How to Find Journal Articles

Table of Contents

Indexes to Periodicals Finding Articles on a Particular Topic Copying Articles
Interlibrary Loan
Any Questions
Checking Out a Periodical  

INDEXES TO PERIODICALS

A periodicals index is a means of finding articles in magazines or journals. Journals are published by and for professionals in specialized fields. They contain articles emphasizing research and analysis and often concentrate on specific areas within a discipline. An explanation of some of the differences between scholarly and popular magazines can be found in the guide: Scholarly Journal v. Popular Magazine Articles Articles in periodicals can be found using indexes online, in print and on CD-ROM. Each format has its strengths and drawbacks.

CHOOSING AN INDEX

Some indexes are discipline specific, e.g., PsycINFO for Psychology and MLA International Bibliography for literature. EBSCO's Academic Search Elite and MasterFILE Premier cover a wide range of subjects and include articles in both academic journals and popular magazines. When choosing an index consider the subject area, the depth of information desired and the complexity of the question. Sometimes a topic will cross several subject areas, and it can be helpful to look at the way the topic is treated in different indexes.

CHOOSING A FORMAT

Electronic indexes are useful when a topic combines more than one concept. They also can cover several years in one search. Citations in electronic indexes are often more current than those in print indexes, sometimes appearing within less than a week of publication. Electronic indexes often (but not always) include some articles in full-text.  In most electronic indexes it is possible to print, download or email the citation and/or complete article.

Print indexes are valuable when the subject area is not well covered by the electronic indexes available, or you need to go back more years than are available in the databases. Few databases index articles written before 1983.

LOCATION OF INDEXES

A list of the electronic indexes and their formats can be found by clicking on Find Articles, Statistics.... The page has a list of databases arranged alphabetically, by broad subject area and by system producer.

Periodical databases available in CD-ROM format are located on workstation S2 in the alcove across from the reference desk.  A sign at the top of the monitor indicates which databases can be accessed from that workstation.

The print indexes are located mainly on tall stacks adjacent to the Law collection. A few print indexes are on two index tables behind the reference desk. Guide cards at the end of the rows on both the stacks and the tables indicate which indexes are on each side.

FINDING ARTICLES ON A PARTICULAR TOPIC

The first step in finding articles on a topic is to think of words which describe it. Start searching for the most specific terms and, if relevant articles aren't listed, revise the search using more general terms. Print indexes have "see also" references which list related subjects. Article entries in the electronic indexes often include descriptors or subject headings which are helpful in picking alternate terms. These terms are sometimes links and you can find all the articles using that particular descriptor by clickingon it.

Most print indexes have an introduction which explains what subjects are covered and how some special items are handled. For example, the introduction to the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature tells how to find movie reviews and several other specific kinds of articles.

Electronic indexes often have help or information screens to aid you in developing a productive search.

CITATIONS

Citations include the author and title of an article, the name of the periodical and information such as volume number, date of the particular issue and pages. Write down or print out all the information in the citation and be sure to include the full title of the periodical. Most print indexes use abbreviations for journal titles and it is necessary to look at the beginning of each volume to find the full title.

FINDING PERIODICALS IN THIS LIBRARY

The online catalog contains the titles of periodicals in the library and some of those that are full-text in the electronic indexes. Choose the <Basic Search> from the first screen of the University Library Catalog. Type in the periodical title in the <Search for:> box. Highlight <Journal Title> in the drop down menu and click on <Search>. The complete title is not needed to find a periodical in the online catalog. Alternatively, select the <Keyword> search and enter distinctive words from the title e.g., Journal and Abnormal will find the Journal of Abnormal Psychology. The online catalog can be used to find periodical titles in Andersen Library in a given subject area. Highlight <Subject Heading> and type sociology--periodicals to get a list of titles of periodicals in sociology.

The catalog "holdings" indicate when the library started getting a particular journal and where specific issues can be found. Periodicals are available in several locations on the lower level of the library. The locations, which appear on the catalog, are: Current, Periodicals Bound Stacks, Periodicals Microform Room, fiche, Periodicals Microform Room, film and Periodicals Microform Room, CD-ROM.

The most complete listing of periodicals to which UW-W has access is in the Journal Holdings: Electronic & Print. This list has those periodicals which are available in print on the first floor and also those that are full text in one of the online periodical indexes. When using the Journal Holdings list it is important to note the name of the index (database) and the dates of coverage.  Some journals have an "embargo" period which means that the most current articles are not online although older ones are.

CHECKING OUT A PERIODICAL

Periodicals may not be checked out. Use them in the periodicals reading area or return them to that area after use. DO NOT RESHELVE them. Leave them on one of the tables by the copy machines or on one of the book trucks designated for reshelving.

COPYING ARTICLES

The copyright law generally permits making single copies for research. Photocopies cost a dime per page. Photocopy machines are operated by copy service cards purchased at a vending machine near the Circulation Desk. Some copiers are equipped to use Hawkcards. Copy machines are located in the periodicals area on the lower level and in Room 2104 adjacent to the Circulation desk.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

If the library does not have the periodical you need or if it is at the bindery, the article may be available through Interlibrary Loan. There is a charge and it usually takes 3 to 5 days to get the article. Forms to order articles from other libraries are available at the reference and circulation desks and online via ILLiad.

ANY QUESTIONS

Printed user guides are available for most of the electronic databases. These guides can be found in racks across from the reference desk, in the reference alcove and from the Library User Guides web page. If you need assistance please ask at the reference desk.