How to Use Find It & Citation Linker
Search results in most of the library's online subscription indexes and databases will display the
button. The SFX? software, called Find It in all UW system libraries, is a time-saving program intended to help library users determine whether they have access to the full text of articles listed in an online resource after a search has been performed. Another advantage of Find It is that if the user decides to request an item through interlibrary loan, using the link to ILLiad on the Find It Menu, the citation information from the online index or database will automatically fill into the ILLiad form. A click on the ILLiad link results in a prompt to login to ILLiad, requiring the user's 7-digit UW-W ID number and last name.
Find It
The Find It button appears in most UW-W subscription databases, and is the key to finding the text of articles that are not full text in that database.
- Once you have successfully completed a search in an article index or database, a list of article citations appears. Sometimes this list includes links to HTML or PDF full text.
- If there is no full text available in the database being searched, generally the
button will appear either on the list of records, or in the item record. Not all databases that have the Find It functionality use this button; however, some use a Find It, Searching for Full Text or Check Local Holdings link. Other databases, such as those from LexisNexis, do not support this function, so there is no button or link. In these cases, use the Citation Linker
to search for full text. - Click on Find It to open the Find It Menu. If it:
- Lists several similar titles, choose the correct one and click on
. - Lists database(s) under the Electronic Full Text header, click on a database title to link to the article cited. Off-campus users will be asked to enter their Net-ID and Net-ID password.
- Lists the University Library Catalog under the Print/Microform in the Library header, there are holdings of the periodical in the Library's collections. Click on the catalog link to open the periodical record to check to see whether and where the specific year, volume and issue is available.
- Lists none of the above, click on Journal Holdings under the Journal Holdings header. This is a double check procedure, since only about 98% of the Library's online resources interact with Find It. If the periodical you want is listed there, look for the date, volume and issue that you want. Links to online databases are provided. Off-campus users will be asked to enter their Net-ID and Net-ID password.
- Is not available in the Library, you may use the link to ILLiad under the Interlibrary Loan header to order the article from another library for a minimal charge (usually $1). The form will automatically be filled out. Click on the Submit button near the bottom of the request form to initiate the request. More information on ILLiad interlibrary loan is available at http://library.uww.edu/services/loanserv.html#ill.
- Lists several similar titles, choose the correct one and click on
Citation Linker
The Citation Linker allows UW-W researchers to determine whether they have access to a particular periodical (journal, magazine or newspaper), and even whether a specific article from the periodical is available, online in a database, in print or microform in the library, or not at all. A search using the Citation Linker displays a menu of options for obtaining access to the desired item.
- From the University Library home page < http://library.uww.edu/ >, select Articles from the Find menu.
- Click on the Citation Linker link.
- Search for a citation by completing as many boxes as possible, the minimum being the Journal Title or ISSN box. If the title starts with A, An or The, omit it. Then click on
. If only the periodical title is entered, general information about accessing it will appear. If data for a particular article is entered, access directly to the article will be provided (if available). - If the Find It Menu of Services:
- Lists several similar titles, choose the correct one and click on
. - Lists database(s) under the Electronic Full Text header, click on a database title to link to the article cited. Off-campus users will be asked to enter their Net-ID and Net-ID password.
- Lists the University Library Catalog under the Print/Microform in the Library header, there are holdings of the periodical in the Library's collections. Click on the catalog link to open the periodical record to check to see whether and where the specific year, volume and issue is available.
- Lists none of the above, click on Journal Holdings under the Journal Holdings header. This is a double check procedure, since only about 98% of the Library's online resources interact with Find It. If the periodical you want is listed there, look for the date, volume and issue that you want. Links to online databases are provided. Off-campus users will be asked to enter their Net-ID and Net-ID password.
- Does not indicate that it is available in the Library, you may use the link to ILLiad under the Interlibrary Loan header to order the article from another library for a minimal charge (usually $1). The form will automatically be filled out. Click on the Submit button near the bottom of the request form to initiate the request. More information on ILLiad interlibrary loan is available at http://library.uww.edu/services/loanserv.html#ill.
- Lists several similar titles, choose the correct one and click on
If you are ready to use the Citation Linker now, you may use this link to go directly to it http://sfx.wisconsin.edu/uww/cgi/core/citation-linker.cgi?rft.genre=article
For assistance, contact a reference librarian at (262) 472-1032, by email or chat or in person at the Library's Reference Desk.
Last Revised: MS - 9/20/2007


