Citation Formatters
What is a citation formatter? Also called a builder, generator or manager, it is a program in which you enter citation information (author, title, etc.) and the program creates a citation formatted in a specific style (APA, MLA, Turabian, etc.). Citation formatters tend to work best for basic citations of common materials, such as books. If you want to cite something more unusual, such as an interview, class lecture or video, they may not work as well.
Warning: All of citation formatters listed below are provided for your convenience only. Please use them with caution. They are not foolproof and do not guarantee correct results. Be sure to review the results to check for formatting, spelling, capitalization, punctuation, required elements, etc. for the citation style you are using.
Consult the appropriate official style manual for the definitive answer to your citation questions. Some examples of citations in APA, MLA and Turabian styles are available in the Library's Citing References guides. For additional assistance, please contact the library reference desk in person, by phone at (262) 472-1032 or by email/chat. If you need help planning, composing, revising, or editing your paper, including reviewing your citations, please visit the Writing Center in McCutchan Hall.
Databases that Generate Citations
Some University Library databases, such as those from ProQuest, and free online resources, such as Wikipedia, offer suggested citations in a variety of styles. As always, use them with caution. For University Library databases, Off-Campus access requires UW-W login.
- Encyclopædia Britannica
After running a search, click on the entry you want. Below the entry, you will see citations in APA and MLA styles. - Oxford Reference Online
After running a search, click on the word you want. Below the definition, you will see a citation in MLA style. - ProQuest
After running a search in any ProQuest database, mark the citations for the articles you are using. Click on the My Research tab, and then on Create your Bibliography. Choose a style, then print, email or download. - Web of Science - Requires registration
After running a search, mark the citations for the articles you are using. Click on Save to My EndNote Web. Log in. When the records have been processed, click on Done. The steps from this point will vary. - Wikipedia (Free)
When in an article, click on Cite This Article in the left-hand toolbox.
Databases that Export Data to Formatters
Many University Library databases, including those from the systems below, can export data to a purchased formatter. As always, use them with caution. For University Library databases, Off-Campus access requires UW-W login.
- BiblioLine
If you have purchased a formatter such as EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager or RefWorks, BiblioLine provides a means to directly upload citation details to it. After running a search, mark the articles you want. Select OutPut: Marked Citations from the textbox with the email, export, save and print options. Click on Export. Choose your program. - EbscoHost
If you have purchased EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager or RefWorks, Ebsco provides a means to directly upload citation details to it. After running a search, mark the articles you want by clicking on Add next to each citation. Click on Folder Has Items, and then on Export. Choose the program to export to and click on Save. - FirstSearch
If you have purchased EndNote or RefWorks, FirstSearch provides a means to directly upload citation details to it. After running a search, mark the articles you want. Click on Export. Select the option to export the marked records, choose the program to export to and click on Export. - JSTOR
If you have purchased EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager or RefWorks, JSTOR provides a means to directly upload citation details to it. After running a search, save the citations for all the articles you want by clicking on Save Citation in each record. Click on View Saved Citations. Select either the Directly export citations into EndNote, ProCite, or Reference Manager option or the Directly export citations into RefWorks option. - WebSpirs
If you have purchased EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager or RefWorks, WebSpirs provides a means to directly upload citation details to it. After running a search, mark the citations for all the articles you want. Click on the Save icon. Select either the Export to RefWorks option or the Export to Procite, EndNote or Reference Manager option. Click on OK. - WilsonWeb
If you have purchased EndNote or RefWorks, WilsonWeb provides a means to directly upload citation details to it. After running a search, mark the citations for all the articles you want. Click on Exporting/Citing, and then on the Export to RefWorks, EndNote software option. If you have different software, choose either Emailing and Citing Options or Saving and Citing Options instead. From the Format menu, select For Exporting to Bibliographic Software before clicking on the Email or Save button.
Free Citation Formatters
These formatters are free or have free versions. When specific styles are not noted, a wide range of styles are covered.
- APA Wizard - EB Communications
- BibBuilder 1.3 (Free MLA-Style Bibliography Builder) - Dennis G. Jerz, Seton Hill University
- Bibliography Builder - Engineering Communication Centre, University of Toronto
Formats in Chicago and IEEE styles. - BibMe - Software Development course, Information Systems department, Carnegie Mellon University
Formats in APA, MLA and Chicago styles. - Citation Builder - NCSU Libraries
Formats in APA, MLA and CBE/CSE styles. - Citation Creation Machine - Student ABC
Formats in APA and MLA styles. - DocsCite - Arizona State University
Formats government document citations in APA and MLA styles. - Easy Bib
Formats in APA and MLA styles. Has pay version called MyBib Pro. - KnightCite - Hekman Library and Digital Studio Calvin College
Formats in APA, MLA and Chicago styles. - MLA Citation Generator - Palomar College
- NoodleBib Express - Noodle Tools
Formats in APA and MLA styles. Has pay version called NoodleBib. - Scholar's Aid - shareware and freeware.
- Son of Citation Machine - Landmark Project
Formats in APA, MLA and Chicago styles. - SourceAid - Has free and pay versions. Requires login.
Formats in APA, MLA, Chicago and CSE styles. - Zotero - Center for History and New Media, George Mason University - A Firefox extension.
Formats in APA, MLA and Chicago styles.
Pay Citation Formatters
These formatters charge a fee for subscription or purchase. Many include advanced features for creating and managing citations, reference lists and bibliographies. This list is not all-inclusive. Prices, which are included as a rough guide only, are for individual subscriptions/purchase, and were accurate as of 12/1/2006. Please consult websites for complete information.
- Biblioscape - $129 from Writers SuperCenter and other vendors.
- EndNote - Thomson ResearchSoft - Starts at $240.
- LibraryMaster from Balboa Software - Starts at $220.
- MyBib Pro - $8/year. Free 1-week trial. Has free version called Easy Bib.
Formats in APA and MLA styles. - NoodleBib - Noodle Tools - Starts at $4/3 months. Has free version called NoodleBib Express.
Formats in APA and MLA styles. - ProCite - Thomson ResearchSoft - Starts at $240.
- Reference Manager - Thomson ResearchSoft - Starts at $240.
- Reference Point Templates - Starts at $28.
Formats in APA and MLA styles. - RefWorks - Starts at $100/year.
- Scholar's Aid - Shareware and freeware.
- SourceAid - Has pay and free versions. Pay version starts at $3/2 weeks. Requires login.
Formats in APA, MLA, Chicago and CSE styles.


