Guides
These guides provide instructions for finding and using information at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater University Library. All may be copied freely for fair use, except those which are marked as having been created elsewhere.
Citation Guides
Including examples of in-text and bibliography citations. If needed, see footer for document viewer.
- Citing References: APA Style (DOC) & APA Style (PDF)
- Citing References: MLA Style (DOC) & MLA Style (PDF)
- Citing References: Turabian Style (DOC)
- Citing Internet Resources
- AAA Style Guide - (by the American Anthropological Association)
- [ASA] Quick Style Guide - (by the American Sociological Association)
- Examples of Chicago-Style Documentation - (by the University of Chicago)
- Resources for Documenting Sources - (by OWL at Purdue University) - List of disciplines and preferred style manuals.
- Citation Formatters - List of free and for fee citation formatters, databases with formatted citations, and databases that export to purchased formatters.
Annotations
- Creating an Annotated Bibliography - suggested sources about creating annotations to be used in conjunction with cited references
Class Resource & Assignment Guides
- Account 701: Accounting Foundations Prof. Cummings
- Anthropl 302: Culture, Medicine and Health Prof. Oldani
- Anthropl 316: Pharmaceuticals, Culture and Society Prof. Oldani
- English 102: Freshman English Prof. Thomson
- English 102: Current Controversial Issues - multiple profs.
- English 102: Greek Culture, Literature, & Mythology Prof. Hogan
- English 102: How to Research Events from the Past
- English 102: Selected Resources for Research on Countries
- English 102: Unjust Laws Prof. Levy-Navarro
- English 102: 2008 Presidential Election Prof. Smith
- Fnbslw 341: Business & Commercial Law - multiple profs.
- Fnbslw 456: Security Analysis Prof. Howat
- Fnbslw 491: Introduction to International Business Law: Travel Study Prof. Reid
- Gened 130: Individual & Society Prof. Knight
- Histry 150: Atlantic History Profs. Meisel & Gulig
- Histry 367: History of Capitalism Prof. Jaffe
- Histry 499: Senior Seminar, Prof. Meisel
- Itbe 353: Business Communications Prof. Oravec
- Itbe 388: Career Information Prof. Smith
- Journlsm 322: Media Planning & Buying Prof. Stuesser
- Mangemnt 310: Organization and Management - Prof. Malewicki
- Marketng 311: Principles of Marketing multiple Profs.
- Marketng 321: Marketing Research Prof. Coon
- Marketng 350: Promotional Policies & Strategies Prof. Helm
- Marketng 361: International Marketing Prof. Coon
- Marketng 442: Logistics Prof. Roy
- Marketng 444: Direct Marketing Prof. Pfeifer-Luckett
- Marketng 479: Marketing Management and Policies Prof. Scovotti
- Marketng 751: Buyer Behavior Prof. Smith
- Marketng 772: Internet Marketing Prof. Lavin
- Polisci 352: Comparative Politics - Europe Prof. Wagner
- Polisci 491: Introduction to International Business Law: Travel Study Prof. Reid
- Speech 110: Current Controversial Issues
Guides by Subject
Business Research:
- Sources of Business Research
Law & Legal Research:
- Legal Research Guides:
- Using Westlaw Campus (Campus Research) - (by West Group)
Literature Research:
- Children's Literature: Selection and Criticism
- Syllabus for Literary Research:
Assorted Topics:
- Guide to Locating Biographical Information
- Guide to Locating Geographic Information Systems (GIS) & Map Resources
- Guide to Locating Job & Career Information
- Guide to Locating Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender (LGBT) Information
- Guide to Locating Motion Picture Information
- Guide to Locating Intercultural Communication Resources
- Guide to Locating Teaching Resources in the Library
- Guide to Locating the Texts of Speeches
How to Find Guides
Finding Materials in the Library
- How to Find Books
- How to Find Journal Articles
- How to Find Government Documents
- How to Read Dewey Decimal Call Numbers
Finding Types of Sources
Finding Materials Outside the Library
Evaluating Sources of Information
- Scholarly Journal v. Popular Magazine Articles
- Evaluating Internet Resources
- Finding Primary Source Materials For History
- Finding Secondary Source Materials For History
Glossary of Library Terms.
How to Customize Guides
- How to Customize Google Scholar Library Links - set preferences to link to UW-Whitewater local holdings
- How to Customize Databases - including features, such as article and research alerts, in multiple databases. Database and system specific guides are listed below.
How to Use Guides
About Online Resources.
Library Catalog Guides:
- How to Use the Library Catalog: 1. Basic Search
- How to Use the Library Catalog: 2. Additional Features
- Library Catalog Tutorial
- Universal Borrowing Tutorial
- netLibrary Hands On - (by WiLS)
Database Guides:
Most of the Library's online databases are designed to help locate periodical (journal, magazine and newspaper) article citations, however, some also help find statistics, book chapters, dissertations, curriculum guides and other materials. For articles that are cited but not located in the same database, there will usually be a Find It button, which is used to determine whether the article can be found elsewhere online or in print. If Find It is not available, use the Citation Linker to locate articles and the University Library Catalog to locate books. Need to know How to Use Find It & Citation Linker? Note: When looking for older articles, it may be necessary to use a print index.
Unless otherwise noted, these guides are for databases and larger database systems that are primarily used to find articles.
- How to Use Boolean Operators & Search Symbols - general tips for searching in all databases
- How to Use Choices 3
- How to Use Corporate Affiliations Plus to search for public, private and subsidiary companies by name, industry, geographic location and size
- How to Use CSA
- How to Use EBSCOhost
- How to Use ERIC via EBSCOhost
- How to Use Find It & Citation Linker
- How to Use FirstSearch
- How to Use Ingenta
- How to Use JSTOR to search the entire text of scholarly journals, cover to cover
- How to Use Kraus Curriculum Development Library to locate curricula, frameworks, standards, etc. in the field of education
- How to Use LexisNexis Academic
- How to Use Milwaukee Newspapers on CD-ROM (the Journal-Sentinel full text, 1993-1998)
- How to Use Morningstar
- How to Use Project Muse to search the entire text of scholarly journals, cover to cover
- How to Use ProQuest
- ProQuest ABI/Inform Search Tips (business)
- How to Use SuperSearch to search multiple databases simultaneously
- How to Use TableBase to find statistics
- How to use WebSPIRS
- How to Use WilsonWeb
Tutorials:
The tutorials are designed to quickly demonstrate specific features of the Library's resources. Check back often, as more will be added in the future!
NOTE: Please be aware that they are large files and may take longer to load while using a slower internet connection.
- ABI/Inform (Proquest)
- Part I: The Basic Search (5.8 MB)
- Part II: The Advanced Search (2.1 MB)
- Part III: The Topics (2.6 MB)
- Part IV: Getting the Full Text (2.4 MB)
- Campus Research (Westlaw)
- Finding Specific Cases (3.4 MB)
- LexisNexis Academic
- Proquest Historical Newspapers
- Sage Journals Online
Featured Resources Archive
Faculty Resources
- Direct Links to Electronic Journal Articles, etc.
- Direct Links to eReserves & the Catalog
- Faculty Collection Development Guides
- A Reading List on Plagiarism
- Services & Resources for Faculty
For assistance, contact a reference librarian at (262) 472-1032, by email or chat or in person at the Library's Reference Desk.
Last Revised: KN - 9/2/2008


