company Histories Ref HD2721 .I63
Two to three page narratives outline the historical development of more than 5,500 companies worldwide. Use the index in the latest volume to find your company. Page numbers in bold indicate a full article on the company (otherwise it indicates a mention of the company in another company's history).
LexisNexis (Lexis-Nexis) ![]()
Check out the Company Information section of the Library's How to Use LexisNexis: Business guide for tips on how to access its business offerings.
Market Share Reporter Reference Desk HF5410 .M35
Find market share data for product types, companies and brands. The information is gathered from periodicals, newspapers and trade journals. Use the product, company name, and brand name indexes in the back to find the appropriate tables.
Morningstar Library Edition (Morningstar)
restricted to 2 users at a time
Morningstar contains reports on more than 8,000 stocks and 12,000 mutual funds, Analyst Reports on 1,000 stocks and 2,000 mutual funds and Morningstar ratings for stocks and funds. Morningstar contains both stock and fund screeners and a portfolio X-ray tool that helps you look for strengths and weaknesses in a portfolio.
Shanghai Stock Exchange (SSE)
It's a good thing there's an English version of this site or most of us would be out of luck! Find listings of companies traded on this exchange.
Shenzhen Stock Exchange (SSE)
Find an alphabetical listing or search by broad industry category to find companies listed on this exchange.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's) ![]()
Brief summaries of common stocks along with some preferred and convertible preferred stocks. Also includes some closed-end funds. Covers dividends, financial position, capitalization and earnings per share. Click on the Companies button, select "Company Profile" from the drop-down menu and search by ticker or company/fund name. The "Stock Reports" and "Bond Reports" give more detailed information on companies and the "Industry Surveys" provide in-depth analysis of 52 U.S. industries.
Articles & News
Article & News Databases
For the literature review project, see the complete list of the Library's business databases.
ABI/Inform Global (ProQuest: 1971- ) ![]()
Indexes more than 1,300 business publications including 600 journals with full text from 1992 to present. Many international resources are included and coverage is global in scope.
Business Dateline (FirstSearch: 1985- ) ![]()
The prime place to search for regional business news in the U.S. and Canada. Includes searchable fulltext articles from more than 500 North American regional business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, and news wire services. This database covers regional business activities and trends with particular emphasis on economic conditions in selected cities, states, or regions, as well as mergers, acquisitions, company executives, new products, and competitive intelligence. LIMITED SEARCHING: The Library is charged per search for this database. Please contact B. Bren (brenb@uww.edu or 262-472-5521) before beginning large research projects requiring many searches.
Business Full Text (WilsonWeb: 1982- ) ![]()
Indexes and abstracts articles from more than 345 English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere, including the leading business magazines and trade and research journals, plus the partial/full text of over 160 of those periodicals. Partial/full text coverage begins in January 1995.
Business Source Elite (EBSCOhost) ![]()
Provides comprehensive access to abstracts and indexing for over 1500 titles, plus searchable full text for more than 750 business periodicals.
CQ Researcher (CQ Press) ![]()
Full text CQ Researcher (1991 - ). Contains in-depth research on current topics with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues and bibliographies for further information.
LexisNexis Academic (Lexis-Nexis) ![]()
Check out the Searching section of the Library's How to Use LexisNexis Academic guide for tips on how to search for various types of news sources.
ProQuest Newspapers (ProQuest) ![]()
Full text articles and citations from more than 500 U.S. and foreign newspapers and newswires including Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, Madison Capital Times, and London Times.
Tablebase (RDS)
restricted to 1 user at a time
TableBase is a database comprised of tables providing information such as: market share, market size, capacity, production, imports, exports, sales, product and brand rankings, forecasts, healthcare statistics and demographics. Tables are drawn from the more than 1000 sources including business and trade journals, statistical annuals, brokerage reports, trade association reports, and governmental reports.
