Accounting 701
Accounting Foundations
Company Financial Statements
LexisNexis Academic (LexisNexis) ![]()
For audited annual financial statements: Select Business, then SEC Filings & Reports. Select report type (annual reports or 10-K reports) and dates from the menus and search by company name.
To export financial statements to Excel: Select Business, then Company Financial Reports. Under the Source menu, select Disclosure Reports. From the report, click the link to Financial Statements (.xls).
CompactD/SEC (CD-ROM workstation S4 in Reference Alcove)
Find 10 years of as-reported financial statement data for U.S. companies.
Corporate Reports (University Library Selected Resources on the Internet)
Use this guide to identify additional resources for finding company annual reports and SEC filings.
Company & Industry Articles and News
ABI/Inform Global (ProQuest: 1971- ) ![]()
Indexes more than 1,300 business publications including 600 journals with full text from 1992 to present.
Business Dateline (FirstSearch: 1985- ) ![]()
The prime place to search for regional business news in the U.S. and Canada. Includes searchable fulltext articles from more than 500 North American regional business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, and news wire services. This database covers regional business activities and trends with particular emphasis on economic conditions in selected cities, states, or regions, as well as mergers, acquisitions, company executives, new products, and competitive intelligence. LIMITED SEARCHING: The Library is charged per search for this database. Please contact B. Bren (brenb@uww.edu or 262-472-5521) before beginning large research projects requiring many searches.
Business Full Text (WilsonWeb: 1982- ) ![]()
Indexes and abstracts articles from more than 345 English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere, including the leading business magazines and trade and research journals, plus the partial/full text of over 160 of those periodicals. Partial/full text coverage begins in January 1995.
Business Source Elite (EBSCOhost) ![]()
Provides comprehensive access to abstracts and indexing for over 1500 titles, plus searchable full text for more than 750 business periodicals.
LexisNexis Academic (LexisNexis) ![]()
Choose News or Business to search for news and articles about companies from business magazines, industry trade journals, newspapers and newswires.
ProQuest Newspapers (ProQuest) ![]()
Full text articles and citations from more than 500 U.S. and foreign newspapers including Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, Madison Capital Times, Wisconsin State Journal, and Minneapolis Star Tribune.
Tablebase (RDS)
restricted to 1 user at a time
TableBase is a database comprised of tables providing information such as: market share, market size, capacity, production, imports, exports, sales, product and brand rankings, forecasts, healthcare statistics and demographics. Tables are drawn from the more than 1000 sources such as statistical annuals, brokerage reports, trade association reports, and governmental reports.
Company Analysis Sources
Value Line Investment Survey (Value Line) ![]()
Survey comes in three parts. Pt. 1: Summary and Index is a summary of stock prices and is an index to the industry analyses and full company reports. Pt. 3 contains the Ratings and Reports. About 1700 separate stocks are analyzed on a rotating basis. Trends in about 75 industry groups are also analyzed. Part 2: Selection and Opinion provides a forecast for the U.S. economy.
LexisNexis Academic (LexisNexis) ![]()
For the latest 3 years of financial ratios for a company: Select Business, then Company Financial. Under the Source menu, select Disclosure Reports. From the report, scroll down to the Ratio Analysis section.
CompactD/SEC (CD-ROM workstation S4 in Reference Alcove)
Find 10 years of as-reported financial statement data for U.S. companies.
Hoover's Company Records (Hoovers via ProQuest) ![]()
Find company descriptions, financials and top competitors.
Mergent's Industry Review
Ref Desk HG 4501 .M665x
Arranged alphabetically by industry, this semi-annual publication lists companies within an industry and gives comparative statistics for each company. Then it ranks the companies by sales, net income, various financial ratios and growth rates.
Morningstar Library Edition
restricted to 2 users at a time
Morningstar contains reports on more than 8,000 stocks and 12,000 mutual funds, Analyst Reports on 1,000 stocks and 2,000 mutual funds and Morningstar ratings for stocks and funds. Morningstar contains both stock and fund screeners and a portfolio X-ray tool that helps you look for strengths and weaknesses in a portfolio.
