How to Find Books
This guide will assist the user in finding materials in University Library collections after determining their locations and call numbers in the Library Catalog. Instructions for using the Catalog may be found in the How to Use the Library Catalog guides. These instructions apply to books and other library materials including: video recordings, DVDs, CDs, tests, government documents and microforms.
Terminology
The "address" where an item is shelved appears at the bottom of its record in the catalog:

LOCATION: The area of the library, or collection, where the item is shelved. Common locations are listed below.
| Message: | Meaning: |
|---|---|
| (Non-Circulating) | Item cannot be checked out, so must be used in the library |
| (Shelved A to Z) | Item has no call number; it is shelved alphabetically by title |
CALL NUMBER: The alphanumeric classification by which an item is shelved. Copy the entire call number to take to the location indicated and find the item. In general, following alphabetical and numerical rules from left to right will an item in the designated location. Click on a classification type below to link to off-site information about it.
| Classification Type: | Example: | How to Read Them |
|---|---|---|
| Library of Congress | PS3537 .A426 C3 1951 | LC Call Number |
| Superintendent of Documents | EP 1.23/6:600/R-95/076 | SuDocs Call Number |
| Wisconsin State Government | UWS Bud 1: | |
| Dewey Decimal® | 362.292 Rye | Dewey Decimal® Call Number |
| Message: | Meaning: |
|---|---|
| In Process | Item received, but not on shelf. Ask at Circulation to be notified when it is available |
| Copy Ordered as of... / ...On Order / Order Pending | Item ordered, but has not been received |
| Temporarily Shelved at... | Item is located where named rather than in area listed on Location line |
STATUS: An indication of an item's availability.
| Message: | Meaning: |
|---|---|
| Checked Out | Item is checked out. Request a Hold or request a copy via Universal Borrowing from another UW system library |
| In Process | Item has been received at the library. Contact Circulation with the title and call number to be notified when it is available |
| Lost / Missing... | Item is missing. Request a copy via Universal Borrowing from another UW system library or Interlibrary Loan from any other library |
| No Item Data Available | Click on article title in Result list for more information |
| Not Checked Out | Item should be in the library in the Location indicated unless there is a note stating otherwise |
| Overdue - Due on ... | Item has not been returned on time. Contact Circulation with the title and call number to recall the item or be notified when it is available |
| Renewed - Due on... | Item is checked out. Contact Circulation with the title and call number to recall item or be notified when it is available |
| Returned ... | Item is available. If it is not on the shelf, ask at Circulation to see if it is waiting to be reshelved |
Finding an Item on the Shelf
Most books are shelved alphabetically/numerically by call number in each collection location. For example, the Main and Reference Collections have Library of Congress (LC) call numbers, starting with call numbers in the As and ending with call numbers in the Zs. Materials in other locations may use difference systems of classification.
In LC call numbers, the number following the letter in the third or fourth line is a decimal number. The decimal sign may or may not appear on the book label.
| P 582 A1W6 |
PE 350 A3X |
PE 350 A35 |
PR 350 D47 |
PR 350 D5 |
PS 351 A3 |
PS 351 .15 A3 |
PS 351 .3 S7 |
PS 351 .3 .S7 1988 |
Some books are shelved alphabetically by the author's last name, such as those in the McNaughton, Juvenile Fiction and Easy Books collections.
Periodicals are shelved alphabetically by title, instead of by call number or last name, in each collection location. Refer to How to Find Journal Articles for further assistance.
If an Item is Not on the Shelf
- Look for it on nearby shelves.
- Look to see if it was left on a nearby table or by the copy machines.
- Recheck the catalog to confirm the call number, location and status. If the item was recently returned, check at the Circulation Desk to see if it is waiting to be reshelved.
- Ask a Circulation Desk attendant to arrange for a staff search and for notification when it is found.
Checking Out Materials
Take materials to the Circulation Desk on the Second Floor, near the entry doors, to be checked out. Present your valid UW-Whitewater ID or Community Borrower's Card to the attendant along with the materials. The attendant will check each item out, desensitize it so it may be carried through the security gate, and tell you when it is due.
