Find It
& Citation Linker
Speed your article searching with Find It! The Find It software was implemented at UW-Whitewater during the summer and enables users to link from an article citation in one database to the full text of the article in other library databases. For a list of databases that support SFX® links, see Find It Frequently Asked Questions.
When a user finds an article citation that doesn't include full text, the Find It button will launch a menu of services showing where the full text is available. When full text is not available online but is available in print or microfilm in the Library, the user will have the option to view the Library Catalog record for the journal. If the Library doesn't have a source for full text, the user can link directly to the ILLiad interlibrary loan service. The ILLiad form will be filled out automatically so the user can simply eview and submit the request.
A user who already has a citation can go directly to Citation Linker, type in the citation, and voila -- the Find It Menu of Services appears.
Next year, the Library will launch MetaLib®, a federated searching tool that will allow users to search multiple article databases at once.
How does Find It work?
For inquiring minds wanting to know what's going on behind the scenes, here's a little more detail.
- Find It uses the SFX® linking software, developed by the library software company, ExLibris
- SFX® uses the OpenURL protocol, a context-sensitive linking standard developed by the National Information Standards Organization (NISO)
- Find It takes a citation, runs it through a customized link server to find all the other services available for the article to library users
- Librarians work behind to the scenes to customize the link server with all the library's database and journal holdings
- Citation Linker works the same way, using SFX® technology
- All University of Wisconsin libraries have implemented SFX®, but each library has customized the name and button for the service
Questions about Find It or Citation Linker?
- See Find It Frequently Asked Questions for more information on Find It and SFX®
- For further assistance, contact a reference librarian at (262) 472-1032, by email or chat or in person at the reference desk in the library.
Last Revised: cje - 1/16/2008


