Guides
These guides provide instructions for finding and using information at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater Andersen Library. All may be copied freely for fair use, except those which are marked as having been created elsewhere.
Citation Guides
Including examples of in-text and bibliography citations. If needed, see footer for document viewer.
- Citing References: APA Style (DOC) & APA Style (PDF)
- Citing References: MLA Style (DOC) & MLA Style (PDF)
- Citing References: Turabian Style (DOC)
- Citing References: ASA Style (DOC) & ASA Style (PDF)
- Citing Internet Resources
- AAA Style Guide - (by the American Anthropological Association)
- Examples of Chicago-Style Documentation - (by the University of Chicago)
- Resources for Documenting Sources - (by OWL at Purdue University) - List of disciplines and preferred style manuals.
- Citation Formatters - List of free and for fee citation formatters, databases with formatted citations, and databases that export to purchased formatters.
Annotations
- Creating an Annotated Bibliography - suggested sources about creating annotations to be used in conjunction with cited references
Class Resource & Assignment Guides
- Account 701: Accounting Foundations Prof. Cummings
- Anthropl 302: Culture, Medicine and Health Prof. Oldani
- Anthropl 316: Pharmaceuticals, Culture and Society Prof. Oldani
- Anthropl 320: Understanding Heritage: From Landmarks to Theme Parks Prof. Burkholder
- Bio 200: Writing in Biology Prof. Curran
- Bio 370: Aquatic Biology Prof. Harrahy
- CrimJus 325: Forensic Documentation Prof. Killoran
- EdFound 780: Reading, Analyzing, and Evaluating Educational Research Prof. Clinkenbeard
- Edfound 740: Techniques of Research Prof. Peters
- Edfound 780 (HHPR emphasis): Reading, Analyzing, and Evaluating Educational Research Prof. Albrechtsen
- Eduindp 211: Introduction to Early Childhood Education Prof. Kagy
- Elemmid 425: Teaching Mathematics in the Elementary & Middle Grades Prof. Kidd
- English 102: Artists or Artistic Movements Prof. Buckley
- English 102: Careers Prof. Drevlow
- English 102: Controversial Issues multiple profs.
- English 102: Countries multiple profs.
- English 102: Creative Non-Fiction Profs. Annucci, Davidson-Zielski and Townsend
- English 102: Freshman English Prof. Guo
- English 102: Freshman English Prof. Kim
- English 102: Freshman English Prof. Thomson
- English 102: Greek Culture, Literature, & Mythology Prof. Hogan
- English 102: Human Body or Embodiment Prof. Piwoni
- English 102: Iraq, War Profiteering, and the War in Afghanistan Prof. Moore
- English 102: Literary Research Prof. Carlberg
- English 102: Past Events multiple profs.
- English 102: Relationships with Body, Others or Culture Prof. Evie Miller
- English 102: Social Issues multiple profs.
- English 102: 2008 Presidential Election Prof. Smith
- English 102: Unjust Laws Prof. Levy-Navarro
- English 105: Freshman English--Honors Prof. Longrie
- English 162: English for International Students Prof. Zunac
- English 300: American Gothic Literature Prof. Lueck
- Fnbslw 341: Business & Commercial Law multiple profs.
- Fnbslw 455: Administrative Law Prof. Weber
- Fnbslw 456: Security Analysis Prof. Howat
- Fnbslw 491: Introduction to International Business Law & Trade: Travel Study Prof. Reid
- Gened 120: Historical Perspectives Multiple profs.
- Gened 130: Individual & Society Prof. Greene
- Geogrpy 252: Human Environmental Problems Prof. Dudei
- High School: High School multiple schools
- High School: High School-Literary Topics multiple schools
- High School: High School-Speech Criticism Whitewater
- Histry 150: Atlantic History Profs. Meisel & Gulig
- Histry 301: Revolution and Confederation, 1763-1789 Prof. Shrum
- Histry 306: America in Prosperity, Depression and World War II, 1919-1945 Prof. Boulton
- Histry 385: Modern China Prof. Wilson
- Histry 386: Modern Japan Prof. Wilson
- Histry 499: Senior Seminar, Prof. Thibodeaux
- Itbe 353: Business Communications multiple profs.
