Anthropology 316
Pharmaceuticals, Culture and Society

Table of Contents:

General Sources

Library Catalog - (University Library)
Find books, videos, journals, pamphlets and government publications on your topic.

Citation Linker - (University Library) UWW access only
If you already have an article citation, Citation Linker allows you to type in the citation and link to a menu of options for finding the full text of the article.

Journal Holdings: Electronic & Print - (University Library) UWW access only
Use this list to find out whether the Library owns a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper, as well as the dates and formats available. Search by title.

Top of Page

Articles

AnthroSource - (American Anthropological Society) UWW access only
Search for articles in journals, newsletters, and bulletins published by the American Anthropological Society.

Sage Premier Journals Online UWW access only
Search for journal articles in a variety of subject areas, such as business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II, & III Collection UWW access only
Full text access to complete runs of back issues of scholarly journals in a variety of subject areas, such as anthropology, business, history, and sociology.

Sociological Abstracts - (CSA) UWW access only
Search for citations and abstracts of journal articles and books on topics related to sociology, social work, and other social sciences.

Academic Search Premier - (Ebscohost) UWW access only
Find citations and articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines in a wide variety of subject areas.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - (Ebscohost) UWW access only
Full text access to almost 550 scholarly journals covering many medical disciplines, especially nursing and allied health, as well as citations and abstracts to articles from more than 300 additional journals. This database also includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

CINAHL PLUS - (Ebscohost) UWW access only
Provides citations for over 3,000 journals in the fields of nursing and allied health, back to 1937. Full text of more than 300 journals provided. Subjects covered include nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

Communication and Mass Media Complete - (Ebscohost) UWW access only
Search for articles on subjects related to communication and mass media. Citations and abstracts to more than 600 journals provided, including some full text articles.

ABI/Inform Global - (ProQuest) UWW access only
Search for articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals related to finance, marketing, management, international business, and more. Many international resources are included and coverage is global in scope.

Business Source Elite - (Ebscohost) UWW access only
Provides access to citations and abstracts of articles from over 1500 titles, plus searchable full text for more than 750 business periodicals.

Articles in Journals, Magazines and Newspapers - (University Library)
Can't find what you need from the databases listed above? The Library has over 150 online article databases to choose from. Look under the Indexes & Databases by Subject links for suggested databases in your topic area. A complete list of databases is also available under Indexes and Databases in Alphabetical Order.

Top of Page

Journals

Culture, medicine and psychiatry UWW access only
Published in the Netherlands, this journal contains peer-reviewed articles, original research, and more in the fields of medical and psychiatric anthropology, cross-cultural psychiatry, and more. Access provided through Ebscohost.

Transcultural Psychiatry UWW access only
Published in Canada, this journal bills itself as an "international, interdisciplinary and peer-reviewed scientific journal" covering the "social and cultural determinants of psychopathology and psychosocial treatments of the range of mental and behavioural problems in individuals, families and communities." Access provided through Sage Premier Journals Online.

Top of Page

Web Sites

The following web sites are not funded by any pharmaceutical industry sources.

Consumer Reports Best Buy Drugs - (Consumer Reports)
A public education project for consumers about prescription drugs. Search for reports by condition or drug name.

Drugs@FDA - (Food and Drug Administration)
FDA approved drug products.

Food and Drug Administration (FDA) - (United States Department of Health and Human Services)
Information on regulated products such as food, drugs, and medical devices, FDA news and activities, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Congressional testimony back to 1996, and much more.

National Guideline Clearinghouse - (United States Department of Health and Human Services)
"A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines."

PharmedOut
This site bills itself as "an independent, publicly funded project that empowers physicians to identify and counter inappropriate pharmaceutical promotion practices."

Public Library of Science
To search the web site, click the Search link in the upper right corner of the home page. To search for articles in PLoS journals, click the name of the journal, then type your search term in the search box. Advanced Search gives more search options.

RxFiles: Objective Comparisons for Optimal Drug Therapy - (Saskatoon Health Region, Canada)
Newsletters and charts providing an overview or comparison of prescription drugs and/or conditions.

Therapeutics Initiative - (University of British Columbia, Canada)
This web site aims to provide "up to date, evidence based, practical information on rational drug therapy." Links on the left provide access to Drug Assessments and the Therapeutics Letter, a bi-monthly letter discussing therapies and prescription drugs used to treat various conditions.

Top of Page

Bibliography of Readings

  • Van der Geest, Sjaak, Susan Reynolds Whyte and Anita Hardon. 1996. "The Anthropology of Pharmaceuticals: A Biographical Approach." Annual Review of Anthropology 25:153-78.
    This article is an example of the biographical approach.

