Database Customization
Customizable Library Databases
Library databases should be accessed using a link from the Library web site. From off-campus, you'll need to login with your UW-W NetID & password (email username & password). To use the customization features in these databases, you'll need to create an additional username and password in each database.
| Vendor Name | Key Content | Services Available | Help |
| ABC-CLIO |
|
|
ABC-Clio User Guide |
| EBSCOhost |
|
|
EBSCO Creating Search & Journal Alerts |
| EMERALD Library (MCB Press) |
|
|
EMERALD - Using The My Profile Facility |
| FirstSearch |
|
|
|
| IngentaConnect
Current awareness service provided to UW community by UW-Oshkosh (UW-W subscribes to 87 titles via Ingenta) - must register on UW-W campus |
|
|
How to Use IngentaConnect |
| ISI Web of Knowledge (Web of Science) |
|
|
ISI Web of Knowledge Help Topics Sign up for free Web-based training for Web of Science |
| Project Muse |
|
|
Project Muse Journal Alerts |
| Sage Premier Journals Online |
|
|
Sage Alerts Tutorial |
| Ulrichsweb |
|
|
Ulrichsweb User Guide |
| UW-W Library Catalog |
|
|
How to Use the Library Catalog |
| WilsonWeb |
|
|
WilsonWeb Customize Display |
Finding Journals
Journal Holdings List (link from Library home page)
Shows fulltext journals subscribed to by UW-Whitewater. Print journals are shown in gray boxes with links to the Library catalog. Online journals are shown in purple boxes with links to online version of the journal (often journals are located within an online database).
CUFTS
This free service shows which databases index or contain the fulltext of a journal. Then check the UW-W Articles in Magazines... page to see if we have that database.
Finding Databases
Articles in Journals, Magazines & Newspapers (Find Articles... link from Library home page)
Search for databases alphabetically, by subject, or by system (vendor). To find out which journals appear fulltext in a particular database, use the Journal Holdings List (above). Most databases contain a lists of publications included.
Journal Publishers Offering Free Alert Services
- American Chemical Society Journals
- American Geophysical Union
- American Mathematical Society
- American Medical Association
- Cambridge Unversity Press Journals
- IEEE Explore
- Highwire Press
- Institute of Physics Journals
- MetaPress Taylor & Francis Journals
- Nature Journals
- Royal Society of Chemistry
- ScienceDirect Journals
- Synergy Blackwell Journals
- Wiley Interscience Publications
Last Revised: cje - 9/18/2007