- Itbe 388: Career Information Prof. Smith
- Libmed 454/654: Library and Media Center Administration Prof. Klais
- King-Chavez Scholars
- Mangemnt 310: Organization and Management Prof. Malewicki
- Marketng 311: Principles of Marketing multiple profs.
- Marketng 321: Marketing Research Prof. Dahl
- Marketng 337: Retail Management Prof. Lavin
- Marketng 350: Integrated Marketing Communications multiple profs.
- Marketng 361: International Marketing Prof. Hsu
- Marketng 442: Logistics Prof. Roy
- Marketng 444: Direct and Multichannel Marketing Prof. Pfeifer-Luckett
- Marketng 733: Seminar in Methodology of Business Research Prof. Hsu
- Marketng 772: Internet Marketing Prof. Lavin
- Math 375: Development of Mathematics Prof. Drucker
- McNair Scholars
- Polisci 340: Politics of Development Prof. Adogamhe
- Polisci 352: Comparative Politics - Europe Prof. Wagner
- Polisci 491: Introduction to International Business Law & Trade: Travel Study Prof. Reid
- Safety 472/672: Advanced Industrial Ergonomics Prof. Taveira
- Secnded 426: Methods of Teaching English and Language Arts Prof. Zbikowski
- Secnded 430: Teaching Social Studies in the Secondary School Prof. Hartwick
- Sociolgy 265: Race and Ethnic Relations Prof. Greene
- Sociolgy 476: Methods of Social Research Prof. Nath
- Speech 110: Introduction to Human Communication
- Speech 110: Introduction to Human Communication: Controversial Issues
- Speech 204: Public Relations Tactics II
- Speech 429/629: Organizational Communication Needs Analysis Prof. Casey
- Upward Bound
Guides by Subject
Business Research:
- Sources of Business Research
Law & Legal Research:
- Legal Research Guides:
- Using Westlaw Campus (Campus Research) - (by West Group)
Literature Research:
- Children's Literature: Selection and Criticism
- Syllabus for Literary Research:
Assorted Topics:
- Guide to Locating Biographical Information
- Guide to Locating Geographic Information Systems (GIS) & Map Resources
- Guide to Locating Job & Career Information
- Guide to Locating Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender (LGBT) Information
- Guide to Locating Motion Picture Information
- Guide to Locating Intercultural Communication Resources
- Guide to Locating Teaching Resources in the Library
- Guide to Locating the Texts of Speeches
How to Find Guides
Finding Materials in the Library
- How to Find Books
- How to Find Government Documents
- How to Find Journal Articles
- How to Find Reference Books
- How to Read Dewey Decimal Call Numbers
Finding Types of Sources
Finding Materials Outside the Library
Evaluating Sources of Information
- Scholarly Journal v. Popular Magazine Articles
- Evaluating Internet Resources
- Finding Primary Sources for Historical Research
- Finding Secondary Sources for Historical Research
Glossary of Library Terms.
How to Customize Guides
- How to Customize Google Scholar Library Links - set preferences to link to UW-Whitewater local holdings
- How to Customize Databases - including features, such as article and research alerts, in multiple databases. Database and system specific guides are listed below.
How to Use Guides
About Online Resources.
Library Catalog Guides:
- How to Use the Library Catalog: 1. Basic Search
- How to Use the Library Catalog: 2. Additional Features
- Library Catalog Tutorial
- How to Use Universal Borrowing (1:50 minutes)
- netLibrary Hands On - (by WiLS)
Database Guides:
Most of the Library's online databases are designed to help locate periodical (journal, magazine and newspaper) article citations, however, some also help find statistics, book chapters, dissertations, curriculum guides and other materials. For articles that are cited but not located in the same database, there will usually be a Find It button, which is used to determine whether the article can be found elsewhere online or in print. If Find It is not available, use the Citation Linker to locate articles and the Andersen Library Catalog to locate books. Need to know How to Use Find It & Citation Linker? Note: When looking for older articles, it may be necessary to use a print index.
