History 150
Atlantic History

Table of Contents:

General Sources

Library Catalog - (University Library)
Find books, videos, government publications, and pamphlets on your topic.

Universal Borrowing
Can't find what you need at the University Library? Try searching one or more of the other UW System Libraries. Universal Borrowing is a free service; items ordered generally arrive within 2-4 weekdays. For more information, and instructions on use, go to the Universal Borrowing service web page.

Articles in Journals, Magazines and Newspapers - (University Library)
Article indexes and databases available through the Library. Search these resources to find articles on your topic in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Indexes and databases are available via the alphabetical listing, or divided by broad subject area. Suggested databases to start with are under the Articles heading below.

Citation Linker - (University Library) UWW access only
If you already have an article citation, Citation Linker allows you to type in the citation and link to a menu of options for finding the full text of the article.

Journal Holdings: Electronic & Print - (University Library) UWW access only
Use this list to find out whether the Library owns a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper, as well as the dates and formats available. Search by title.

Top of Page

Articles

JSTOR UWW access only
Search for journal articles and book reviews in a variety of subject areas, including history, business, and economics.

Project Muse UWW access only
Search for articles and book reviews in variety of subject areas, including history.

Humanities International Index - (Ebscohost) UWW access only
Citations and abstracts of articles, books, and more on humanities topics, such as history, philosophy, and religion. Includes coverage of United States history as well as world history.

ABI/Inform Global - (ProQuest) UWW access only
Articles and citations from scholarly journals and popular magazines on a variety of business topics, including international business.

Academic Search Premier - (Ebscohost) UWW access only
Articles and citations from scholarly journals and popular magazines on a wide variety of topics.

Top of Page

Primary Sources

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries - (Alexander Street Press) UWW access only
Search the full text of letters and diaries written by over 500 British and Irish women from 1558-1945.

Early Canadiana Online
A full text online collection of more than 3,000 books and pamphlets documenting Canadian history from the first European contact to the late 19th century.

Early English Books Online - (Chadwyck-Healey) UWW access only
Contains digital images of almost every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online - (Gale Group) UWW access only
Provides access to the digital images of every page of over 100,000 books published during the 18th century, primarily in the United Kingdom but also includes thousands from the Americas. Subjects covered include history and geography; social science and fine arts; medicine, science and technology; and more.

Top of Page

Online Library User Guides

Citing References: Turabian Style - (University Library)
Examples of citing sources using Turabian citation style, taken from A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 7th ed., by Kate L. Turabian. Available at the University Library Reference Desk, call number LB2369 .T8 2007.

Finding Primary Source Materials for History - (University Library)
A guide for finding primary source materials in the University Library on historical topics: books, articles, government documents, laws, etc. Information is also provided about resources in the Library's Area Research Center and borrowing materials from the State Historical Society Archives.

Finding Secondary Source Materials for History - (University Library)
A guide for finding secondary source materials in the University Library on historical topics: using subject bibliographies, finding subject encyclopedias and dictionaries, and examples of history journals and library article indexes and databases related to history.

For assistance, contact a reference librarian at (262) 472-1032, by email or chat or in person at the Library's Reference Desk.

Last Revised: RH - 2/21/2008