Children's Literature: Selection and Criticism

Table of Contents:

Introduction

University Library's Main and Reference Collections are shelved using the Library of Congress classification system. Materials related to children's literature can be found in the Reference Collection on the second floor. Items related to this topic are primarily located in the areas of both collections designated by the prefixes Z1037, PN1008, and PN1009. Resources available in NetLibrary can be accessed through the Library catalog. The following reference books should help to identify, evaluate, and select children's books, as well as to conduct biographical research on authors of children's literature.

University Library also maintains circulating collections of fiction and non-fiction materials for children and young adults, arranged according to the Dewey Decimal System. These collections are housed in the Curriculum Collection on the library's second floor, and consist primarily of award-winning books, such as those receiving Caldecott and Newbery Medals.

Top of Page

General Resources

  • Children's Book Review Index (1969-Current) Ref Z1037 .A1 C475
  • Children's Books in Print Ref Z1037 .A1 C482
  • Children's Catalog, 19th ed. Ref Z1037 .C5443 2006
  • Children's Literature Dictionary Ref PN1008.5 .L38 2002
  • Children's Literature Review Ref PN1009 .A1 C5139
  • Continuum Encyclopedia of Young Adult Literature Ref PN1008.5 .C67 2005
  • Horn Book Guide to Children's and Young Adult Books (1990-Current) Ref Z1037 .A1 H676
  • Middle and Junior High School Library Catalog Ref Z1037 .W765
  • Senior High School Library Catalog Ref Z1037 .W77 with supplements
  • Teaching Character Education Using Children's Literature ED 6/2:C 44/2001 Wisconsin Government Documents

Resources by Genre, Subject and Awards

  • Across Cultures : a Guide to Multicultural Literature for Children Ref PN1009.5.M84 E27 2007
  • Around the World with Historical Fiction and Folktales Ref PN1009 .A1 A2 2004
  • Bilingual Children's Books in English and Spanish : An Annotated Bibliography, 1942 through 2001 Ref PN1009.5.T75 D36 2003
  • Dictionary of American Young Adult Fiction, 1997-2001 Ref PS374.Y57 H45 2004
  • Children's Book Awards International, 1990-2000 Ref PN1009 .A1 S46 2003
  • Coretta Scott King Award Books Electronic resource available in NetLibrary
  • The Coretta Scott King Awards, 1970-2004 Electronic resource available in NetLibrary
  • Crossing Boundries with Children's Books REF PN1009.A1 C76 2006
  • Elementary School Library Collection; A Guide to Books and Other Media, 22nd. Ref Z1037 .E4
  • Fantasy Literature for Children and Young Adults Ref PN1009.A1 L96 2005
  • Graphic Novels in Your Media Center : A Definitive Guide Ref Z692.G7 L94 2004
  • Latina and Latino Voices in Literature for Children and Teenagers REF PS153.H56 D39 1997
  • Lesbian and Gay Voices : An Annotated Bibliography and Guide to Literature for Children and Young Adults REF PS169 .D24 2000
  • Multicultural Literature for Children and Young Adults Ref PN1009 .A1 K78 Vol. 1 and 2
  • Myths and Hero Tales : A Cross-Cultural Guide to Literature for Children and Young Adults REF BL313 .H45 1997
  • New Press Guide to Multicultural Resources for Young Readers Ref Z1037 .N57 1997
  • Through Indian Eyes : The Native Experience in Books for Children REF E77.4 .T63 1998

Resources on Literature for Children

  • A to Zoo: Subject Access to Children's Picture Books, 5th ed. REF PN1009 .A1 L715 2006
  • Best Books for Children: Preschool through Grade 6 Ref PN1009 .A1 G48 2006
  • Beyond Picture Books 3rd ed. REF PN1009.A1 B37 2008
  • The Big Book of Children's Reading Lists REF PN1009.A1 K29 2006
  • Books Kids Will Sit Still For Vol. 3 Ref PN1009.A1 F847 2006
  • Neal-Schuman Guide to Recommended Children's Books and Media for Use With Every Elementary Subject Ref PN1009.A1 M28 2002
  • Popular Series Fiction for K-6 Readers Ref PN1009.A1 T46 2004
  • Talk About Books! : A Guide for Book Clubs, Literature Circles, and Discussion Groups, Grades 4-8 Ref LC6631 .K56 2003
  • What Do Children Read Next? A Reader's Guide to Fiction for Children Ref PS74 .C454 W43 vol. 1-4