If you are having problems accessing from off-campus, take a look at the Troubleshooting Guide.
Unless otherwise noted, these guides are for databases and larger database systems that are primarily used to find articles.
- How to Use Boolean Operators & Search Symbols - general tips for searching in all databases
- How to Use Corporate Affiliations Plus to search for public, private and subsidiary companies by name, industry, geographic location and size
- How to Use CSA
- How to Use EBSCOhost
- How to Use ERIC via EBSCOhost
- How to Use Find It & Citation Linker
- How to Use FirstSearch
- How to Use Ingenta
- How to Use JSTOR to search the entire text of scholarly journals, cover to cover
- How to Use Kraus Curriculum Development Library to locate curricula, frameworks, standards, etc. in the field of education
- How to Use LexisNexis Academic
- How to Use Mediamark Reporter
- How to Use Milwaukee Newspapers on CD-ROM (the Journal-Sentinel full text, 1993-1998)
- How to Use Morningstar
- How to Use Project Muse to search the entire text of scholarly journals, cover to cover
- How to Use ProQuest
- ProQuest ABI/Inform Search Tips (business)
- How to Use SuperSearch to search multiple databases simultaneously
- How to Use TableBase to find statistics
- How to Use WilsonWeb
Tutorials:
The tutorials are designed to quickly demonstrate specific features of the Library's resources. Check back often, as more will be added in the future!
NOTE: Please be aware that they are large files and may take longer to load while using a slower internet connection.
- General
- Common Search Tips (2:09 minutes, 2.5 MB)
- How to Access Library Databases (1:36 minutes, 3.3 MB)
- How to Use Citation Linker (1:35 minutes, 2.5 MB)
- How to Use Document Delivery (2:53 minutes, 7.4 MB)
- How to Use Find It (1:17 minutes, 1.7 MB)
- How to Use ILLiad (2:20 minutes, 1.7 MB)
- How to Use Journal Holdings List (1:13 minutes, 2.8 MB)
- How to Use Universal Borrowing (1:50 minutes)
- ABI/Inform (Proquest)
- Part I: The Basic Search (5.8 MB)
- Part II: The Advanced Search (2.1 MB)
- Part III: The Topics (2.6 MB)
- Part IV: Getting the Full Text (2.4 MB)
- Biological Abstracts & Web of Science (Institute for Scientific Information)
- Biological Abstracts & Web of Science: Topic Search (2:47 minutes, 4.0 MB)
- Web of Science: Citing References Search (1:04 minutes, 2.1 MB)
- Web of Science: Tracing References (1:47 minutes, 4.7 MB)
- BioOne
- How to Use BioOne (3:22 minutes, 5.1 MB)
- Campus Research (Westlaw)
- Finding Specific Cases (3.4 MB)
- ERIC
- LexisNexis Academic
- Proquest Historical Newspapers
- PubMed
- How to Use PubMed: Simple Search (2:54 minutes, 4.7 MB)
- Searching with the MeSH Database (3 minutes, From the National Library of Medicine)
- Combining MeSH Terms (4 minutes, From the National Library of Medicine)
- Applying Subheadings and other features of the MeSH Database (5 minutes, From the National Library of Medicine)
- Sage Journals Online
Featured Resources Archive
Faculty Resources
- Direct Links to Electronic Journal Articles, etc.
- Direct Links to eReserves & the Catalog
- Faculty Collection Development Guides
- Guide to Library Instruction
- A Reading List on Plagiarism
- Services & Resources for Faculty
For assistance, contact a reference librarian at (262) 472-1032, by email or chat or in person at the Library's Reference Desk.
Last Revised: MS - 02/08/2010


