English 102
Literary Research
Prof. John Carlberg
Search Tips
This Tips to Save you Time: Find Info Fast Powerpoint presentation provides an overview of the library research process and commonly used keyword search tips. Generally, you will start your research with keyword searches, so it is a good idea to memorize these tips. Look for resource specific tips, such as the truncation symbol and date range limit, on the help screens of the catalog or database, and on the in-depth How to Use guides created by Andersen Librarians, such as these:
- How to Use the Library Catalog: 1. Basic Search
- How to Use EBSCOhost
- How to Use JSTOR
- How to Use WilsonWeb
Use Catalogs to Find Books and Videos
The Library Catalog contains records of library holdings, such as books, videos, and government documents. It provides the call number and location, which are needed to find them in the Library, as well as a Location Map link which shows where you can find them in Andersen Library.
The Catalog does not help locate journal, magazine or newspaper articles; to find these periodical articles use online databases or print indexes.
Detailed instructions for searching the catalog are in these two guides: How to Use the Library Catalog: 1. Basic Search and How to Use the Library Catalog: 2. Additional Features. Sample searches:
criticism and robert and frost
("doll? house" or dukkehjem) and henrik and ibsen
It is worthwhile to be both comprehensive and detailed when searching. Be thorough by using synonyms and truncation when there are multiple ways to refer to an idea. Be focused by using "and" to combine different ideas together.
Access the catalog from any Andersen Library webpage by selecting Books from the Find menu, then clicking on Andersen Library Catalog. Alternatively, use the center search box or the left sidebar on the Library homepage.
Book isn't here? Use Universal Borrowing or Interlibrary Loan to borrow from other libraries.
Use Databases to Find Articles
Andersen Library subscribes to many databases and indexes that can be used to locate periodical (journal, magazine and newspaper) articles, as well as book chapters, dissertations and the like. Online databases are the preferred way to find recent articles. If you need older articles, or cannot find any articles on your topic using online databases, ask a Librarian for assistance with researching and using the print indexes. Indexes and databases list articles that may or may not be owned by the University Library. More about how to find periodicals & articles in the Library below.
Access online databases by selecting Articles from the Find menu on any Andersen Library webpage. Then,
- To find a database you know about, click on the link for the first letter of its name under Indexes & Databases in Alphabetical Order
- To find a database on your subject, click on the subject under Indexes & Databases by Subject
- To search several databases in the same system at once, such as EbscoHost, click on a system name under Indexes & Databases by System
Databases can also be reached from the center search box on the Library homepage, by clicking on Articles or Top Databases.
Basic instructions for searching databases can be found in Andersen Library's online
How to Use Guides. Additional tips, including
various limits and other searches types, can be found on help screens in the databases.
Sample searches in MLA International Bibliography:
(relig* or christian*) and robert and frost
("doll* house" or dukkehjem) and ibsen
It is worthwhile to be both comprehensive and detailed when searching. Be thorough by using synonyms and truncation when there are multiple ways to refer to an idea. Be focused by using "and" to combine different ideas together.
How do you know whether an article is scholarly or not? Check out the Scholarly Journal v. Popular Magazine Articles guide.
These are some great databases to get you started researching literary topics:
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)

Covers a wide range of popular and scholarly publications in many subject area including literature, literary criticism and more. - Humanities Full Text (WilsonWeb)

Covers English-language periodicals in the subjects of literature, literary criticism and more. - Humanities International Index (EBSCOhost)

Covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the literature, literary criticism and other topics in the humanities. - JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II & III Collection

JSTOR is an archival project which provides full-text access to complete runs of back issues of scholarly journals in topics including language and literature, literary criticism, folklore, and much more. Search this database and automatically search the content of Project Muse too. - MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost)

This is the largest and most comprehensive database covering scholarship in the modern languages, linguistics, literature, literary criticism, folklore, and drama. - SuperSearch

Can't decide which database to start with? Select the "Literature" Quick Set in SuperSearch. You will search several of the above databases at once.
Find Periodicals and Articles in the Library
Most databases have some full text articles in addition to article citations. When an article is not available in that database, use Find It to determine whether and where Andersen Library has a specific article.
If you are not in a database, use the Journal Holdings List or Citation Linker to determine whether and where Andersen Library has a periodical.
How? Check out the How to Use Find It & Citation Linker guide.
Borrow from Other Libraries
There are two interlibrary loan services you can use to borrow materials that are not in the Library.
- Universal Borrowing (UB) is a free service by which you can order books, videos, government documents and other materials (but not articles) from other UW System libraries for free, and have them arrive here in a few short days.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL) using ILLiad, is a service used to borrow books, videos, government documents, articles and other materials from libraries around the world. It takes longer than UB and costs $1.
How? Check out the How to Borrow From Other Libraries guide.
Citing References in MLA Style
Whether you choose to quote or paraphrase sources in your research paper, you must cite each source you use. For rules and examples, look here:
- Rules for Writers 5th ed. 2004. Reference Desk PE1408 .H277 2004
- MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers 6th ed. 2003. Reference Desk LB2369 .G53 2003
- MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing 2nd ed. 1998. Reference Desk PN147 .G444 1998
- Citing References: MLA Style - (Andersen Library, UW-Whitewater)
- MLA Formatting and Style Guide - (Online Writing Lab at Purdue)
- MLA Documentation - (Writing Center at UW-Madison)
Want to jump start your list of references? This Citation Formatters guide has some tools you can use...just remember they are not foolproof. You will need to review your citations to make sure they are correct.
For assistance with resources listed on this page, or with your research project, contact a reference librarian at (262) 472-1032, by email or chat or in person at the Library's Reference Desk.
Last Revised: MS - 9/10/2009


