Sources of Business Information:

1. Banks and Banking

Table of Contents

This guides refers to books and databases available from the University Library, as well as free Internet sites related to banking. Books may be found using the University Library Catalog under the subject heading Banks and Banking; periodicals are listed under Banks and Banking Periodicals.

And don't forget to check out the University Library's Internet Resources for Banking and Finance for more resources!


Directories

Bank Data & Statistics (Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation)
The federal agency that insures bank deposits has a handy site that reports industry data on all aspects of the banks they insure. Their deposit market share database allows users to find market share, amount of deposits and number of offices for banks in the U.S. The database is searchable by state, metropolitan statistical area, county, zip code or city. The database is updated each year and reports data as of June 30.

Thomson Bank Directory (2003-2004) Ref HG2441 .R3
Volumes provide details on American and international banks.

U.S. Savings Institutions Directory (1990) Ref HG2150 .U18

Wisconsin and Upper Michigan Bank Directory (1989) Ref HG1536 .W6 F5


Dictionaries and Handbooks

The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Finance (1997) Ref HD30.15 .B463 1997 v.8

Commissioner's Manual for State Banks DOCS/WIS BAN 5:1992-
The manual lists Wisconsin statutes, regulations, and interpretive letters that affect banking.

Dictionary of Banking Terms (2000) Ref HG151 .F57 2000

Encyclopedia of Money (1999) Ref HG216 .A43 1999

Handbook of Modern Finance (1994) Ref HG173 .H34 1994
Major sections include "The Banking System," "Investment Banking," and "International Dimensions of Finance."

International Dictionary of Banking and Finance (1999) Ref HG151 .C54 1999

New Palgrave Dictionary of Money & Finance. (1992) Ref HG151 .N48 1992

The St. James Encyclopedia of Banking & Finance (1991) Ref HG151 .M8 1991

Thorndike Encyclopedia of Banking and Financial Tables Ref HG1626 .T493
Includes selected state laws related to banking.

Top of Page

Reference Books for Investors

Encyclopedia of American Industries Reference Desk
Industry profiles.

Encyclopedia of Global Industries Reference Desk
Industry profiles.

Mergent Bank & Finance Manual Ref HG4961 .M65
Background and financial reports on banks, trust companies, savings and loan associations, federal credit agencies, insurance companies, investment companies and real estate companies. Updated weekly.

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys (Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage) UWW access only
The Banking Industry Survey discusses the status of the entire industry and provides financial statistics for the largest companies.

Standard & Poor's Stock Reports (Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage) UWW access only
Get a snapshot of a stock including a business summary, operational review, stock performance, per share financial data and quick analysis of income statements and balance sheets as well as financial ratios. Click on the Companies button, select "Stock Reports" from the drop-down menu and search by ticker or company name.

Value Line Investment Survey. Part 3. New York: A. Bernhard, quarterly. UWW access only
"Bank" sections provide reports on the industry and individual bank corporations in Canada, the U.S., and the Midwest.


Banking Law

Statutes

US Code Service: Title 12 - Banks & Banking

Wisconsin Statutes: Chapter 220 - Banking (also available at the Reference Desk)

Case Law

American Jurisprudence 2d (via Westlaw Campus) UWW access only

Corpus Juris Secundum Ref KF65 .M3 v. 9 - Banks & Banking

Top of Page

Government Documents

Government documents, including those from the agencies listed below, may be found using the University Library Catalog.

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) DOCS/INTL OECD 21-

US Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) DOCS/US Y 3.F 31/8:-

US Federal Reserve System DOCS/US FR-

US House Committee on Financial Services DOCS/US Y 4.B 22/1-

U.S. Senate Committee on Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs DOCS/US Y 4.B 22/3-

Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions DOCS/ WIS FIN 2.9/2:

Wisconsin Office of Commissioner of Banking DOCS/WIS BAN 1:-

Wisconsin Savings and Loan Association DOCS/WIS LO 1:-


Databases

The resources in the following section are restricted to UW-W students, faculty and staff. UWW access only

ABI/Inform Global (ProQuest: 1971- )
Covers a wide range of popular and scholarly publications in accounting, finance, marketing, management, international business, real estate, and taxation. It provides abstracting and indexing from 1971 forward for over 1,300 titles, including 200 English-language foreign publications. Also included is Partial/Full Text for over 600 journals from 1992 forward. Available as part of the ProQuest system.

Business Full Text (WilsonWeb : 1982 - )
Indexes and abstracts articles from more than 345 English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere, including the leading business magazines and trade and research journals, plus the Partial/Full Text of over 160 of those periodicals. Partial/Full Text coverage begins in January 1995.

Business Source Elite (EBSCOhost)
Provides comprehensive access to abstracts and indexing for over 1500 titles, plus searchable Partial/Full Text for more than 750 business periodicals.

ProQuest Newspapers (ProQuest)
This database contains over 500 US and international, including Wisconsin papers.

Tablebase (RDS) restricted to 2 users at a time.
TableBase is a database comprised of tabular information of a strategic nature. The tables provide information such as: market share, market size, capacity, production, imports, exports, sales, product and brand rankings, forecasts, healthcare statistics and demographics. Tables are drawn from the more than 1000 sources that go into the Business & Industry database and from statistical annuals, brokerage reports, trade association reports and governmental reports.

Top of Page