Find Itfind it button
Frequently Asked Questions


Questions

  1. What does Find It do?
  2. How can I access Find It?
  3. Why are there different Find It link buttons?
  4. Who can use Find It?
  5. Why isn't there a full text link for my citation?
  6. Why do the number of options in the Find It window vary for each citation?
  7. Why do some Find It full text links take me to the article while others take me to the journal or to the database?
  8. Why is there more than one full text option?
  9. What does it mean when I click on a full text link and get an error message?
  10. Why is there more than one window when I use Find It?
  11. Why don't I see any buttons in a Find It enabled database?
  12. Why don't I see the Find It menu when I click on the Find It button?
  13. When I click on a second option from the Find It menu, nothing happens. What's wrong?
  14. Will Find It link to every UW-W electronic journal?
  15. How can I report problems or get assistance with Find It?
  16. Which databases are Find It Enabled?

Answers

  1. What does Find It do?

    The purpose of Find It is to allow a user who has found a citation in a database to link to other library resources for the full text. Find It uses the Ex Libris SFX® linking software to accomplish this. If the full text is not available online, Find It will show the user what other options are available, such as checking the Library's Journal Holdings list or finding other articles by the same author.

     

  2. How can I access Find It?

    There are two ways to access Find It:

    • Simply by using one of the Library's Find It enabled databases, you can access Find It. When you retrieve a citation that does not include full text you will see a link to Find It. For a complete list of these databases, see the table of Find It Enabled Databases below.
    • If you already have a citation, you may access the Citation Linker directly and type in your citation information.

       

  3. Why are there different Find It link buttons?

    Some databases use a default button instead of UW-Whitewater's customized Find It button. For details on which buttons are used in each database, see the table of Find It Enabled Databases below.

     

  4. Who can use Find It?

    Anyone on the UW-W campus using one of the Find It enabled databases can access Find It. From off-campus a UW-W ID number is required to access any of the Library's databases. For more information on remote access, see the Library Services for Off-Campus Users Web page.

     

  5. Why isn't there a full text link for my citation?

    The full text option is only available if the University Library subscribes to the journal electronically. Although the Library subscribes to 13,000 journals in print or online, we still do not have everything. If you choose the link to Journal Holdings, you can check to see whether the Library has the journal in print. You may also use ILLiad/Interlibrary Loan to order a copy of the article.

     

  6. Why do the number of options in the Find It window vary for each citation?

    When you click on the Find It button, a customized search compiles all the options available for that particular citation. Therefore different citations will generate different numbers of Find It services.

     

  7. Why do some Find It full text links take me to the article while others take me to the journal or to the database?

    Find It takes you as close to the article as possible. But some databases simply don't allow links directly to the article. If you clicked on a full text link but only got to the database or the journal, you will need to perform a search or navigate through the database's menus to get to the article. 

     

  8. Why is there more than one full text option?

    Often the article will be available through more than one database. And sometimes there is a difference in format (e.g., plain text or PDF), so you are given all possible options.

     

  9. What does it mean when I click on a full text link and get an error message?

    There are several possible reasons for this:

    • If the article is brand new, it may not have been added to the database. Tables of contents are sometimes added before the articles are available online. Check back later to see if the article is available.
    • If the article is not new, the author or publisher may have withheld the article or the citation may be insufficient for Find It to locate the article. You may check the Journal Holdings list to see if we have the journal in print.
    • Contact a reference librarian if you need assistance since we may be able to help you locate the article.

       

  1. Why is there more than one window when I use Find It?

    When you first click on a Find It link, a new window will open to display the Find It menu. Then when you click on one of the Find It options, another window is opened and will continue to display any of the options you choose from the Find It menu. These windows allow you to quickly return to the Find It menu to choose different options. The windows stay open until you close them.

     

  2. Why don't I see any buttons in a Find It enabled database?

    There are several possibilities, mainly relating to the computer you are using:

    • Since Find It uses JavaScript, JavaScript must be enabled in your browser.
      • Internet Explorer 5 and higher: From the menu bar, select Tools - Internet Options. Choose the Security tab and click Custom Level. From the Custom Level menu, scroll down to Java Permissions (may be under the heading VM Microsoft). Select High Safety and click OK to close the Security Settings window. Click OK again to close the Internet Options window. Close Internet Explorer and then open it again to complete the process.
      • Netscape: From the menu bar, select Edit - Preferences. Double click on the word Advanced in the left-hand menu. Check off the box next to Enable Java in the Advanced window and click OK to close window. Press the Reload button in Netscape to complete the process.
    • Clearing the temporary files in your browser will free up your computer's memory and may solve the problem.
      • Internet Explorer: From the menu bar, select Tools - Internet Options. Press the Delete Files button under Temporary Internet files (this may take a few minutes). Click OK.
      • Netscape: From the menu bar, select Edit - Preferences. Double click on the word Advanced in the left-hand menu, then select Cache from the sub-menu. Click Clear Cache in the Advanced window and click OK to close window. 
    • Some databases do not show the Find It buttons in the search results (e.g., ISI Web of Science), so you may need to click on an individual record to see the Find It button.
    • Some databases use links or buttons other than the find it button button. See the list of Find It Enabled Databases for the links or buttons used.
    • The page you are viewing must be fully loaded on your computer before you can see the buttons.

