Selecting Language & Literature Materials for the Library
Selected Online Resources
The University Library's Collection Development Policy is available online. For departmental procedures and policies, contact a member of the L&L collection development team.
Current L&L procedure: When you find a title you would like to order, email the citation, including ISBN, to a member of the collection development team, such as Elena Levy-Navarro (as of 2007-8).
For assistance contact Martha Stephenson, Languages & Literatures Liaison, by phone: 262-472-4366; by email: MS; or in person at the Library, or Carol Elsen, Collection Manager, by phone: 262-472-5519; by email: CE; or in person at the Library.
Book Reviews
- ChoiceReviews Online

- Library Journal Book Reviews (EbscoHost Searches)
- Note: Library also has Library Journal in print.
- LJ - Fiction
- LJ - Poetry
- LJ - Literature
- LJ - Criticism - Includes literary, art, music and other criticism
- New York Times Book Review (ProQuest search)
- Note: Library also has NYTBR in print. - NPR: Books (National Public Radio)
- Publishers Weekly (in EbscoHost)
- Times Literary Supplement Online - Note: Library also has TLS in print
Trade & Scholarly Publishers & Distributors
- Avalon Publishing Group - Carroll & Graf Publishers, Nation Books, Thunder's Mouth Press, & more
- Blackwell Publishing
- Bloomsbury
- Butterworth-Heinemann (Elsevier)
- Continuum Books
- David Brown Book Company (Oxbow Books) distributor of titles from 49 academic and university press publishers
- Greenwood Press
- New Releases (GP) (includes Oryx, Praeger and Quorum)
- New Releases RSS Feed (GP)
- HarperCollins
- Houghton Mifflin Trade - Catalog Search
- Independent Publishers Group - Search or browse for books by multiple publishers at this distributor's website
- Oak Knoll Press
- Palgrave Macmillan - Publisher. Distributor of Berg, I.B. Tauris, Manchester University Press & Zed Books
- Perseus Books - Browse by Subject (including Westview Press)
- Random House
- RSS Feeds for new books on classics, literary studies, poetry and more
- Routledge
- Scholar's Bookshelf: Books & Videos: Literature - international distributor
- Simon & Schuster - Browse New Releases
- Taylor & Francis: Language and Literature
University Presses
- Univ. of California Press
- Cambridge Univ. Press
- Univ. of Chicago Press
- Columbia Univ. Press
- Cornell Univ. Press
- David Brown Book Company (Oxbow Books) distributor of titles from 49 academic and university press publishers
- University of Georgia Press
- Harvard Univ. Press
- Univ. of Illinois Press
- University Press of New England: Browse by Subject - Brandeis, Dartmouth, Middlebury, New Hampshire, Tufts
- Northwestern Univ. Press
- Oxford Univ. Press - Humanities
- University of Pittsburgh Press - Browse Our Books
- Princeton Univ. Press
- Salem Press
- Southern Illinois Univ. Presss
- Stanford Univ. Press
- University of Wisconsin Press
- Yale Univ. Press
Research Institutes & Professional Associations
Audiovisual Material
- Cambridge Educational
- Films for the Humanities & Sciences - (Films Media Group)
- Insight Media
- Internet Movie Database
- Official Academy Awards Database
- PBS - public television programs
- Teacher's Media Company
- WGBH Boston Video - public television programs
Bookstores
- Amazon.com
- Barns & Noble
- Coming Soon (BN)
- New Releases (BN) - bestselling new & future releases
Award Winners
- Man Booker Prize for Fiction
- MLA: Annual Prize and Award Winners
- National Book Award Winners
- Nobel Prize in Literature - (Nobel Foundation)
- Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry - (Library of Congress)
- Poetry Society of America Awards
- Pulitzer Prizes
Bestsellers & Best Books
- Amazon.com: Bestselling new and future releases in Literature and Fiction
Includes links to related disciplines and subsets, such as classics, drama, history and criticism, etc. Updated hourly. - Amazon.com: Most popular items in Literature and Fiction
Includes links to related disciplines and subsets, such as classics, drama, history and criticism, etc. Updated hourly. - Amazon.com: New York Times Bestsellers
- Barnes & Noble: Best Sellers
- New York Times Best-Seller Lists - free registration is required; scroll to bottom of page for Business Best-Seller Lists
- New York Times Best Sellers (in ProQuest)

Best sellers lists, in reverse chronological order - Publisher's Weekly Bestsellers
(in EbscoHost)

Recent Acquisitions
- New books at UW-Whitewater
- Catalog Search: go to the Library Catalog, do a Search by Keyword for: 590a "620" and then SORT by: Publish Date Descending. This will find books ordered by the Languages & Literatures Department that have been received at the Library and cataloged (but not on order books).
- By Academic Department Requesting
- By Author/Title Keyword or Location
- By Broad Subject (call number classification) or Location
- New Books at UW-Madison
Lists of Publishers
- AcqWeb's Language & Linguistics Publishers
- AcqWeb's Literature & Fiction Publishers
- AcqWeb's Directory of Publishers & Vendors
- AcqWeb's Directory of Publishers & Vendors University Presses
- Member Companies (Association of American Publishers)
For assistance, contact a reference librarian at (262) 472-1032, by email or chat or in person at the Library's Reference Desk.
Last Revised: MS - 9/26/2007