Chinese News Soures
People's Daily Online (People's Daily)
As one of China's most influential newspapers, this site features not only the latest news, but serves as an entrée into the culture and mindset of a nation. In addition to the news, this site is a rich source of background information on China. Check out China at a Glance, China in Brief 2004, Chinese Laws & Regulations, China's Ethnic Minorities and Business News.
More Chinese Newspapers (Internet Public Library)
The Internet Public Library's links to Chinese newspapers online.
Cultural Analysis Tools in the Library
Countries and Their Cultures Ref GN307 .C68 2001, 4 volumes
This guide focuses on social and cultural issues and is a good source of information on things like social stratification, gender roles, etiquette, marriage & family issues, and religion.
Craighead's International Business, Travel, and Relocation Guide to 84 Countries Ref HF 5549.5 .E45 D56 2002-03, 4 volumes
Arranged by country, this guide is invaluable for business travelers, but is equally useful for those seeking a better understanding of doing business in a country. The section on business practices is particularly helpful.
Culture Shock! (Searches the Library Catalog)
Search the Library Catalog for books on various countries in the Culture Shock series. These books focus on customs and etiquette and are better for looking at the general cultural picture than for business specifically.
CultureGrams Ref GT 150 .C85 2002, 4 volumes
Arranged by region and then country, this guide provides descriptions of climate, history, people, customs, lifestyle, society, events, and trends.
Doing Business In... (Searches the Library Catalog)
Search the University Library Catalog for books that address doing business in various countries or regions. These books cover topics like business etiquette, commercial law, foreign trade regulation, labor law, and intercultural communication.
Europa World Year Book Reference Desk JN1 .E85
Find detailed profiles of countries, including history, government, religion, the press, and trade & industry. Also includes brief demographics as well as statistics on agriculture, forestry, mining, industry, finance, external trade, transportation, tourism, communications media, and education.
Guide to Locating Resources on Intercultural Communication (University Library)
This guide will help you find books in the Library and give you hints on using Library's online databases to search for articles on intercultural communication.
Global Etiquette Guide to... (Searches the Library Catalog)
Search the University Library Catalog for books in the Global Etiquette Guide series that address "everything you need to know for business and travel success."
Country Information Web Sites
For much more detailed information on countries, such as economic indicators, foreign direct investment, population and statistics, see the Sources of Business Information: Countries guide.
General Country Sources | Chinese Statistics Sources | Mexican Statistics Sources
General Country Sources
BBC News: Country Profiles (British Broadcasting Corporation)
An excellent source for history, politics and quick facts (including BBC video and audio clips) of more than 200 countries
Background Notes (U.S. Department of State)
Select a country and find a country profile, basic demographics, history, economic and political conditions and more.
CIA World Fact Book (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
Select a country and find about its geography, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues.
Countries & Regions (World Bank Group)
Find an overview of World Bank involvement in any of the World Bank countries and link to the Country Brief, Economic Update, Data or News on that country.
Country Briefings (Economist.com)
Includes political and economic forecasts, economic and political structure data and recent news (some recent news and reports require a subscription, but most are free).
Country and Industry Market Reports (U.S. Department of Commerce, Export.gov)
Includes useful information for those wanting to conduct business in a particular country. Country Commercial Guides cover the economic and political situation, trade regulations and standards, marketing of U.S. products, trade statistics, a trade show calendar and much more. There are other reports to choose from as well such as Industry Sector Analysis. Free registration is required.
Country Factfiles (Euromonitor International)
Click on the Country Factfile link for each of the 52 countries to find basic lifestyle characteristics and socio-economic indicators.
Country Profiles (International Trade Data System, U.S. Dept. of the Treasury)
These profiles are actually sets of links to key trade resources on country Web sites as well as links to key profiles on other sites.
Country Profiles and Resources (Federation of International Trade Associations)
Get a country profile along with helpful information about market access, economic indicators, country risk, doing business, agricultural data, tax information, labor market, and the media.
Country Profiles from World Trade Press (TradePort)
Select a country and find trade and travel information for 175 countries.
