Women's Studies Resources

March is National Women's History Month! The theme for 2005 is Women Change America. Check out some of these specialized databases for information on women in America, and around the world.

GenderWatch UWW access only

  • GenderWatch is a full-text database of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more, some dating back to the 1970s.
  • Gain a perspective on gender issues from the viewpoint of feminist publications, gay and lesbian publications, and other publications outside of the mainstream media.

Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online, 1543-1945 UWW access only

  • Containing 2,000,000 page images exactly as they appeared in print,the Gerritsen Collection provides access to over 4,700 publications. Of the collection, 25 percent are periodicals and 75 percent are books and pamphlets.
  • Although more than half of the publications are in English, a significant number of titles are in German and French, with the remainder in 12 other languages. Limiting by language is possible when searching.
  • Search all documents, or search books only or periodicals only.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial to 1950 UWW access only

  • This database presents the experiences of 1,325 women through 150,000 pages of letters and diaries spanning more than 300 years.
  • Search all documents, or search letters only or diaries only. Advanced searching allows the user to limit searches by age of the woman when writing, by year the document was written, by marital status, race, religion, and much more.

Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600-2000 UWW access only

  • In addition to letters, diaries, speeches, articles, and more, this database contains document projects, which pose a question and then provide a collection of documents that address the question. For example, the first project is What Are Social Movements and What Is Gendered About Women's Participation in Social Movements? A Sociological Perspective.
  • Search across all sources in the database, or browse by sources, authors, documents, images, document projects, movements, or subjects.
  • Both primary and secondary sources are available.

Women's Studies International UWW access only

  • Restricted to 1 user at a time.
  • Women's Resources International is a combination of several databases, such as Women's Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography, MEDLINE Subset on Women, and Women of Color and Southern Women: A Bibliography of Social Science Research, all covering women's studies and women's issues.
  • For more search options, click on the Change Search and Display Level button and choose Advanced Search. Boolean searching (and, or, not) is supported. For tips on searching in the database, click on Help and choose either Search Tips or Help (in-depth). Online tutorials are also available.
Top of Page