       

  3. Why don't I see the Find It menu when I click on the Find It button?

    Since Find It uses pop-up windows, pop-up blocking software such as Pop-up Zapper and Pop-up Stopper will disable Find It. If you have this type of software, you will need to disable it while using Find It

     

  4. When I click on a second option from the Find It menu, nothing happens. What's wrong?

    If you have already clicked on one link from the Find It menu and later choose another option from the menu, the window for the next option may be hidden under the Find It menu. So moving the Find It window should help you locate the "hidden" window. This is an Internet Explorer problem. Other browsers will bring forward the second Find It option so you can see it.

     

  5. Will Find It link to every UW-W electronic journal?

    Not all electronic journals use the openURL protocol that allows the Find It software to work. For a full list of journals held by the University Library, see Journal Holdings.

     

  6. How can I report problems or get assistance with Find It?

    Reference librarians are available to assist you with Find It questions or problems. Calling (262-472-1032), stopping by or e-mailing the Reference Desk will put you in touch with a UW-W librarian.

     

  7. Which databases are Find It enabled?

    See the following list of Find It enabled databases and the buttons in used each database.

     

Top of Page

Find It Enabled Databases

Database Find It button used Database Vendor

Academic Search Elite

find it button EBSCO
ABI/INFORM Global find it button ProQuest
AIDSearch find it button Biblioline
Alt-Press Watch find it button ProQuest
Alternative Press Index find it button OCLC FirstSearch
America: History and Life find it button ABC-CLIO
American Humanities Index find it button EBSCO
Applied Science Full Text find it button Wilson
Art Full Text find it button Wilson
Arts & Humanities Citation Index find it button ISI Web of Science
Biological & Agr Index Plus find it button Wilson
Biological Abstracts find it button ISI Web of Science
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic find it button EBSCO
BioOne find it button BioOne
Business & Industry find it button OCLC FirstSearch
Business Dateline find it button OCLC FirstSearch
Business Full Text find it button Wilson
Business Source Elite find it button EBSCO
Child Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption Database find it button Biblioline
CINAHL find it button ProQuest
Clinical Pharmacology find it button EBSCO
Communication & Mass Media Complete find it button EBSCO
Consumer Index find it button OCLC FirstSearch
Corporate ResourceNet find it button EBSCO
Criminal Justice Abstracts find it button ProQuest
Dissertation Abstracts find it button OCLC FirstSearch
EBSCO Animals find it button EBSCO
EconLit find it button OCLC FirstSearch
Education Full Text find it button Wilson
ERIC find it button EBSCO
Ethnic NewsWatch find it button ProQuest, Softline
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia find it button EBSCO
GenderWatch find it button ProQuest, Softline
General Science Full Text find it button Wilson
GEOBASE find it button OCLC FirstSearch
GPO find it button OCLC FirstSearch
Health Source: Consumer Edition find it button EBSCO
Health Source: Nursing/Academic find it button EBSCO
Humanities Full Text find it button Wilson
Institute of Physics Electronic Journals find it button Institute of Physics
International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) find it button Chadwyck-Healy
International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) find it button Chadwyck-Healy
ISI Web of Science find it button ISI Web of Science
JSTOR find it button JSTOR
Knight Ridder Collection find it button EBSCO
Library Literature & Information Science find it button EBSCO
Lit Finder: Essays find it button Roth
Lit Finder: Plays find it button Roth
Lit Finder: Poems find it button Roth
Lit Finder: Stories find it button Roth
MagillOnLiterature find it button EBSCO
MAS Ultra - School Edition find it button EBSCO
MasterFILE Premier find it button EBSCO
MathSciNet find it button American Mathematical Soc.
Media Review Digest find it button OCLC FirstSearch
MEDLINE find it button EBSCO
Middle Search Plus find it button EBSCO
Military & Government Collection find it button EBSCO
MLA Directory of Periodicals find it button EBSCO
MLA International Bibliography find it button EBSCO
Newspaper Source find it button EBSCO
Nursing and Allied Health Collection: Basic find it button EBSCO
OmniFile Full Text Mega find it button Wilson
PAIS International find it button OCLC FirstSearch
Primary Search find it button EBSCO
ProceedingsFirst find it button OCLC FirstSearch
Professional Development Collection find it button EBSCO
ProQuest Newspapers find it button ProQuest
ProQuest Newsstand find it button ProQuest
ProQuest Nursing Journals  find it button ProQuest
PsycArticles find it button EBSCO
PsycInfo find it button EBSCO
Readers' Guide Full Text find it button Wilson
Regional Business News find it button EBSCO
Science Citation Index find it button ISI Web of Science
Social Sciences Citation Index find it button ISI Web of Science
Social Sciences Full Text find it button Wilson
Social Work Abstracts Searching for Full Text? WebSpirs
Sociological Abstracts find it button CSA
SPORTDiscus find it button EBSCO
UlrichsWeb find it button Bowker
Wisconsin Newsstand find it button ProQuest
Women's Studies International find it button Biblioline
WorldCat find it button OCLC FirstSearch
Top of Page

Last Revised: cje - 2/5/2008