Country Studies (Library of Congress Federal Research Division)
Detailed reports on the history, economy, government, and social conditions of 100 countries worldwide.
Information for Exporters of U.S. Goods and Services (U.S. Commercial Service)
Select a country and find market research, quick facts, trade shows and travel/visa and other information on doing business in that country.
Kwintessential Company Profiles (Kwintessential Language and Cultural Specialists)
Find brief profiles of 40+ countries that include sections on society & culture, general etiquette and business etiquette.
STAT-USA (U.S. Dept. of Commerce) ![]()
STAT-USA is made up of State of the Nation (mainly covering U.S. economic data) and Globus & National Trade Data Bank (covering international trade data, international market research and country analysis). The Market Research Repository Navigator is the easiest way to navigate STAT-USA's Country Commercial Guides, industry and country research.
World Data (Encyclopedia Britannica) ![]()
Get Country Snapshots, one-page PDF factsheets about many of the countries of the world. You can also compare multiple countries at one time with the Current Comparisons module.
China Statistics Sources
National Bureau of Statistics of China (Chinese Government)
Find data on China's population, national accounts, employment and wages, and more. From the Statistical Data section, select yearly or monthly data (from top of screen).
People's Daily Online (People's Daily)
As one of China's most influential newspapers, this site features not only the latest news, but serves as an entrée into the culture and mindset of a nation. In addition to the news, this site is a rich source of background information on China. Check out China at a Glance, China in Brief 2004, Chinese Laws & Regulations, China's Ethnic Minorities and Business News.
Mexican Statistics Sources
Instituto Nacional Estadística Geografía e Informática (INEGI)
The Mexican government's equivalent to the US Census Bureau is the INEGI. Sadly, they do not have an English translation of the site. Thanks to Google, you can view the page in English via Google Translator.
Trade Classification Systems
SIC & NAICS Codes
Many business reference sources such as company directories or industry analyses use the U.S. government's numerical codes, Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) or North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) to describe types of businesses. Use these sources to identify SIC or NAICS numbers for your industry.
- Search SIC Code by code number or keyword
- SIC Division Structure (complete hierarchical listing)
- 1997 NAICS and 1987 SIC Correspondence Tables
Harmonized Tariff Schedules (U.S. International Trade Commission)
This classification system is used by more than 50 countries to standardize product classification codes for imports and exports. For all countries, the first six digits of each code are identical, but individual countries can customize the last four digits. The U.S. uses 10 digit codes.
SITC (United Nations)
The United Nations publishes the Commodity Indexes for the Standard International Trade Classification (SITC). It is used to compile international trade statistics (imports and exports) for countries worldwide. See the description on the U.N. site for more information.
Citing References Using APA Style
Citing References: APA Style (Library Guide)
Before turning in your assignments, use the Library Guide to correctly cite your references.
Related Library Research Guides
Business Law (Librarian Selected Internet Resources)
Covers anti-trust, bankruptcy, intellectual property, securities law, tax law and international commercial law.
Sources of Business Information: Countries (University Library Guide)
Includes more detailed information on countries, such as economic indicators, foreign direct investment, population and statistics.
Demographics and Consumer Research (Library Guide: Market Research: Demographics)
Find sources of demographic information on the Web and in the Library.
International Business (Librarian Selected Internet Resources)
Find sources for importing, exporting and doing business abroad. Covers country information, economic development, banking & finance, government, labor & employment, trade statistics and the legal & regulatory environment.
Small Business & Entrepreneurship (Librarian Selected Internet Resources)
Locate resources for starting and growing a small business.
Industry Analysis (Librarian Selected Internet Resources: Marketing)
Find links to sources of industry data for many industries from trade organizations and trade journal Web sites.
Industry Overviews (Library Guide: Market Research: Demographics)
Find sources of industry overviews available in the Library. These sources provide 5-35 page detailed analyses of various industries, outlining the structure of the industry, current trends, market size, market share, and key players in the industry.