  • Appadurai, Arjun, ed. 1986. The Social Life of Things: Commodities in Cultural Perspective. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.
    Available at University Library, Reserves, 2nd floor (ask at Circulation Desk): GN450 .S63 1988

  • Critser, Greg. 2005. Generation Rx: How Prescription Drugs Are Altering American Lives, Minds, and Bodies. New York: Houghton Mifflin.
    Available at University Library, Reserves, 2nd floor (ask at Circulation Desk): RM263 .C75 2005

  • Elliot, Carl. 2003. Better Than Well: American Medicine Meets the American Dream. New York: W. W. Norton.
    Available at University Library, Reserves, 2nd floor (ask at Circulation Desk): RA418.3 .U6 E455 2004

  • Elliot, Carl and Tod Chambers, eds. 2004. Prozac as a Way of Life. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press.
    Available at University Library, Reserves, 2nd floor (ask at Circulation Desk): RC483.5.F55 P767 2004

  • Goozner, Merrill. 2002. The $800 Million Pill: The Truth Behind the Cost of New Drugs. Berkeley: University of California Press.
    Available at University Library, Reserves, 2nd floor (ask at Circulation Desk): RS100 .G668 2005

  • Hawthorne, Fran. 2003. The Merck Druggernaut: The Inside Story of a Pharmaceutical Giant. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley.
    Available at University Library, Reserves, 2nd floor (ask at Circulation Desk): HD9666.9 .M4 H39 2003

  • Healy, David. 1997. The Antidepressant Era. Cambridge: Harvard University Press.
    Available at University Library, Reserves, 2nd floor (ask at Circulation Desk): RM332 .H42 1997

  • ------. 2002. The Creation of Psychopharmacology. Cambridge: Harvard University Press.
    Available at University Library, Reserves, 2nd floor (ask at Circulation Desk): RM315 .H434 2002

  • ------. 2004. Let Them Eat Prozac: The Unhealthy Relationship Between the Pharmaceutical Industry and Depression. New York: New York University Press.
    Available at University Library, Reserves, 2nd floor (ask at Circulation Desk): RM332 .H423 2004

  • Hoberman, John. 2005. Testosterone Dreams: Rejuvenation, Aphrodisia, Doping. Berkeley: University of California Press.
    Available at University Library, Reserves, 2nd floor (ask at Circulation Desk): QP572 .T4 H635 2005

  • Kramer, Peter. 1993. Listening to Prozac. New York: Viking.
    Available at University Library, Reserves, 2nd floor (ask at Circulation Desk): RC483.5 .F55 K7 1993

  • Lexchin, Joel. 1984. The Real Pushers: A Critical Analysis of the Canadian Drug Industry. Vancouver: New Star Books.
    Available through Universal Borrowing.

  • Luhrmann, T. M. 2000. Of Two Minds: The Growing Disorder in American Psychiatry. New York: Knopf.
    Available at University Library, Reserves, 2nd floor (ask at Circulation Desk): RC336 .L78 2000

  • Metzl, Jonathan. 2003. Prozac on the Couch: Prescribing Gender in the Era of Wonder Drugs. Durham: Duke University Press.
    Available at University Library, Reserves, 2nd floor (ask at Circulation Desk): RC341 .M593 2003

  • Moynihan, Ray and Alan Cassels. 2005. Selling Sickness: How the World's Biggest Pharmaceutical Companies Are Turning Us All into Patients. New York: Nation Books/Avalon Publishing.
    Available at University Library, Main Collection, 3rd floor: HD9665.5 .M69 2005

  • Ong, Aihwa and Stephen Collier, eds. 2005. Global Assemblages: Technology, Politics, and Ethics as Anthropological Problems. Oxford: Blackwell.
    Available through Universal Borrowing.

  • Oudshoorn, Nelly. 2003. The Male Pill: A Biography of a Technology in the Making. Durham: Duke University Press.
    Available at University Library, Reserves, 2nd floor (ask at Circulation Desk): RC888 .O93 2003

  • Petryna, Adriana, Andrew Lakoff and Arthur Kleinman, eds. 2006. Global Pharmaceuticals: Ethics, Markets, Practices. Durham: Duke University Press.
    Available at University Library, Reserves, 2nd floor (ask at Circulation Desk): HD9665.5 .G56 2006

  • Rabinow, Paul. 1996. Making PCR: A Story of Biotechnology. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.
    Available through Universal Borrowing.

  • White, Susan Reynolds, Anita Hardon and Sjaak van der Geest. 2002. Social Lives of Medicines. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.
    Available at University Library, Reserves, 2nd floor (ask at Circulation Desk): RS153 .W496 2002

Top of Page

Citation Style Guides

AAA Style Guide - (American Anthropological Association)
The preferred citation style used in Anthropology courses, AAA style follows the Chicago Manual of Style. If citing a type of source not covered by this online guide, refer to the Chicago Manual of Style, available in the Library's Reference Collection on the 2nd floor, call number Z253 .U69 2003.

Citing References: APA Style - (American Psychological Association)
APA citation style is also acceptable for Anthro316 research papers. A pdf version of this guide is also available.

Quick Style Guide: ASA Style - (American Sociological Association)
ASA citation style is also acceptable for Anthro316 research papers. If citing a source not covered by this online quick guide, refer to the American Sociological Association Style Guide, available at the Library's Reference Desk on the 2nd floor, call number HM586 .A54 1997.

Top of Page

Creating an Annotated Bibliography

Creating an Annotated Bibliography - (University Library)
Suggested web pages and books that may be of assistance to you when creating your annotated bibliography. These sources are provided for general assistance only. Because the format, content and length of annotations vary, please ask your professor for guidelines to follow when beginning your assignment.

For assistance, contact a reference librarian at (262) 472-1032, by email or chat or in person at the Library's Reference Desk.

Last Revised: RH - 04/04/2008