Newspaper Databases |
![]() |
Have you ever searched the Internet for a newspaper article, only to find that you had to pay money to see the full text? Although many newspapers are online, often you must register to read the current issue, & there is a fee to see older articles.
Fortunately, there is a way to get newspaper articles for free! The University Library has several online newspaper databases which are part of the "Invisible Web", databases which require access from the UW-Whitewater campus or login from off-campus, and cannot be found using Yahoo or other online search engines (with the exception of Google Scholar*). These databases enable you to read articles going back one day or even many years without registering or paying for access.
Databases with the Broadest Coverage
- LexisNexis Academic: News - newspapers from N. America and around the world. Includes major Wisconsin newspapers.
- Newspaper Source (EBSCOhost) - selected full text for over 180 regional U.S. newspapers.
- ProQuest Newspapers - if desired, click on "Select multiple databases" to get only the Wisconsin Newsstand.
Specialized Databases
- Knight Ridder (EBSCOhost) - a 90-day archive of about 100 newspapers from the wire service. Updated daily.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times 1851-2002 - full text in PDF format, articles can be viewed individually or as part of a whole page.
- Regional Business News (EBSCOhost) - comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications.
Google Scholar will link to University Library databases from on and off-campus, however, off-campus users must first specify UW-Whitewater in the Library Links section of Scholar Preferences. Then they will be prompted to login to read articles, just like when accessing from the Library website.
For assistance, contact a reference librarian at (262) 472-1032, by email or chat or in person at the Library's Reference Desk.
Last Revised: MS - 8/3/2007