The library no longer issues date-due slips, so check your Personal Record in the Catalog to see when materials are due. Many items may be renewed from this screen. Please return items to the library by the due date to avoid fines.
Note: Some materials, such as those on microform or from the Reference Collection, are not available for check out.
Reserve Materials
Materials placed on reserve are normally located in the Catalog by clicking on the Course Reserve tab and selecting the instructor's name. However, you may also find them doing other types of searches in the Catalog.
If the Location entry has the word Reserve in it, a faculty member has set the item aside for very short-term use. Write down the author name, title and call number. Present this information and your ID card to a Circulation attendant, who will retrieve it for you. Large fines are levied if materials are returned after their due hour.
Some reserve materials have been digitally copied and placed on Electronic Reserve (eReserve). These materials are accessible both on and off-campus by students, faculty and staff of the UW-Whitewater
. They do not need to be checked out, as they can be viewed online. These materials have *Internet for the Location and an E-Items field containing one or more links.
Locations
The following entries represent some of the collections in the Library. If the catalog indicates a desired book is in a location not on this list, ask for help at the Reference Desk. See library floor plan for a map.
| Location: | Place in the Library: |
|---|---|
| Arts Media Center | Greenhill Center of the Arts, Room 16 (lower level). One block west of the Library |
| Bound Periodicals | First Floor |
| Center... | Media Center. First Floor, southeast corner. After the word "Center" is the name of the stacks where the item is located, for example, Center Videorecordings |
| Current Affairs Shelf | Second Floor, west of the Reference Desk |
| Current Periodicals | First Floor, north end. Shelved by alphabetically by title |
| Curriculum Collection | Second Floor, east end, last row of book by the windows |
| Documents Office | Ask for assistance at Reference Desk |
| Documents Oversize | Second Floor, south. These are shelved after all other U.S. documents in stack 40 |
| International Documents... | Second Floor, east of Reference Desk |
| Internet | Item is accessible via a link in the Linked Resources or E-Items field |
| Main Collection | Third Floor, stacks 1-143 |
| Main Oversize Collection | Third Floor, stacks 144-153 |
| Map Room | Second Floor, north. Enter through Reference Microform Room> |
| McNaughton Collection | Second Floor, west end, near Circulation Desk. Popular reading |
| New Book Island | Second Floor, west end, south of McNaughton Collection |
| Periodicals Microform Room... | First Floor, glass walled room on east side |
| Newspaper Current | First Floor, northeast corner |
| Ref Tests Collection | Second Floor, south of Reference Desk |
| Reference CD-ROM | Second Floor, alcove north of Reference Desk, ask for assistance |
| Reference Collection | Second Floor, short stacks |
| Reference Microform Room | Second Floor, north of Government Documents |
| Reference Collection | Second Floor, Reference room, short stacks |
| Reference Microforms Room | Second Floor, northeast end, contains Pamphlet File and microfiche U.S. documents |
| Reference Pamphlets | Second Floor, Reference Microforms Room, south wall |
| Reference Tests Collection | Second Floor, Reference room, east of Reference Desk |
| Reserve | Second Floor, Circulation/Reserve Desk |
| Special Collection | Second Floor, inquire at Reference Desk for assistance |
| Storage | Inquire at Circulation Desk (Second Floor) for assistance |
| Temporarily Shelved at... | Indicates item's current location |
| U.S. Documents CD-ROM | Ask at Reference Desk (Second Floor) for assistance |
| U.S. Documents Stacks | Second Floor, east of Reference Desk, a.k.a. Federal Documents. Note: Unlike other locations, call numbers for U.S. documents do not contain decimal numbers |
| Wisconsin Documents | Second Floor, east of Reference Desk |
For assistance, contact a reference librarian at (262) 472-1032, by email or chat or in person at the Library's Reference Desk.
Last Revised: MS - 10/25/2007