Standard & Poor's Company Profiles (Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage) ![]()
Brief summaries of common stocks along with some preferred and convertible preferred stocks. Also includes some closed-end funds. Covers dividends, financial position, capitalization and earnings per share. Click on the Companies button, select "Company Profile" from the drop-down menu and search by ticker or company/fund name.
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys (Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage) ![]()
These lengthy surveys cover about 50 broad industry groups. Each survey contains a section on "How to Analyze a Company" in that industry. All the major players in the industry are included in the comparative company analysis tables that cover financial statements and key ratios. Click on the Industries button to access the surveys.
Standard & Poor's Stock Reports (Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage) ![]()
Get a snapshot of a stock including a business summary, operational review, stock performance, per share financial data and quick analysis of income statements and balance sheets as well as financial ratios. Click on the Companies button, select "Stock Reports" from the drop-down menu and search by ticker or company name.
Industry Analysis Sources
Note: To find background information on major industries, see the Industry Analysis section of the Andersen Library Selected Resources on the Internet: Marketing page.
Value Line Investment Survey (Value Line) ![]()
Survey comes in three parts. Pt. 1: Summary and Index is a summary of stock prices and is an index to the industry analyses and full company reports. Pt. 3 contains the Ratings and Reports. About 1700 separate stocks are analyzed on a rotating basis. Trends in about 75 industry groups are also analyzed. Part 2: Selection and Opinion provides a forecast for the U.S. economy.
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
Ref Desk HF 5681 .R25 T68 (CD-ROM on reserve at Circulation Desk)
Compiled from IRS tax returns for C and S corporations, this almanac is arranged by SIC code. For each industry, selected financial statement data and ratios are listed by size category based on company assets. Each industry also has a section for ratio trends over the past 10 years.
Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios (Dun & Bradstreet)
Ref Desk HF 5681 .R25 I53
This guide is based on the financial statements of 1 million U.S. companies (public, private, corporations, partnerships and proprietorships of all sizes). Each industry (arranged by SIC code) includes common-size balance sheets and income statements as well as solvency, efficiency and profitability ratios.
Global Market Information Database (includes Market Research Monitor) ![]()
Global Market Information Database provides access to over three million demographic, economic and marketing statistics for over two hundred countries back from 1977, as well as country profiles and consumer market sizes for many products across over fifty countries. This database also includes Market Research Monitor, which offers over 2,200 top-line market research reports on international consumer, industrial and service markets. Reports offer up to date market size data, company shares, brand shares and forecasts.
Mergent's Industry Review
Ref Desk HG 4501 .M665x
Arranged alphabetically by industry, this semi-annual publication lists companies within an industry and gives comparative statistics for each company. Then it ranks the companies by sales, net income, various financial ratios and growth rates.
RMA Annual Statement Studies
Ref Desk HF5681.B2 R6
This guide is based on financial statements of customers of RMA's member banks. Each industry (arranged by SIC code) includes data for various company sizes within the industry (based on sales) and also historical data. Includes common-size balance sheets and income statements as well as 16 financial ratios.
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys (Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage) ![]()
These lengthy surveys cover about 50 broad industry groups. Each survey contains a section on "How to Analyze a Company" in that industry. All the major players in the industry are included in the comparative company analysis tables that cover financial statements and key ratios. Click on the Industries button to access the surveys.
Reference Tools: SIC Codes & SEC Filings
SIC & NAICS Codes
Many business reference sources such as company directories or industry analyses use the federal government's numerical codes (SIC or NAICS) to describe types of businesses. Use these sources to identify SIC or NAICS numbers for your industry.
- NAICS Search
- Search SIC Code by code number or keyword
- SIC Division Structure (complete hierarchical listing)
- 1997 NAICS and 1987 SIC Correspondence Tables
SEC Filings
To learn more about the various types of corporate reports see the following:


