University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
In an effort to make the rich resources of the many University of Wisconsin campuses available to researchers and the general public, a program has been instituted to digitize and put online various collections held by individual campuses. A central committee was formed to evaluate resources for inclusion in the project. Strongest consideration is given to projects that have a UW or Wisconsin focus and to those that support teaching and research. New material is being added frequently to this ongoing project. The University of Wisconsin Digital Collections include a vast array of fascinating resources, including:
- Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent - This collection contains more than 3000 slides, 500 photographs and 50 hours of sounds from forty-five different countries.
- Milwaukee Neighborhoods: Photos & Maps, 1885-1992 - Provides a visual documentation of the development of the city of Milwaukee from the mid-1880s to the early 1990s.
- Wisconsin Pioneer Experience - Diaries, letters, reminiscences, speeches and other writings of people who settled and built Wisconsin during the 19th century.
- Nineteenth-century European-American views on Life in, and the Peoples of, the American West - This collection comes from the UW-Whitewater
To read about it and search its full text go to the collection homepage. - 1857 Walworth County Plat Book - The oldest map in the UW-Whitewater Archives. It is frequently consulted by students, local historians and genealogists researching the area. This digitized interactive map allows users to click on a township within Walworth County and view a list of residents' properties and map locations.
Last Revised: MS - 8/3/2007
For assistance, contact a reference librarian at (262) 472-1032, by email or chat or in person at the Library's Reference Desk.


