History 367
History of Capitalism
This list of resources has been compiled for History of Capitalism - these are not the only resources which can be used for completing the research assignments, but more as a starting point for your research.
General Sources
Library Catalog (University Library)
Find books, videos, journals, pamphlets and government publications on your topic.
Articles in Journals, Magazines and Newspapers (University Library)
Business databases aren't the only ones that can have good demographics and psychographics.
Citation Linker (University Library) ![]()
If you already have an article citation, Citation Linker will allow you to type in the citation and link to a menu of options for finding the full text of the article.
Citing References: MLA Style or Citing References: APA Style (University Library)
Don't forget to cite your sources using either APA or MLA style.
Journal Holdings: Electronic & Print (University Library) ![]()
Want to find out whether we subscribe to a particular journal, magazine or newspaper in the Library or online? The Library has access to thousands of titles and you will find them all here!
SuperSearch ![]()
Can't decide which article database to use? Select the "Custom Search" within SuperSearch -- then choose a category to search. You'll be searching across up to eight databases at once!
Background Information
The Reference Collection offers a great starting point to get information about a particular company, product or advertising campaign. It can provide a basis for constructing an intelligent search strategy.
International Directory of Company Histories HD2721 .I63 1998
Two to three page narratives outline the historical development of more than 5,500 companies worldwide.
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns HF5837 .E53 2000
This encyclopedia features information on some of the most famous campaigns, like 'Good to the Last Drop' from Maxwell House, as well as the historical context and outcomes.
Hoover's Company Records ![]()
Hoover's provides some useful information regarding the current state of the company as well as a (brief) company history.
Finding Primary Sources
Please refer to the Finding Primary Source Materials for History guide created by Ronna Hoeper, History Librarian, for information about finding such materials both in the library and online.
Finding Articles
For this research paper, you're researching in two areas, history and business. Make sure to search in both the business and history databases to get the most complete picture.
History
America: History and Life ![]()
Citations for articles, book reviews, and dissertations on topics dealing with United States and Canadian history.
Humanities International Index ![]()
Citations from journals and books on humanities topics, including history.
Humanities Full Text ![]()
Articles and citations from journals and magazines on a variety of humanities topics, including history.
Business
ABI/Inform ![]()
Covers a wide range of popular and scholarly publications in accounting, finance, marketing, management, international business, real estate, and taxation from 1971 to present.
Business Source Elite ![]()
Provides comprehensive access to abstracts and indexing for over 1500 titles, plus searchable partial/full text for more than 750 business periodicals.
Social Sciences Full Text ![]()
Indexes and abstracts articles from more than 415 English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere plus the full text of over 500 of those periodicals. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals, including business.
A Mix of Both
Proquest Historical Newspapers: New York Times (1851-2004) ![]()
Full-text access to the full content of the New York Times from 1851-2004, including articles, images, ads, obituaries, etc.
JSTOR ![]()
Articles from journals on a variety of subject areas, including history and business.
Borrowing from Other Libraries
Universal Borrowing (UB)
Use UB to borrow materials such as books, videos, and government documents—if not available at the University Library—from other UW System Libraries. It's FREE and it usually takes no more than 2-4 business days.
Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
If you can't find what you're looking for at another UW Library, that's where Interlibrary Loan and ILLiad come into the picture. It only costs $1 to use the service, but it may take longer to get materials.
Wisconsin Historical Society
If you're focusing on a Wisconsin-based company, you may want to see what WHS has. You can find items from the WHS Library through Universal Borrowing and requests items in the same manner. To request microfilm from the WHS Library, use Interlibrary Loan - ask for assistance at the Reference Desk, as additional information is required. You must search the WHS Archives through ArCat and materials must be request through the UW-W University Archives.
Getting Help
The Library is here to assist you in any way possible. Please contact us with any questions that you may have.
- Contact the Reference Desk by phone at 262.472.1032 (check the hours) or via email or chat if you need help with your research or using an electronic resource.
- Check out the How to Use Guides for help with the library catalog and most of the databases.