Resources on Literature for Young Adults

  • Beacham's Desktop Guide to Literature for Intermediate Students Ref LB1576 .B4
  • Beacham's Guide to Literature for Young Adults Ref PN1009 .A1 B32 vol. 1-15
  • Best Books for Young Adults PN1009 .A1 C34 2000
  • Best books for Young Teen Readers Grades 7 to 10 Z1037 .B55 2000
  • Best Books for High School Readers : Grades 9-12 Ref PN1009.A1 G4816 2004
  • The Big Book of Teen Reading Lists IN PROCESS May 2008
  • Dictionary of American Young Adult Fiction 1997-2001 Ref PS374.Y57 H45 2004
  • Junior Genreflecting Ref PN1009 .A1 V66 2000
  • Popular Series Fiction for Middle School and Teen Readers Ref PN1009.A1 T46 2005
  • What Do Young Adults Read Next? A Reader's Guide to Fiction for Young Adults Ref PS374 .Y6 W43 v. 1-4
  • Worth a Thousand Words: An Annotated Guide to Picture Books for Older Readers Ref Z1023 .A55 1996
Top of Page

Biographical Resources

  • 100 Most Popular Children's Authors Electronic resource available in NetLibrary
  • 100 Most Popular Picture Book Authors and Illustrators Electronic resource available in NetLibrary
  • 100 Most Popular Young Adult Authors Electronic resource available in NetLibrary
  • Children's Authors and Illustrators, 5th ed. Ref Z1037 .A1 L2 1995
  • Children's Authors and Illustrators Too Good to Miss, REF PS490.M398 2004
  • Ninth Book of Junior Authors and Illustrators Ref PN1009 .A1 S3936 2004
  • Something About the Author Ref PN451 .S6
  • Yesterday's Authors of Books for Children Ref PN451 .Y4

Dictionary of Literary Biography Volumes

  • American Writers for Children Since 1960: Fiction Ref PS374 .C454 A4 1986
  • American Writers for Children: 1900-1960 Ref PS490 .A43
  • American Writers for Children Before 1900 Ref PS490 .A44 1985
  • American Writers for Children Since 1960: Poets, Illustrators, Non-Fiction Authors Ref PS490 .A45 1987
  • British Children's Writers: 1800-1880 Ref PR990 .B747 1996
  • British Children's Writers: 1880-1914 Ref PR990 .B75 1994
  • British Children's Writers: 1914-1960 Ref PR990 .B75 1996
  • British Children's Writers Since 1960, First Series. Ref PR990 .B753 1996
Top of Page

Print Indexes

(located in the Reference Collection)

Book Review Index, Book Review Digest, New York Times Book Review Index Readers' Guide, Education Index, Biography Index

Electronic Databases

(Available on the Find Articles, Statistics... page off the Library's homepage)

  • Academic Search Premier Multi-disciplinary database which provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over 100 journals and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
  • Biographies Plus Illustrated Contains almost 40,000 full text biographies of authors, artists, film directors, Nobel Prize winners, American reformers, musicians and composers.
  • Contemporary Authors This database provides biographical articles about and lists of works by American-published authors.
  • Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) CLCD provides information about children's books including reviews (all full text), awards and reading lists (like Accelerated Reader).
  • ERIC This database is an extensive source of educational information, containing more than 950,000 abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. Unviersity Library owns the collection of the ERIC ED documents on microfiche. Access to ED documents also available through ERIC.
  • Middle Search Plus This database, designed for middle schools, K-8, and large elementary schools, provides abstracting and indexing for over 170 magazines.
  • Primary Search Plus This database, designed for elementary school libraries and public library children's rooms, provides the full text of over 40 magazines for young readers, as well as abstracting and indexing for over 120 magazines.

Select Internet Sites

Note

See the rack of User Guides (across from the reference desk) or the Guides page for the Syllabus for Literary Research, a series of guides that contain valuable information on general encyclopedias, criticism of literature, and author biographies.

Last Revised rr 5/23/2008

Top of Page